We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of AVA Hotel Athens

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
AVA Hotel Athens
Ranked #4 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
NSW, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights based on trip advisor ratings. Was not let down. Staff were just wonderful - always helpful and friendly. Greeted us with an upgrade to Acropolis view room and a bottle of champagne in our room - a very pleasant surprise after a long trip. Wonderfully located - close to all major attractions and the metro. The room was magnificent - very modern and spacious. A welcome change after travelling through Italy and staying in gawdy, outdated rooms. The other great thing is their range of free blu-ray DVD's to relax and watch in your room at night after a long day in busy athens. My wife is a movie buff and absolutely loved this added touch. Finally, it is about 5 minutes walk from the BEST food in Athens (trust me, I am greek and I lived in AThens for 3 months, i know good authentic greek food)....Smile Cafe. Smile is on Syngrou just around the corner from the hotel and is the BEST.......enjoy!

Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Eagleton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,589 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,311
    223
    35
    11
    9
See reviews for
367
854
45
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Appleton, WI
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

I have never been to Greece and didn't know what to expect. I don't even remember how I found this hotel but was glad I did! The staff were very helpful and many of them spoke English. My wife and I arrived earlier than expected and they held our bags for us so that we didn't have to drag them all around with us. The Internet was free which was also nice as we could check our email and do research. The breakfast was very good two of the days but seemed not so good the third day. It appeared that the food that was out on day 3 was the same stuff that had been put out the other two days and was starting to show its age. This hotel is in a great location if you are looking to be near the old Greek ruins. You can see several from standing in front of the hotel. This is one of the best hotels I have ever stayed at and I would recommend it to anyone and everyone.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ATHENS
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

AVA is a small hotel located in the most beautiful part of Athens, in Plaka. The facilities are very luxurious and clean. Rooms are really spacious and everything looks brand new! On arrival we were upgraded as there was availability and we are so thankful for that! Staff is very friendly and helpful. Breakfast is beautiful and you are spoilt for choice! AVA hotel is definitively a must if you are visiting Athens! Absolutely loved every moment and part of this hotel! It is definitely worth the traveler’s choice award!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anastasia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2012

This was the best hotel I stayed at in all of Italy and Greece! The front desk ppl were amazing and helpful and definitely went above an beyond. They had a great breakfast spread and very spacious rooms! Love love love love this place!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AKA87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
REX DA MILANO
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

Very good stay for business trip probably the first time after 7 years visits in Athens. The accuracy of room service and the treatment, the friendly staff, hi speed internet wifi, Plaka location and good rate can support the standard breakfast that have to be improoved.
Rate can be higher in summer and for special events but regarding business trip it's possible for frequent stay to get the right annual agreement (corporate rate).
Request also a fitness area, they will probably open it during 2012.
A good hotel also for vacation trip due to the location and the very kindly staff that can help for any situation. Acropoli is behind the hotel by a walking area. Bars, restaurant, shops, market are at 2 minutes outside the hotel. Sintagma square 5 minutes. Plaka is a fiendly not dangerous area also during the night.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank REXREX1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#9 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,088 reviews
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#14 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Syntagma
King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#13 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AVA Hotel Athens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AVA Hotel Athens

Property: AVA Hotel Athens
Address: 9 - 11 Lyssikratous Street | Plaka, Athens 105 58, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#2 Green Hotel in Athens
#4 Family Hotel in Athens
#4 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#13 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4 star — AVA Hotel Athens 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AVA is a boutique Hotel situated at Plaka in the middle of the Historical Centre, at the foot of the Acropolis, on a quiet street. Surrounded by the worlds most renown monuments of Greek Civilization: Parthenon, Zeus Temple, Hadrian Arch, Agora etc. AVA offers spacious Suites & Apartments with all the amenities and comfort of an upscale Hotel, plus the exclusiveness and privacy of one's own home. AVA is a non smoking hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your AVA Hotel Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Ava Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing