We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Herodion Hotel(Athens)
US$189
US$183
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$232/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Areos Hotel(Athens)
US$100
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$93/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Centrotel Hotel(Athens)(Great Value!)
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Attalos Hotel(Athens)
US$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$103
US$99
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$116/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$144
US$116
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$131/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$281
US$215
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$217
US$139
Bookgreece.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 45% below average rates

The price you found is 45% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$251/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Melia Athens(Athens)
US$195
US$141
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$551
US$522
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,690)
Filter reviews
1,691 results
Traveller rating
838
677
127
39
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
838
677
127
39
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssister hotelsyntagma squaregreat locationhotel plakaquiet streetwithin walking distanceadjoining roomsevery morningrooftop terracecentral locationsmall hotelgreek yogurttea and coffeeexcellent hotelexplore athensincluded breakfastrestaurants and shops
Filter
Updating list...
570 - 575 of 1,691 reviews
Reviewed 27 October 2014

Clean room, delicious breakfast, extremely helpful staff. Walking distance to Acropolis, Hadrian's Gate, Syntagma Square, Plaka. Good restaurants nearby. Sister hotel (Plaka) has lovely rooftop bar with view of sunset over the Acropolis. Spotty internet, but computer for guests in the lobby works fine.

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fran R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Hermes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2014

Dear Fran R


Thank you for choosing Hermes for your stay in Athens and for your positive review, especially for your comments on our "delicious breakfast, extremely helpful staff".

Kind regards from all of us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2014 via mobile

In September whilst holidaying in Greece, my sister and i stayed four nights at Hermes Hotel.
The staff at Reception were always helpful and made our stay very pleasant.
The location is the best. A stroll away from Monastiraki (Greek Flea Markets) and of course beautiful Plaka with its amazing Greek Tavernes and live music.
Breakfast at Hermes was also very good with a vast selection of yummy food.
Even the housemaids were very helpful, we were greeted with lots of smiles and "Kalimera" (Goodmorning in Greek).
The sad thing was checking out.
I will be back at Hermes on my next trip to Greece.
Euxaristo poly sto prosopiko tou Hermes.

Stayed: September 2014
Thank Clairec0910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Hermes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2014

Dear Clairec09

Wow! What a "fantastic"review with all the details that someone would like to read before making his decision. We thank you for taking the time to share your experience on TA and for highly recommending us. We hope we will the chance welcoming you again on a future trip to Athens and parctice your Greek. Kind regards to your sister.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2014

This is a small, reasonably-priced hotel. The reception staff was friendly and helpful. The room was comfortable with a terrace that offered a view of the Acropolis. Breakfast was more than adequate. My only quibble is that the elevator is so tiny that it wouldn't hold my wife and me with our luggage.

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Limmson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Hermes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2014

Dear Limmson

We are so pleased to read of your satisfaction from our friendly staff, breakfast and view of the Acropolis. As for your comment on our small elevator, hotels in Plaka area of our category, were built under the 60' regulations and due to static reasons it is not easy to be changed. I am sorry for the inconvenience caused.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2014

First, the positive: great breakfast, good front desk staff,close to dining, shopping, buses, and Acropolis. Checkout is at noon, and they have a convenient bag storage area if desired to leave luggage for later collection. The Parthenon and Aropolis Museum are must sees, and within an easy walk. The rooms are quaint, and the bathroom is smaller than most Japanese water closets. There is hall noise because of the small halls and hardwood floors. For those on a limited budget, the hotel is acceptable. If you are looking for a 4 - 5 star hotel, keep looking.

Stayed: October 2014, travelled solo
3  Thank DRLMinneapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Hermes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2014

Dear DRLMinnea

Thank you for staying at Hermes and for mentioning that this a not a 4 star hotel, but as many clients review ...a 5 star friendly staff !

We are glad you enjoyed the great location, rich buffet breakfast and services. Your review will help us improve. Just a note as an information to other readers, our superior rooms are of bigger size and bathroom with bath tab(if requested).
Should your travels bring you to Athens, which we hope so, please check all offers on our website. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2014

The best thing about this hotel is the location which is fantastic. It is in a very quiet street which is not part of the very touristy section, but it is within walking distance of just about everything you could want - Syntagma Square, Acropolis, Agora, Archaeological Museum etc. The staff are very friendly and helpful and the breakfast is excellent with a good range. We had a few minor quibbles with the facilities but overall the room was fine, it was probably done in the 90s so a bit tired, but the bathroom was newer. Overall it was probably what you should reasonably expect for the price. The wine and baklava they brought on the first night was a nice touch. There is a rooftop terrace where you can lounge, and as others have said you can also go to the rooftop bar at their sister hotel, the Plaka, which has a fantastic view.
The minor quibbles - the lift is very small, too small to fit two people and two suitcases; the rooms are a bit small and there aren't enough surfaces to put your stuff on; the cupboard door handles were badly designed and annoying to use and could be easily replaced; the shower was over the bath which was slippery to climb into - could be fixed with a mat.

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank CLT725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Hermes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2014

Dear CLT725,


Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on TA.
All clients comments are appreciated as they help us improve and at the same time continue offering a high standard of service. On our next renovation we will remember all your suggestions.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews