We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, don't dawdle in the street”
Review of Ionis Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ionis Hotel
Ranked #242 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Manchester
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great value, don't dawdle in the street”
Reviewed 8 October 2011

We have really enjoyed staying in the Hotel Ionis and we have been here for a couple of weeks now. OK the streets around are unpleasant, but once inside the hotel is clean, friendly and excellent value. The breakfast is very good.

The location is the major drawback and late at night there is a feeling of 'running the gauntlet' on the last few streets. That said nothing bad has happened to us. There are far worse areas in any big city.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank scrabblemad s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    29
    43
    25
    21
See reviews for
11
36
17
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 August 2011

The room was well cleaned and linen changed daily. The front desk was very helpful. You feel a bit unsafe since you can see the prosstitudes and drug addicts roam around. Otherwise the place is well worth of money.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wasantha65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2011

walking into a convenience store less than fifty metres away from the ionos hotel, a woman approached me and my three friends and told us that we should be wary of our bags, money and documents because we were in a dangerous area. walking back from our search for rations, so as to not have to leave the room again for the next three days, a friend began to wander past a group of less than friendly/healthy looking ladies. worried that she would be dismembered we quickly ushered her back to safety, alas, the women had laid eyes and followed us until we were well out of eyeshot. not a great introduction to omonia, especially for four young teenage girls who were travelling alone. the windows, thankfully have two thick protective outer casings to protect the room from those who would see the ledge extending from the wall, an appropriate invitation to rob the room blind. the room is adequate, however this is overshadowed by the less than safe vibe the area emanates. the scenery from our window seems to be stolen from both baghdad and slumdog millionaire, complete with loud indian music and squealing babies. after being at the ionos hotel for five hours fridge filled with survival supplies, i have already started searching for more hospitable and less life threatening accommodation. if you have a suicide wish, come on down

Room Tip: don't come here
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank skam1er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Athens hotels

Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 June 2011

the breakfast alone was worth the very reasonable price, of course a few migrants and hookers, but like stray dogs i left them alone and they left me alone. I didnt feel anymore unsafe than new york or london, and reading other reviews no one said they were actually mugged.All of athens smells either of urine or teargas, i,ve known cleaner cities .so omonia square no different.useful jumping off points to everywhere

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank morgan250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

Just got back from a trip to Athens,The city is very nice and full of history. Before booking the ionia hotel on Expedia.com i wanted to read reviews on this site, some people said to stay away from this hotel and area and i was like how bad could it be in a city like Athens? So i went ahead and booked my trip. When i got to Athena i spent some time in the city center and found it very nice, But once i got off the Omonia station to walk to the hotel i was shocked!!! The area was full of hookers, junkies and dealers. Now, during the day it wasn't very bad since there were alot of people on the streets, But once it gets dark you will find yourself walking among hookers, junkies and dealers smelling urine every now and then like as if you are in that area trying to score something!!!
I wasn't afraid since i'm a big and heavily tattooed guy, but a female or a family with kids will have to be extra careful.
Walking back to the hotel trough this area ruined my hole experience, after all who wants to see junkies and hookers after seeing the Acropolis and the nice cafes???
The hotel is OLD, very basic. The street facing side is very noisy specially at night since there are gambling shops and wired looking man standing there all night and talking weird languages( kurdish,Gypsy) while the hookers get in and out of corner alleys after shooting heroine.
The bathroom is tiny, i had to squeeze myself between the door and the sink to shut the door. The room is relatively clean though. The Free wifi and breakfast was nice. the front reception guy could care less if you asked him something and he was smoking right at the desk. Find something else near the center or the suburbs, you'll be glad you did.

Room Tip: the street facing side is loud all day and night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank goldenratio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Hotel Aristoteles
#220 of 326 in Athens
598 reviews
Hotel Moka
#156 of 326 in Athens
163 reviews
Omonia
Iniohos Hotel
Iniohos Hotel
#214 of 326 in Athens
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Omonia
Ambrosia Suites
Ambrosia Suites
#147 of 326 in Athens
81 reviews
Delphi Art Hotel
#84 of 326 in Athens
268 reviews
Omonia
Economy Hotel
Economy Hotel
#70 of 326 in Athens
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ionis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ionis Hotel

Property: Ionis Hotel
Address: 41 Chalkokondili, Athens 104 32, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Omonia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #242 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Hotel Class:3 star — Ionis Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Ionis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing