We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good vibes”
Review of Art Gallery Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Art Gallery Hotel
Ranked #23 of 53 Athens B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 November 2011

We had a very nice stay there. The hotel is VERY close to the Acropolis and the Acropolis Museum, yet the immediate surroundings feel authentic and are not packed with tourists.

Pros :
* quiet location, yet in the center
* very charming
* nice staff
* balcony to eat a very good breakfast

Cons :
* we had the chance to have a nice room, but the other room we visited wasn't nearly as nice

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ilyasou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (240)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

106 - 110 of 240 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2011

I think the 3 reviews below pretty much sum up my experience. I really loved the location. It was a nice local area and everything that I wanted to see was within walking distance. I would stay at this place again as I think it is a good value for the location. The staff and the resident cats were always welcoming and personable. All members of the staff were available to help out with any question or concern especially with helping us to find things to do during several major strikes that shut down most of the city.

Room Tip: The street can be a bit noisy, so higher up is better. The house is a bit noisy if people are up la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Danielle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2011

Only stayed one night but very close to the metro, easy to get to all the main sites in athens, would stay again if back in athens.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traveldog79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

I can't recommend this hotel highly enough. It is located just a quick walk away from the Acropolis and evening entertainment. On a quiet residential street, it is safe and comfortable. The owner was warm, welcoming, and entertaining. The room was huge - plenty of room for four. A good value for the price.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LisaC31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2011

This is a great economical alternative to big hotels. It's not for you if you're expecting a bland, vanilla, chain hotel experience but I'd recommend it to people looking for a lovely small hotel with character. The rooms are basic, with the usual European double-bed-that's-actually-two-twin-beds, but are spotlessly clean and have air conditioning and a small fridge, both of which are a definite asset. Usual 'telephone' type showers but I found the hot water to be readily available. The elevator is tiny and the stairs a little tricky (spiral marble staircase) so perhaps not so suitable for anyone mobility-impaired. There's free wi-fi access, which I've had to pay through the nose for in major luxury hotels elsewhere. The breakfasts are fantastic, including Greek (yogurt, cheese, honey, etc), German (cold meats, cheese, bread), and American (cereal, fruit, sweet rolls) options. The location is incredibly convenient - very close to a Metro stop and easy walking distance to most of the Acropolis-adjacent attractions. Other reviews have found it noisy but, in my experience, all the noise came from inconsiderate fellow guests (hint: that spiral staircase acts as an acoustic amplifier so yelling down three floors at 6 am or stampeding up and down in noisy shoes at 2 am is NOT cool). You really can see the Acropolis from the 4th floor balcony and the street outside is lined with orange trees. There are also three fine cats in residence. I'd go back in a flash and recommend it to friends who aren't Hilton-fixated.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front have small balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Conserv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Marble House
#20 of 282 in Athens
722 reviews
Hotel Tony
#40 of 282 in Athens
598 reviews
Acropolis Select Hotel
#50 of 282 in Athens
793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thissio / Makriyanni
Hera Hotel
Hera Hotel
#18 of 282 in Athens
1,097 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Acropolis View Hotel
Acropolis View Hotel
#45 of 282 in Athens
619 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#14 of 282 in Athens
3,945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Gallery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Gallery Hotel

Address: Erechthiou 5 | Koukaki, Athens 11742, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Athens
Price Range: €42 - €76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Art Gallery Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a budget friendly family-run Hotel centrally located in the Acropolis area of Athens. We began our operation back in the early 80’s when a family member and architect converted our family residence into today’s Athenian home enjoyed since by thousands of our guests. Our Ηotel is well-situated in a safe neighborhood of the up-and-coming Koukaki district of Athens. We are conveniently located near the Acropolis, the Acropolis Museum, and the many interconnected archaeological sites of significance, most of which can be easily reached on foot or via our nearby metro and tram stations or by bus (all a few minutes away). ​ Furthermore, the bustling pedestrian alley just down our street offers convenient access to a variety of enticing restaurants, tavernas, bars/pubs and cafes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Art Gallery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Gallery Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing