We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cramped Hotel, not too friendly staff !!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Athenian Callirhoe Exclusive Hotel
Ranked #58 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Cramped Hotel, not too friendly staff !!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2011

We stayed there in September 2011, when the recession impact on Greece was huge, we thought the Greeks would be more welcoming to tourists bringing in much wanted foreign currency. However, the Hotel staff were rather unfriendly and assistance was scarce. The hotel itself was clean, but rooms were cramped with uncomfortable beds. The much hyped rooftop restaurant with Acropolis view, was a damp squib.

Room Tip: Try other hotels in the similar price range, as the rooms here were really cramped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mhbengal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

658 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    166
    293
    144
    38
    17
See reviews for
99
306
33
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chevy Chase, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2011

The Athenian Callirhoe is well located a short walk from the Acropolis Museum and the Plaka. The rooms are small but have recently been upgraded and are perfectly comfortable. Unlike some other reviewers I found the staff to be pleasant and helpful. I only ate breakfast in the hotel so cannot judge the standars of the rooftop restraurant, except that it does have a fine view of the Acropolis if one strains a little.

Room Tip: Make sure you reserve an inside room that does not face the street. The hotel sits at the junction...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
146 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2011

This hotel was picked out of our tour company’s brochure as it was close to all the main sightseeing areas.

We were only at the hotel for 3 nights, but had a very happy stay. From the moment we checked in, the staff were cheerful and welcoming and gave the impression that nothing was too much trouble. This applied to reception, bar staff, porters and waiters and waitresses at breakfast.

The hotel is on a busy main road, but you wouldn’t know it once you are inside. Our room was at the back of the hotel, with a view through neighbouring buildings to the Parthenon. The room was furnished in darkish colours, but the hotel hadn’t economised on lighting and at night time we were not peering through the gloom as we do in some hotels. The porthole window between the room and the bathroom gave more light, but tended to wake the other up if one of us went to the bathroom in the night.

The bed was large and comfortable and the bathroom had plenty of hot water with toiletries that were replenished every day. The whole hotel was clean and attractive and well air conditioned. We didn’t use the basement gym, but went to have a look at it. It’s small, but seemed to have a lot of equipment. A bit stuffy, but we assumed that was because nobody had switched on the air con to use the gym recently. There is no pool, but we don’t expect one in a hotel of this size.

The juicer at breakfast was a challenge and we wondered if it was there to provide some entertainment for the waiters watching the customers try to work out how to use it! If they saw you struggling, however, they were quick to come and help. The breakfast buffet was very good, although I would have liked a bit more variety in the bread. It is hard to find any fault with the hotel and this was only a minor thing.

The location was as good as promised, being only 10 minutes walk from the New Acropolis Museum and the nearest metro station, with plenty of bars, shops and restaurants around the metro. We had very good meals in two restaurants within walking distance, Strofi and Manh Manh.

We would definitely look forward to visiting the Athenian Callirhoe again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back - quiet and with a view of the Parthenon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJLHoliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2011

My husband and I had just spent a week and a half in the Greek Islands prior to our short stay in Athens, so arriving at the Athenian Callirhoe Exclusive Hotel was somewhat of a culture shock. We sure weren't on an island anymore! Athens is a bustling city so of course this hotel was not a quaint white painted house with blue doors and shutters! The Athenian Callirhoe is very nice, just different, and it certainly does feel exclusive! This boutique hotel in the heart of Athens has a small lobby area that is completely modern glam, with lots of black and silver and touches of orange. There are two small mirrored elevators - basically just enough room for me, my husband, and our luggage. The "standard" rooms are clean, modern and comfortable, and the breakfast buffet that was included in our package was good and you could squeeze your own fresh orange juice.

However, in my opinion, the greatest selling points for this hotel are:
1) The roof garden bar/restaurant, with an absolutely incredible view of the Acropolis, which is amazing to see all lit up at night. On our last night in Greece when we didn't want it to end, the very friendly bartender not only served up fantastic drinks when we weren't sure what to order but also knew just how to get the best photos of the Acropolis!
2) The hotel is within easy walking distance to the Acropolis and Plaka, which was a good thing since during our time in Athens there was a transit strike so we had no choice but to walk.

We were upgraded to this hotel as part of our vacation package and so it could otherwise perhaps be a bit pricey; however, it's an excellent location for a short visit to see the main attractions of Athens. I'd recommend it!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank PalladiumBride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new haven, ct
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2011

The room was small, but fine. The location was decent and the breakfast included was pretty good. That is the best I have to say. The woman at the front desk was rude and always on her phone, irritated by us interrupting her calls. The bathroom was FULL of mold I was so grossed out.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank katyfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adamopoulos, General Manager at The Athenian Callirhoe Exclusive Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
Your comments are always welcome and helpful as we wish to improve our services and keep the excellent quality and standards of the product offered.

We would like to apologize for the unfortunate insistent in the specific bathroom but it was not a mater of cleanness but a bad choice of a constructional material, as all bathrooms are cleaned and decontaminated daily. The problem mentioned was because of the use of a new waterproof silicone glue in some bathrooms which was proved not proper and replaced immediately.

Concerning some negative comments about our staff, the positive comments of other guests come as a reply, so it would be an excess to make comments by our part.

Respectfully
Nikos G. Adamopoulos
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Thissio / Makriyanni
Acropolis View Hotel
Acropolis View Hotel
#43 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Airotel Parthenon
Airotel Parthenon
#46 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,427 reviews
Acropolis Select Hotel
#50 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thissio / Makriyanni
Philippos Hotel
Philippos Hotel
#25 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 962 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Acropolis Hill Hotel
Acropolis Hill Hotel
#26 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#16 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Athenian Callirhoe Exclusive Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Athenian Callirhoe Exclusive Hotel

Property: The Athenian Callirhoe Exclusive Hotel
Address: 32 Kallirrois, Athens 117 43, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#33 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#41 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:4 star — The Athenian Callirhoe Exclusive Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Athenian Callirhoe Exclusive Hotel is a unique Luxury Boutique Hotel in the heart of Athens City where style and comfort are happily coupled to offer a pleasant stay with the finest accommodation and delightful culinary experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Athenian Callirhoe Exclusive Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athenian Callirhoe Exclusive Athens
Athenian Callirhoe Exclusive Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing