We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still the one”
Review of Philippos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Philippos Hotel
Ranked #24 of 327 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level Contributor
142 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Still the one”
Reviewed 31 December 2008

We are a family of 4 and have stayed at this hotel a number of times. This is a clean, neat, tidy basic hotel at a very good price. You will either love this hotel or hate it. (if you expect the Ritz you will hate it). The double rooms are a bit tight, but acceptable. The family rooms are a bit larger and if you are lucky you may get one which has a balcony looking out to the Parthenon - magic. The breakfast is satisfactory - cerial, cold meats, cheese, eggs, cakes etc - plenty to give you a good start to the day. The location is excellent, minutes walk from Acropoli metro station, the Parthenon, Plaka, Monistraki and many many other sites & restaurants.

  • Liked — Price, location & clean
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VicM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

997 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    398
    445
    114
    27
    13
See reviews for
253
390
81
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Riner, VA
Level Contributor
63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2008

This small hotel is located in a quiet section of town, very near the Acropolis. We were in room 410, which has a partial view of the Parthenon! The room and bathroom size were adequate, and there was space to unpack. We appreciated that since we were there for 5 nights. We also liked the quietness of the area (our room overlooked a side street.) Some nights we slept with the sliding door open, and woke up to cooing pigeons rather than traffic.

The desk staff were helpful, especially when we discovered that we could not leave for Delphi on Easter Sunday as we had planned. They said that we could stay an additional night, and called our hotel in Delphi to cancel the first night of our stay there. We were very grateful for that service, as I am always confused by telephone systems in other countries.

We enjoyed the breakfast -- lots of choices, and always fruit and wonderful yogurt available.

  • Liked — Excellent location, quiet and comfortable
  • Disliked — everything was fine
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Virginia_Lee7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2008

Very small room, noisy air conditioning and room very hot. Good breakfast. Great for a short stay. Central location.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Very small rooms
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank spendkidsinheritance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2008

This is a gem of a hotel very close to the Plaka (Market) and Acropolis. It is centrally located. My room was tastefully decorated and very comfortable. By north American standards it was on the small side but I had plenty of room. The bathroom had a bathtub. Everything was spotlessly clean. Breakfast was included. It was a continental breakfast but with a lot of variety. It is close to the metro (about a five minute walk). From the airport, I took the metro and changed at Syntagma Square. It was very easy. You can also take the X95 bus from the airport to Syntagma Square and change to a bus or metro. This hotel is an excellent location for tourists wanting to spend a few days in Athens. The only negative is that there are several steps from the street up to the lobby. I did not see any wheelchair access but there is an elevator from the main floor to the rooms. I would definitely stay there again if I am in Athens.

  • Liked — Location and feeling of luxury at an affordable price
  • Disliked — steps from outside to the lobby area.
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank judithO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2008

Stayed at the Phillipos for the second time as a good stop over after travelling in the Cyclades and before flying back to UK. Good metro links to port and airport. Quiet, safe neighbourhood free of "tourist tat" whilst still being incredibly central to Acropolis, Plaka etc. Room on 6th floor was of a good size with reasonable bathroom including the joy of a small bath! Comfortable bed, clean room.
Breakfast is adequate, if a little ordinary.

  • Liked — quiet, central location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank IsleofWightStevie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#15 of 327 in Athens
2,206 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Acropolis Hill Hotel
Acropolis Hill Hotel
#27 of 327 in Athens
705 reviews
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#30 of 327 in Athens
1,682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Omonia
Athens Center Square
Athens Center Square
#23 of 327 in Athens
1,308 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Hera Hotel
Hera Hotel
#22 of 327 in Athens
1,011 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Acropolis View Hotel
Acropolis View Hotel
#50 of 327 in Athens
565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Philippos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Philippos Hotel

Property: Philippos Hotel
Address: 3 Mitseon, Athens 117 42, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Thissio / Makriyanni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Athens
#33 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#42 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3 star — Philippos Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Bookgreece.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Philippos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Philippos Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing