We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Divine!”
Review of AVA Hotel Athens

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
AVA Hotel Athens
Ranked #2 of 284 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 1 October 2012

We stayed here for two 1-night stays, bracketing our 2-week trip to Greece. For our first stay we were in one of the AVA Exclusive Suites, which are all on the third floor and which have large furnished balconies that offer a view of the Acropolis in one direction, and of Hadrian’s Arch and the Temple of Zeus in the other. For our second stay we were in a Regular room right across the hallway from our first room. Compared to the much more expensive Exclusive Suite, the Regular room was not as large, had no separation between bedroom and living area, and lacked the enviable view from its much smaller balcony, but taken on its own merits was elegant and still spacious. Both rooms had kitchenettes and well laid-out bathrooms with high-quality shower stalls (not baths). The beds were equally—and very—comfortable in both rooms. We did not get a look at any of the AVA Executive Suites, which are intermediate in price between the Exclusive and Regular rooms.

The staff were simply lovely, always with a warm smile and always ready to help us with restaurant reservations, directions, and assistance placing phone calls. On both stays room service brought us complimentary bottles of sparkling wine and chocolates, which came with a touching “Welcome back” note on our second visit. Enjoying these treats on our balcony on our first night in Athens made for a wonderful memory.

Breakfasts included in the room rates featured a good selection of hot and cold items, and in addition to ready-to-serve juices there was a juicer and whole oranges for guests who wanted fresh-squeezed orange juice.

Wi-Fi and wired internet were complimentary and we had no connection problems using either method.

The hotel does not have its own parking lot or valet parking service, but we had no trouble loading/unloading our luggage at the temporary parking zone in front of the hotel then moving our rental car to a lot up the street (there are several nearby).

We found that all the positive TA reviews of this hotel are well earned, and we would definitely stay here again on our next visit to Athens.

Room Tip: Specify an Exclusive Suite for the best balcony view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WMarkR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,756)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

880 - 884 of 1,756 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2012

The AVA is a lovely small hotel in the Plaka with a fantastic situation close to the Acropolis. It's within walking distance of many of the antiquities and museums and is also close to the metro station. Our group hired three suites and all were pristine and there is a lift. The staff were all delightful and so very helpful. A wonderful place to stay!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

The staff were very friendly and helpful. We arrived early and were given some coffee and biscuits while the room was prepared. The executive suite very elegant with fantastic balcony views to the Acropolis and Hadrian's Gate. The location in the Plaka is perfect for easy access to all the historical sites, restaurants and shopping. It is a small boutique hotel and the buffet breakfast had a variety of fresh delicious choices. You can have freshly made coffee. It is about 20Euro to the port or 40Euro to the airport by taxi. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and get an executive suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debba123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012

My husband and I were traveling with our 25 year old daughter and stayed at this hotel for two nights at the end of a cruise. The hotel was very nice! The room we stayed in was spotless, comfortable and quiet. Thanks to help from the staff we were able to spend and afternoon at a gorgeous beach about 30 minutes from the hotel. Also, we enjoyed a wonderful meal at a local restaurant because of a recommendation from the front desk. We would re-book this hotel in a heart beat!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lhurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012

The Ava Hotel, on the Plaka, in Athens, is within walking distance of the Acropolis and great restaurants. The hotel is very welcoming with a delicious breakfast as part of the rate. A convenient Internet room is an added attraction... a great attraction. The staff is exceptionally helpful and warm. The rooms are elegantly styled. We were very glad we had chosen it!

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay there!

Room Tip: We did nothing exceptional and had what we thought was an exceptional room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaroleBrookline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Syntagma
MET34 Athens Hotel
MET34 Athens Hotel
#1 of 284 in Athens
149 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#10 of 284 in Athens
2,489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#12 of 284 in Athens
3,307 reviews
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#13 of 284 in Athens
3,481 reviews
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AVA Hotel Athens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AVA Hotel Athens

Address: 9 - 11 Lyssikratous Street | Plaka, Athens 105 58, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#2 Green Hotel in Athens
#2 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#2 Family Hotel in Athens
#9 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range: €131 - €318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — AVA Hotel Athens 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AVA is a boutique Hotel situated at Plaka in the middle of the Historical Centre, at the foot of the Acropolis, on a quiet street. Surrounded by the worlds most renown monuments of Greek Civilization: Parthenon, Zeus Temple, Hadrian Arch, Agora etc. AVA offers spacious Suites & Apartments with all the amenities and comfort of an upscale Hotel, plus the exclusiveness and privacy of one's own home. AVA is a non smoking hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your AVA Hotel Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Ava Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing