We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ATHENS LUXURY WITH A FANTASTIC LOCATION.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Ranked #6 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2017

Prior to my stay , I knew I would love this hotel, due to the attention and detail the Concierge Team provided me. They arranged from Airport pick up to Acropolis Private City Tour. As I arrived to the Hotel , the location was amazing across from Parliament House and walking distance to most of the key sites you would want to see in the City.The lobby is a Grand Decor Marble Lobby yet with a cool modern twist. The David Bowie portrait as you walk in , put a smile to my face. The staff is top notch from the doorman, housekeeping and front desk. I booked the Grande Suite category , facing with a view of the Acropolis. The decor is traditional and had all the amenities you need when staying in a luxury hotel .Personally , I loved the deep soaking marble tub, a must after walking all day in the heat of Athens. The sister property next door is wonderful and we had signing privilege. I used the Barber Shop, and ate dinner at the roof top of the GB Hotel. King George Hotel you will always be my home away from home when in Athens. The General Manager name is Tim Ananiadis and I must commend him for a fantastic team.

Room Tip: Book a high floor facing the Acropolis....
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (934)
There are newer reviews for King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

38 - 42 of 934 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2017

This hotel was perfectly located and very comfortable. Do yourself a favor and use indoor pool and spa next door at the Britagne. It is amazing. And don't be disappointed that you can't use the outdoor pool there. The indoor pool and spa is WONDERFUL. My daughter was upset that she could not use the outdoor pool until we visited the spa. It was one of the highlights of the stay! The service over all was great. The beds are great. Pillows are great. We were very happy.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Woofus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2017 via mobile

Let's start with the positives: the hotel is beautiful and in a great location. The restaurant on the 7th floor serves a wonderful breakfast and the restaurant itself is impeccably run. I was upgraded to a suite (I have platinum status), and the room was large and very comfortable. Probably one of the most comfortable beds that you'll find.

Now to the negative: the hotel itself is portly run. I arrived in Athens close to midnight and had an early morning tour scheduled for the next day. I as staying for 3 nights, but under 2 reservations (part of the nights was being paid for by points). Upon checking in, I was told that I would probably need to switch rooms the next day but they wouldn't know until the morning. I expressed my unhappiness with this potential as I was going to be gone all day and that the very reason why I paid for the first night (instead of using points...the hotel was "sold out" for points that night) was so that I didn't have to worry about changing hotels or rooms. When I came down the next morning to see what decision had been made, I was told that I'd have to wait until after 0900 when the manager got it and that i should pack everything up because I might need to move.

As you all are familiar, repacking when you're trying to relax and make a tour departure time is not fun and puts a damper on your day. But I did this. When I arrived back after a long day of touring Delphi, the manager was unapologetic and didn't see why I was annoyed. It took the very nice front desk lady to see my annoyance and offer me an apology (which is really all that I was looking for).

In addition to this, there were room attendant carts blocking the hallway at all times of day, a toilet that kept running, a shower drain that wouldn't drain, and a shower head that sprayed all over. For the price of this hotel, I think this is all really unacceptable. If you've read my reviews of places in the past, you know I'm not a negative Nancy, but I don't think I'd stay here again.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
2  Thank ashley l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
King-George-Athens, Manager at King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write your comments on TripAdvisor following your recent stay at the King George Hotel. We are truly disappointed we did not meet your expectations; this is certainly not the kind of service we offer to our guests. We would like to take this opportunity to apologize for the inconvenience with your room this is honestly one of our busiest months with the hotel being fully booked. Indeed, there was no room available at the time however a last minute cancellation came through while you were on your tour. It is always our top priority to accommodate guests with consecutive stays in the same room as we absolutely understand how uncomfortable it can be changing rooms. Your feedback is important to us and please rest assured that all the issues raised have been addressed to prevent any similar reoccurrences in the future. On a positive note, we are happy you enjoyed our hotel’s prime location and the Tudor Hall Restaurant. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future and prove to you that we can serve you better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2017

The King George in Athens was our last stop of a 17 day trip through Austria and Greece. We had a lovely stay at the King George -- the hotel is beautiful and perfectly located in the Center of Athens, close to the Plaka, Parliament, Syntagma Square and an efficient metro system that takes you wherever you wish to visit in Athens. Our rooms were on the small side but service was very good. Staff is very attentive to needs and respond very quickly. Our daughter was ill during our stay and a doctor was dispatched within minutes. Dinner at Tudor Hall with an suberb view of the Acropolis, unforgettable.

Stayed: July 2017
1  Thank Clarygrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2017

For my first visit to Athens, I was very pleased having selected King George - it was an easy 45 minutes Metro ride (via the blue line) to Syntagma Square, and when you emerge from the train station, the hotel is right before your eyes.

The doorman were extremely friendly, offering me suggestions on where to wander my first jet-lagged day, and recognizing me/welcoming me back, when I'd gone to an island for a few days and re-stayed at the King George.

The hotel is pricey, but the location was fantastic - near the Plaka, right by the national gardens (beautiful for my a.m. walks or to sit and read) and a fantastic view of the Acropolis from the breakfast room (and some of the guest rooms). The room I booked included breakfast (not sure if all rooms do) and it was ample - with lots of great general and Greek choices. Plus the young woman who seemed to be the head hostess (I can't remember her name but she is lovely) couldn't have been sweeter- encouraging me to try some of the local options and bringing me a delicious glass of watermelon juice. Everything was so fresh and delicious!

I slept well and comfortably. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Jill567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Plaka
Electra Metropolis Athens
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#12 of 282 in Athens
3,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Syntagma
New Hotel
New Hotel
#9 of 282 in Athens
1,535 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#14 of 282 in Athens
3,846 reviews
Hilton Athens
#17 of 282 in Athens
3,709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel

Address: 3 Vassileos Georgiou A? | Syntagma Square, Athens 105 64, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Syntagma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Athens
#3 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#5 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#5 Family Hotel in Athens
Price Range: €228 - €673 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE RESIDENCE OF DISCRETE LUXURY IN ATHENS Dating back to 1930 and located in the centre of Athens, the 5-star King George, a Luxury Collection Hotel represents the absolute essence of a fascinating boutique hotel. Perfectly situated for captivating experiences, a truly inspiring and gracious venue, King George is located within walking distance from the wonders of Athens. The Acropolis, Agora, Plaka and Thission are nearby, so too are upmarket boutiques, world-renowned museums, and the city's vibrant business district. With 102 rooms and suites, a Penthouse Suite with private outdoor pool overlooking the fabled Acropolis, Tudor Hall Restaurant and incomparable views of the city's landmarks, King George finds its best expression in the outstanding personalized service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King George Palace Hotel Athens
King George Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing