We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,494)
Filter reviews
2,494 results
Traveller rating
939
1,079
329
89
58
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
939
1,079
329
89
58
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sky lounge rooftop pool supreme room level experience jacuzzi bath great hotel omonia square min walk rooms are nice metro station hop on hop off bus superior room mini bar comfortable hotel main attractions tourist attractions great view of the acropolis
Filter
Updating list...
49 - 54 of 2,494 reviews
Reviewed 20 September 2018

Hotel is well located and you can walk to most places. The pool dining at night was wonderful however more sun beds would be good as would extra seating down near the gym out of the sun. Reception staff and check in/out was great.

Room tip: Better pillow choice
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with Meliá Hotels International
Thank tchest209166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KleandraK1, Guest Experience Department at Melia Athens, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2018

Dear tchest209166,
It is a pleasure for us to receive such a wonderful review. We are very happy to see that you had an excellent stay with us.
We hope to welcome you back soon!

Warmest Regards,

Kleandra Kerimai

Guest Experience Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2018 via mobile

Great hotel choice for visiting Athens. Our alternative choice was in North Athens, more modern and the area was built up for the 2004 Olympic Games. But, now it's like New Your City with very high population density and the traffic to go with it.

The Melia Athens in Central Athens was the perfect spot with a beautiful view of the Acropolis from their rooftop restaurant. Every excursion we took picked us up at the front door as the hotel is conveniently located in the more historical area of the city and the local restaurants, within walking and short cab ride distanced are fantastic.

The rooms are spacious, well appointed, with surprisingly comfortable beds. The hotel has both casual and fine dining and a lobby bar. The staff is great and accommodated our every request. The Melia Athens must be a high traffic hotel as there were multiple taxis parked at the entrance 24 hours a day, no wait.

We picked well and will return to the Melia Athens on our next Athens visit.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank masonmw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KleandraK1, Guest Experience Department at Melia Athens, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2018

Dear masonmw,

Our sincere thanks for investing part of your time in writing such a great review about your recent stay at Melia Athens! We are glad that you had such a good stay with us and you enjoyed our service and comfort. All your nice comments will be passed to the entire team!
Thank you once again for your preference and recommendation and we are looking forward to welcome you back offering you a memorable Melia Experience!

Warmest Regards,

Kleandra Kerimai

Guest Experience Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2018

Our travel agent recommended this hotel and it did not disappoint. (SN: A taxi from the airport to the hotel is about a 30 minute ride and costs about 40 euros.)Arriving, the bellmen were very quick to unload our bags and usher us into the lobby. There was a great aroma in the lobby and it reminded us of our stay in Dubai; made us smile instantly. Since we were checking in early, Kostas was kind enough to get us into a room and upgrade us with no fee. The room was clean, modern, and very cold (there AC system really works). The beds were soft/comfortable and the bathroom was spacious. The view from the room wasn't that great as the hotel is surrounded by other buildings but the rooftop floor made up for it. They have an infinity pool, gym, and spa on the rooftop; the views of the Acropolis and Mount Lycabettus were spectacular. When we headed out to explore, the staff was very friendly and kind. They provided us with maps and directions; they even recommended an authentic restaurant about a minute away called Kriti. Ominias square was a few blocks away but we walked to Monastiraki Square with no problem. We even stopped at a local super market along the way to purchase snacks and water (water bottles can cost from 15 to 39 cents...less than a euro! At the hotel they are 2 euro).Breakfast at the hotel was wonderful and had a great selection of hot and cold foods which were all very tasty. The staff was attentive to getting us water, teas, and coffee. Checking out was seamless. They had taxis up front waiting and loaded our things for us so we could get to the airport on time.After returning from Santorini, we checked into the Melia Hotel again. They were very excited to have us back. They even helped us make dinner reservations at their rooftop restaurant. The experience was unforgettable. It was our last night in Greece and they made it such a special occasion. We took all of our waitresses recommendations. For drinks, we ordered the Sky Lounge and the Ex-Spritz. For starters, we ordered the king scallops and the rocket salad with halloumi cheese. For entrees, we had the pappardelle with mushrooms in a truffle oil and the traditional moussaka. For desserts, we ordered lemon pie and orange cake both with kaimaki ice cream which tastes like vanilla.We truly enjoyed both our stays at Melia Hotel Athens! Overall, this hotel provides five star service and I look forward to staying with them again for our next trip.

Room tip: Floor 1 is very quiet and only one floor up from where they serve breakfast.
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Meliá Hotels International
1  Thank capulri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KleandraK1, Guest Experience Department at Melia Athens, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2018

Dear capulri,
Our sincere thanks for investing part of your time in writing such a great review about your recent stay at Melia Athens! We are glad that you had such a good stay with us and you enjoyed our service and comfort.
Moreover, we are delighted to read that you enjoyed our special aroma.Please note that we are always pride for our team and we are more than glad to read that Kostas did his utmost to make even greater your stay with us.

We hope to see you soon!

Warmest Regards,

Guest Experience Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2018 via mobile

The accommodations were beautiful, clean and comfortable. The staff was friendly, food was good and the roof top bar, pool and view of the Acropolis were all fabulous. Location is short cab ride to Acropolis, Plaka, Parliament and I’m sure a lot more but this is a seriously dangerous neighborhood, don’t walk around here, take a cab from the front door otherwise you’re putting yourself in danger.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KleandraK1, Guest Experience Department at Melia Athens, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2018

Dear Susan,

Thank you so much for staying with us and for sharing your very nice words about our hotel. We are glad to see that you enjoyed our attentive staff as well as our delicious food. Regarding the location, allow me to note that Athens is relatively safe area, similar to all the rest European capitals.
We really hope to welcome you back!
Kindest Regards,
Kleandra Kerimai
Guest Experience Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2018

Unfortunately we were only stating here as a stop over from the Islands before an early flight home the next morning. The staff were friendly and helpful with Airport taxi booking and early wake up call. We had a free upgrade to an executive suite as all others were full - room was lovely, spacious and clean, well stocked and quite. Shame we were only in it for 4 hours sleep! Large comfy bed too.Good location, 15 minute walk top Plaka area for dinner.Roof top bar area provides nice views. Only downside, drinks are expensive, but that is the norm' with City hotels

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Meliá Hotels International
Thank SophieA1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KleandraK1, Guest Experience Department at Melia Athens, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2018

Dear SophieA1951,
Our sincere thanks for your wonderful review and for taking the time to share it with TripAdvisor community. We are glad to read that your found our rooftop to be great and our staff’s actions made your stay even better. Be assured that we will share your great comments with the entire Melia Athens team. Hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again in the near future.

Warmest Regards,

Kleandra Kerimai

Guest Experience Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews