We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Eleonora Boutique Hotel(Anissaras)(Great Value!)
US$65
US$63
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Oceanis(Anissaras)
Book now, pay at stay
US$131
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Aelia Apartments(Anissaras)(Great Value!)
US$123
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Villa Marina(Anissaras)(Great Value!)
US$234
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$281
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$443
US$401
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,161)
Filter reviews
1,161 results
Traveller rating
551
373
158
60
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
551
373
158
60
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeach baranimation teamthe olive tree restaurantbeach bedsmain barfish restaurantindoor poolall inclusive packagerelaxing holidaycold meatsprivate beachevening entertainmentfive star hotelspecial thanksbottled waterall inclusive drinkspeace and quiet
Filter
Updating list...
89 - 94 of 1,161 reviews
Reviewed 16 October 2016

We, 4 Scots, look around the internet for a great holiday and keep coming back to Crete and Bella Beach where we are guaranteed good weather, good accommodation, good food and great service from staff who go above and beyond to give customers an exceptional holiday.

The staff whom we now know well, Konstantina, Tonia, Georgios, Mr Apostolous, George, Popi, Rena (apologies for spelling) are to be lauded for their work ethic and are the hotel's greatest asset.

There are 3 restaurants , the main international restaurant, the Greek restaurant and the seafood restaurant, all extremely good with big portions. We also had a beer festival while there which was another great experience.

Bella Beach is not big which we like, is quiet and we are encouraged to participate in activities if desired, something for everyone. The beach is lovely with beds with mats and towels and umbrellas. No crush as room for all.

There are some added extras this year in place as becomes a hotel of this standard. The rooms are very clean are quite adequate with balconies, some sea facing, beautiful outlook.

There are walks around the area, buses to and from Heraklion and Knossos and
Agios Nikalaos , vehicles to hire and water sports activities.

All in all looking forward to next summer! Thanks again to all staff at Bella Beach.

Room Tip: Sea facing rooms
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank 56Newmiller56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nikos58, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Bella Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2016

Dear Mr. David,

A big hello from Bella Beach team to all of you!
Thank you very much for taking the time to write on Tripadvisor once again for the nice experience you had with us.
We really appreciate your excellent feedback in regards to the services, facilities and Hotel staff. We are all very happy to welcoming our guests again and again to our premises and offer them the best of ourselves.
We wish you all the best and we hope to meet us again next season!

With kind regards,

Nikos Dandaris
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2016 via mobile

Really nice hotel and friendly staff. Hotel has the best beach, towels and umrellas included in all inclusive package. Beach has no rocks, just sand and also great acces to sea. Food and beberage is fine. We recomend! Great vacation.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Martin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nikos58, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Bella Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2016

Dear Guests,

Thank you to describe your impressions on your kind review regarding your recent stay at Bella Beach Hotel on Tripadvisor.
Our team is really happy to know that the Hotel exceeded your expectations, found it nice, you had a great vacation and will recommend it, you enjoy our facilities & All Inclusive services, found the food & beverages fine, our sandy beach the best and our staff really friendly.
We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again in the near future at our Bella Beach Hotel.

With kind regards,

Nikos Dandaris
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2016 via mobile

We came for a few days chill (still here) and were recommended to stay at the bella beach hotel. Besides the great service and kind workers the hotel itself is very poor, and looks very little like the picutres.
We stayed at the sea view room and payed extra for it, though we had just a few inches of sea in our view.
The room, though very spacious, lacks the 5 star hotel qualities of bed and bathroom, looking like it was built 40 years ago. We had to change our keys becuase they stopped woking without apparent reason. The water in the shower doesn't stay hot for more than 30 seconds. There is no way to completely shut the blinds and have complete darkness when waking up late.
Despite the "all-inclusive treatment", we had to pay extra for a lot of specific things: lots and lots of certain drinks (non alcoholic) - we weren't allowed to refill our water bottles and had to buy them, we were charged a fee using the vault in our room, using the HOT TUB (!!!) and more. The outdoor pool is very little, and the indoor pool smells like it was never cleaned.
Towels are only changed on mondays, wednesdays and fridays.
Having a wide selection of freshly made meals, the food is very poor in quality and tasteless.
A three star motel trying to tell it's a five star all inclusive resort.
Not worth the price

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
4  Thank RonenBoxer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nikos58, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Bella Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2016

Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to post you review on Tripadvisor.
We are very happy that you found the service of our Hotel great and the staff very kind.
Apart from this we would like to reply to the various assets that you have mentioned after staying with us:

-If you were really not satisfied with the room’s view you could have come to the reception, to simply ask for another room. Apparently it was not very important for you…
-Our rooms have been renovated last winter, the beds are king size ones 2,00 X 2,00 and of the best quality.
- A room key can be demagnetized for many reasons! We are sorry it happened to you, we immediately provided you with new ones.
-All rooms have hot water, it is impossible to stop every 30’’ and you never reported that to the reception, so we could check it out.
-You wrote about the room blinds but you meant the decoration curtain of the room. After having the chance to meet you at last for 5 minutes upon check out and we told you about the shutters that were outside of the balcony door, you admitted that you had not understood well and you saw them and used them afterwards.
-Our All Inclusive program has an enriched menu with alcoholic and non alcoholic drinks & cocktails and nobody is obliged to buy anything if not desired.
-All hotel clients are entitled to free refilling of their bottles in all F & B departments of the hotel. we suggest, though, that it is more convenient to use the bars’ special machines for this purpose. You also admitted that you hadn’t understood well in the beginning.
-Both, Hotel’s and Travel Agents’ brochures mention that the use of the safe and the spa are with extra charge. We never advertised something different. The beach towels are changed 3 times per week. We never refused, though, to change them more often when clients ask us at the reception.
- The outdoor and indoor pools are cleaned on a regular basis and have an automatic chlorination system and PH. Every day, we are conducting measurements which are kept in specific files.
-We are proud of the rich buffet that we have and that we catter for the majority of our clients’ tastes. We are sorry that we were not to your liking as we are for most of our Jewish clients.

Our surprise is that none of the above was mentioned to us directly although a message was sent in the room in order to meet in person and discuss any “problem”, even after getting the “information” through the social media.
Our company’s policy is to fully satisfy our customers, and if by any chance they are not satisfied during their stay, we are willing to find solutions by considering their wishes and if we made ​​a mistake somewhere, we always try to fix it.

We are sorry that we never had the chance to do the same with you.

With kind regards,

Nikos Dandaris
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2016

Just returned from a weeks stay at Bella Beach, (end of September) arrived at hotel late, beautiful entrance to hotel with furnishings and once in our room found a cold plate of meats, cheese & bread along with a bottle of water which was nice. Went for breakfast the next day, you have good food options and they do cater for all, pool area great, very comfy sun loungers & nice seating area, the pool is freezing, this should be heated in the end of season months as its such a shame to see nobody swimming because of this reason, you didn't want to swim for more than 15 minutes as you shivered. Drinks at the pool bar I found poor, not much choice for all inclusive drinks and the cocktails were not made in a 5 star way, they are just poured into a glass and not mixed in a cocktail shaker, too strong which also made them less enjoyable. Pool bar- issue with the size of the cups, the beach bar will gladly give you any drink in a larger plastic cup (which is great) pool bar the staff refuse.

Beach is amazing, and the lifeguard is such a laugh, he always cleans the beach and really looks after you, we walked along the beach and the other hotels loungers/umbrellas were not up to the standard of what Bella Beach was. Beach bar was lovely, Maldin who works here really is a good man, he works so hard and spoke very good English, very helpful in suggesting things to do in Crete and really got to know you.

Milan, Angelo, Vanessa & Claudia were our animation team for the week, these four people are the loveliest animation team you will meet, we formed great friendships & memories we will hold together, they are so bilingual with all languages including English, Italian, Hungarian & German and it was lovely for them to teach us about their languages too. Every day they had a smile on their faces, and would do anything to help you, we had great fun playing volley ball, water polo and joining in with the animation shows which they personally create. The energy of all four is amazing! a great team!

This in all was a great holiday, the reasons it is more a 4 include the following, which I feel if the hotel address it would make this a lovely 5.

I have to mention the A La Carte after seeing bad reviews, we ate here with another couple we met and the food was amazing, 11 out of 10, the best seafood and service, we had a variety of breads and greek dips followed by fish soup, starters included mussels, shrimp and seafood cocktail, and a variety of mains from spaghetti bolognese, salmon finished with chocolate desert and ice cream.

-No bottled water in your room apart from when you first arrive- I expect bottled water to be in the room daily.
-Rooms- nice rooms, however bathroom is modern the rest of the room is dated, I feel these could be refreshed and modernised a little.
-Drinks, all inclusive finishes at 11- I think this should be extended until 12:00, cocktails need to improve, more selection of drinks, as a 5 star you shouldn't pay for cava, fresh orange, mojitos etc.
-Snacks, snack bar from 4-6 with not a great selection, most 5 stars I have stayed in have fresh snacks cooked and include ice creams etc, and fresh sandwiches.
-Safe, 3$ euros a day, this is too much most 5 stars you do not pay
-Spa, this is ridiculous that you charge $10 for the sauna and $15 for the hot tub, plus $5 for the gym, it should all be free apart from treatments.

The staff really make this hotel, Popi who manages the bar is fabulous, Maldin at the Beach bar, and all the animation team are the nicest people you will meet. Lovely stay, would return again.

Room Tip: Get a sea view room :)
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank ecilarose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nikos58, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Bella Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2016

Dear Guests,

Thank you for spending your holiday at the Bella Beach Hotel and for sharing your kind and detailed review on Tripadvisor.
We appreciate that you have taken the time to give us your feedback and comments, helping us in this way to improve our services.
However our team is happy to know that you found the Hotel lovely, you had a great stay and would return again, found the pool great with comfy sun loungers, the beach amazing ( the life guard is really looking after you ) the beach bar lovely, the room nice, our animation the loviest team you ever had always with smile & fun ( Angelo, Vanessa, Milan and Claudia, a great team ) the breakfast very good with a lot of options, you liked our fish theme restaurant with the best seafood you ever had & best service, and found the staff ( who make this Hotel ) amazing with a special concern to fabulous Popi at the main bar and the very helpful Maldin at the beach bar.
We are more than happy to know that we will have the pleasure to welcome you again in the near future at our Bella Beach Hotel.

With kind regards,

Nikos Dandaris
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2016 via mobile

Have just returned from this hotel after 2 weeks holiday. The hotel is situated in a quiet area, but ther is a few bars and a supermarket within a short walk. Taxi into town and old town around 10/12 euro. Hotel was nice and relaxing. We found the meals to be of good quality, drinks were ok. Staff were excellent. Tonia in the dinning room was super efficient. Animation team were very good around the pool area with activities. Fresh beach towels and room towels every day. All in all a good holiday but would say it is more 4 star.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank jcbarrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nikos58, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Bella Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2016

Dear Guests,

We would like to thank you for staying at the Bella Beach Hotel and for sharing your kind review on Tripadvisor.
Our team is more than happy to know that the Hotel exceeded your expectations, found it nice & relaxing in a quiet area and had a good holiday, you enjoy our facilities & All Inclusive services, found the meals of good quality as well as the drinks, the aimation team & their activities very good and all staff really excellent, with a special concern to Tonia from main restaurant. ( always super efficient )
We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again in the near future at our Bella Beach Hotel.

With kind regards,

Nikos Dandaris
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews