We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,881)
Filter reviews
3,881 results
Traveller rating
2,984
636
158
63
40
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,984
636
158
63
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviews butler service rooftop restaurant winter garden butler floor gb roof garden cigar bar syntagma square parliament building beautiful hotel deluxe suite steam room indoor pool greek parliament top floor marble bathroom king george our honeymoon
Filter
Updating list...
107 - 112 of 3,881 reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2018

One of the best hotels worldwide. It is in the most central point of Athens. The views from the front side are amazing, you face the parliament which used to be the palace and on the other side you see Parthenon and Acropolis.
Services are up to the standards of any Luxury Collection Property. A must when you visit Athens. We tried it for 2 nights before travelling to Crete.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank paschumacher2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2018

We stayed at this hotel one night on our way back to the U.S. after a couple of weeks in the Greek islands. The location is fantastic. Walkable to Acropolis, restaurants, good shopping, changing of the guard at Parliament is right out front.
The rooms are decorated in a classic, traditional decor. The hotel feels grand and comfortable.
Only negative was my experience with the concierge. We were in town on a big religious holiday so almost everything was closed. I inquired where we should go our last night in Athens, in light of the limited places to go. The concierge suggested a flea market with second hand clothing (??) and the taverna they recommended was terrible (separate review). I had driven past this flea market our few weeks earlier and it was where the migrants were shopping for inexpensive clothes and wares. Very strange that the concierge would recommend the place when we were staying at that hotel.
Bretagne vs. King George hotel: On our way into Greece, we stayed at the sister hotel, King George, next door. They are very comparable, but I think Bretagne has more comfortable rooms. We were in two different categories of rooms, so I can't do an apples to apples comparison, but our suite at King George wasn't as nice as our regular room at Bretagne.
Side note, if you're a light sleeper, you may want to ask for a room that doesn't face the square as it is loud until quite late.
On the other hand the concierge at King George was excellent. Very responsibe and arranged for a very knowledgeable guide for the Acropolis.
In a nutshell, can't go wrong with either hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms facing square are nice to see the action, but loud until very late at night
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Neeta T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2018 via mobile

We recently stayed here for one night for a stay over between the United States and the Greek Islands.
The hotel was amazing.
It was very luxurious .
The beds were very comfortable. Service was excellent.
The television was a smart TV. You can choose which language you prefer to each television channel.
There is a spa.
We ate in the restaurant on the 8 th floor for dinner as well as breakfast . Amazing view of the Acropolis .
Food was excellent .

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank Mazadoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2018 via mobile

The Hotel Grand Bretagne is a large luxury hotel with an excellent location in Athens. The lobby and reception are very busy but they try to move people in and out efficiently. The concierges offered restaurant and sightseeing suggestions. You can walk to the Acropolis Museum and Plaka. Breakfast is served in the roof top restaurant with excellent views of the Acropolis and city. The rooms are well-appointed and spacious. We loved the hotel and would return.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Lawrence S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2018

Not cheap but we had a view of Changing of the guards every hour. Right near the placa with great shopping everything within walking distant. Room was very luxurious & amp,e room to move breakfast was on top floor with great views of Parthenon. All the antiques in this hotel were stunning & all staff where extremely helpful & friendly. I would highly recommend

Room Tip: Old world hotel with beautiful antiques everywhere
Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank BoxHillMaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews