We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AVA is awesome!”
Review of AVA Hotel Athens

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
AVA Hotel Athens
Ranked #2 of 284 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 27 May 2008

I booked my stay at the AVA Hotel based upon reviews read on Trip Advisor. All I can say is that I am so happy that we decided to stay there. We loved the location, the big room, super friendly staff, and the price. I never felt the need to get a taxi because we were so close to everything. When you walk out the entrance you know you've picked a great hotel when you see the Acropolis to your right and the temple of Zeus to your left. The staff went way beyond the call for us in helping to make our stay great.

I'll say that the AVA Hotel was the best value for my money of any place that I have ever stayed at. It's no Ritz, but it didn't matter. we loved it!

Jared - Phoenix,AZ

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank hancockgang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,757)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,418 - 1,422 of 1,757 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2008

We liked everything about the Ava: the suite,the well-equipped kitchenette, the spaciousness of the rooms, the beautiful view from the balcony, the helpfulness & cheerfulness of the staff, and the fact that they got us into our room quickly even though we arrived early.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarolynMetairie_LA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2008

It was my first trip to Athens with family and we stayed in AVA Hotel for six days. What a splendid stay it was! This hotel has ideal location right in the Plaka overlooking Acropolis on one side and Hadrian's Arch on the other. What we liked most was the ambience of the hotel; rooms are very spacious and nicely done up. The staff is very friendly always ready to help and guide - with a smile. The continental breakfast is a good selection of cheese, fruits, cake and tasty confectionary - not to miss the greek curd with honey and dry fruits.
It's proximity to major touristic attractions like Acropolis in the west, Zeus temple in the East, Panathinaikon stadium in the south and Parliament building in the north with famous national garden and monastiriki shopping area -all within a radius of few hundred meters- makes it an ideal location to be in.
While you are strolling in the Plaka area you can have nice food in the tavernas amidst lively atmosphere.
If you decide to go to the beach to have a nice dip in the blue sea waters head for glyfada or other near by beaches all easily accessible by taxi or tram.
All I can say is that it's value for money to be in AVA Hotel. For us, it was a very memorable and enjoyable stay while exploring the greek ancient sites, nice beaches and lovely islands.
A wonderful experience to always cherish! Such good memories do linger far too long!!

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ashokjoshi19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2008

This is a wonderful hotel for a stay in Athens. The staff is super--courteous, helpful, always smiling. We had a suite which is a large 1 bedroom apartment with full kitchen and enormous patio with a great view of the Acropolis (a real wow at night). The location is the best--everything very walkable. We paid e268--expensive for us Americans, but, relative to everything else and other hotels and for what you get, a bargain. Breakfast was included at that price--so we loaded up each morning and that got us through until a late lunch. All in all, a great find!

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank rynodan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2008

We liked this place. The room was fine nothing special, it was very clean especially the modern bathroom. The staff were friendly and free WIFI very useful. The best thing though is the location, walking distance to lots of the historic sites and good restaurants near by of an evening.
Taxi drivers seemed to make up their own rates so to be able to walk everywhere is a big bonus.

Stayed: April 2008, travelled with family
3  Thank debbiesam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Syntagma
MET34 Athens Hotel
MET34 Athens Hotel
#1 of 284 in Athens
150 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#10 of 284 in Athens
2,490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#12 of 284 in Athens
3,309 reviews
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#13 of 284 in Athens
3,488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AVA Hotel Athens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AVA Hotel Athens

Address: 9 - 11 Lyssikratous Street | Plaka, Athens 105 58, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#2 Green Hotel in Athens
#2 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#2 Family Hotel in Athens
#9 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range: €134 - €324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — AVA Hotel Athens 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AVA is a boutique Hotel situated at Plaka in the middle of the Historical Centre, at the foot of the Acropolis, on a quiet street. Surrounded by the worlds most renown monuments of Greek Civilization: Parthenon, Zeus Temple, Hadrian Arch, Agora etc. AVA offers spacious Suites & Apartments with all the amenities and comfort of an upscale Hotel, plus the exclusiveness and privacy of one's own home. AVA is a non smoking hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Stayforlong S.L., 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your AVA Hotel Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Ava Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing