We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Satisfactory accomodation - very good price/quality ratio”
Review of Hotel Varonos

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Varonos
Ranked #8 of 25 Hotels in Delphi
Certificate of Excellence
Athens, Greece
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Satisfactory accomodation - very good price/quality ratio”
Reviewed 31 January 2012

I stayed there for the second time recently, the purpose of my visit being skiing in the nearby pistes of Mount Parnassos, but avoid paying the extortionate rates of the "alpine" resort of Arachova.
The hotel has a very promising lobby, with a very welcoming fireplace. The rooms are rather small and basic with outdated decoration. However, they are tidy, clean, well maintained and for all that matters to me, very satisfactory for a 1 or 2 night accomodation. The breakfast was basic but of good quality and, really, it was enough to give me the right boost for a day of skiing: white bread, honey-jam-butter, boiled eggs, cereals, ham&cheese, biscuits, 2 types of cake, 4 types of juice (the long life one of course;not fresh). The staff were very friendly and polite.
The only complaint I have is that the walls are thin as paper. Coming back from a day's skiing I wanted to have a little nap before heading to the apres-ski hotspots, but the ladies next door seemed to have a funny story competition going on and were laughing endlessly. Too bad the walls were not thin enough for me to hear the jokes too...
With the above in mind, my conclusions are:
1. I will definitely return to this hotel for my next skiing trips (as I have already done)
2. I would recommend it to anyone (tourist or skier) who is on a small budget and who needs decent and practical accomodation for a couple of days, but not luxury.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank altiport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
varonos, Manager at Hotel Varonos, responded to this review, 10 September 2012
Thank you very much for your review! We hope you have a great time in our hotel. So as you like skiing make your programme for this winter ( best period is after 15th or January till the end of February) and we will be very glad to see you again here and we will go together for skiing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    125
    38
    8
    1
See reviews for
77
122
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Highlands Ranch, CO
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights during a Greek vacation. The owner is wonderful! The rooms had balconies and we enjoyed happy hour there in the evenings. The rooms were clean and adequate. Good breakfast. We walked to the ruins from the hotel. the town is a tourist trap so make sure you get restaurant recommendations from the owner. I will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vixter200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
varonos, Manager at Hotel Varonos, responded to this review, 10 September 2012
Thank you very much for your review. We hope you have a great time here in our hotel.
We hope to see you again in your next trip to Delphi!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2011

A charming,authentic, greek family run business, Room was cozy, spotless clean, spectacular view, can't beat room price, great breakfast included as well, 10 minute walk to archeological site, service awesome.

Short 2 day visit but treated like family, MY BEST VACATION EXPERIENCE at a hotel in Greece.

Room Tip: Choose a room at back of hotel for fabulous view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
varonos, Manager at Hotel Varonos, responded to this review, 10 September 2012
Thank you very much for your review! We hope to spend a great time here in our hotel in Delphi.
We hope to see you again in your next trip to Greece.
Best wishes from the stuff of Varonos Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2011

Tons of similar hotels in Delphi but this one did not disappoint. Big bed with a balcony cost extra than what they have on hostelworld (what I booked through) so be sure to email and ask about that or mention it when you get there. Internet is an extra fee. Delphi is a relatively small town with 1 main street. Hotel located on main street in between the bus stop and the ruins. Nice breakfast and friendly staff.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Esther S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
varonos, Manager at Hotel Varonos, responded to this review, 10 September 2012
Thank you very much for your review. We hope you spend a great time here in our hotel.
Just to inform the guests who make their reservations through hostel sites that the rooms with the valley view are not included in their price.
Thank you very much again and we hope to see you again here in your next trip to Greece.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D.C.
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2011

The staff are very, very, very nice. The BED is one of two comfortable beds that I slept in of the many hotels I visited during a long vacation in Greece. We had a King size bed. I was impressed that it was one mattress, not two shoved together. The view out our balcony was great, if you can overlook the chicken coop and dirty rooftops. The balcony needs a little work though, but the sliding glass doors were great and kept the noise of the crowing rooster out. The breakfast was great. The hotel is CLEAN and COMFORTABLE, even if a bit campy. I would stay here again and again, especially since it was one of the few places I was able to sleep while in Greece.

Room Tip: Get a room in the back with a view of the mountain, valley river and olive trees off to the side in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dhm_DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
varonos, Manager at Hotel Varonos, responded to this review, 10 September 2012
Thank you very much for your review. I think you have stayed in number 8 or 9 as the beds you describe are in these 2 rooms. We hope you have a great time here and we will be very glad to see you again in our hotel in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Delphi hotels
0.1 km away
Pitho Rooms
Pitho Rooms
#1 of 25 in Delphi
490 reviews
0.2 km away
Pan Hotel
Pan Hotel
#6 of 25 in Delphi
362 reviews
0.1 km away
Fedriades Delphi Hotel
Fedriades Delphi Hotel
#3 of 25 in Delphi
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Nidimos Hotel
Nidimos Hotel
#2 of 25 in Delphi
335 reviews
0.1 km away
Kastalia Boutique Hotel
0.0 km away
Hotel Acropole Delphi
Hotel Acropole Delphi
#7 of 25 in Delphi
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Varonos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Varonos

Property: Hotel Varonos
Address: 25 Vassileon Pavlou & Friderikis, Delphi 330 54, Greece
Region: Greece > Central Greece > Phocis Region > Delphi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Delphi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Varonos 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Varonos Hotel! A traditional hotel wonderfully located in the heart of Delphi, over looking the famous olive valley and the Corintian gulf, close to every attraction! Feel the spirit of ancient years and the peacefulness of nature! Enjoy activities, wonder around the city, visit the sites and shop traditional products! Our hospitality will surely make you feel at home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Varonos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Varonos Hotel Delphi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing