We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$207
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$193
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 51% below average rates

The price you found is 51% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$390/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$222
US$199
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$207
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Areos Hotel(Athens)
US$126
US$119
Bookgreece.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$250
US$158
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Centrotel Hotel(Athens)(Great Value!)
US$80
US$72
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Attalos Hotel(Athens)
US$145
US$142
Bookgreece.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Melia Athens(Athens)
US$244
US$149
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$392
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (3,642)
Filter reviews
3,642 results
Traveller rating
1,990
1,358
220
56
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,990
1,358
220
56
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop bargreat locationwithin walking distancefree tea and coffeebreakfast roomrooftop viewsyntagma squarean amazing viewflea marketroof gardencentral locationancient agoramajor sitesrestaurants and shopsgreek yogurtwould highly recommend this hotelbreakfast was excellent
Filter
Updating list...
2,028 - 2,033 of 3,642 reviews
Reviewed 2 November 2012

Location is Perfect - turn left you are in the lovely shopping areas & touristic restaurants. Turn right & you are on route for Syntagma & Archaeological Museum and some really nice restaurants.

The Staff are super extra helpful. Eva their PR lady is really helpful, knowledgable and advised us of areas of Athens to avoid. Buffet breakfast is excellent with a wide range of hot and cold food. The hotel offers free tea, coffee and hot chocolate until 5.30 every day which is a lovely thing to do. The only gripe we had was that they charged 5 Euros for a glass of wine on their rooftop terrace (the view is great) but considering you can get a half litre of wine for between 3.50 - 6 euros elsewhere this wasn't very good so they lost out on our custom there.
When we had a problem in the room - the air conditioning broke down and resulted in water running down the walls at 5am and all over the bed and my husband they were very helpful and changed our room without any issues at all. They do have a problem in that their lift is very very small - it only accommodates 4 people at a time which caused them a problem during the busy breakfast period.
However, given that the hotel is really centrally placed, the rooms are airy and bright and clean, and their staff really go the extra mile to help their guests. If we return to Athens we would book the hotel again.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HongKong77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and high score.
All our staff is grateful for your kind comments. As for the price of wine, as you may understand there are many different rates according to qualities . We are pleased though that you enjoyed the free coffee.

We thank you again and hope to see you soon.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2012

Nice hotel with great views from the roof terrace of the Acropolis and across the city . Good friendly staff make this an ideal hotel that is well located close to old part of city. Breakfast was good and tea coffee available throughout the day along with biscuits!
Would recommend as a good, reasonably priced hotel in great location with easy access by metro.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bootbecks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2012

Dear Guest,

How nice to read that you returned home with a positive memory from your stay in Plaka Hotel.
We thank you for your comments on our staff, location and reasonable prices.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2012

A sister hotel to the Hermes just up the hill, The Hotel Plaka offers six floors of comfortable rooms, a very welcoming restaurant/breakfast bar that offers all-day coffee, tea, chocolate and cookies, and knowledgable, helpful front of house staff, chief among them the multi-lingual Michael who is as apt to speak fluent Spanish or German as he is English, Greek, or French, and soon -- Russian. The rooms are on the small side, but the beds are comfortable, and the bathrooms offer incredibly powerful showers! The catering staff lay on an enormous breakfast. My favourite item is their thick creamy yoghurt, topped with honey, but they also offer home-made rolls that are very much like Southern USA breakfast biscuits (a real treat!), salads, eggs and bacon and sausage, and an array of cheeses. They will also make you a cup of real Greek coffee if the choices on offer don't satisfy. The roof terrace is one of the hidden gems of the city. The wonderful Elsa serves cocktails up here from from 5 pm until 11. Her margaritas have to be the best in Athens. There are comfortable sofas and chairs and tables, and the view of the acropolis is stunning. This is THE place to come for sunset, the sky turning purple/orange/yellow/green/mauve, the moon rising in the east, the lights slowly coming on the Parthenon and Erechtheon as night creeps in. Oh, Elsa! Oh, Athena! Oh, Pericles! What a location. The hotel has a small lift to assist with luggage, but it can be a bit slow. Patience becomes a virtue. Convenient location, comfortable beds, a great and powerful shower, fabulous breakfast . . . this hotel lies almost in Monastiraki with its array of tavernas and quirky shops, but also gives easy access to Adrianou Street, the Agora, and all the other things you want to see and do in the heart of the old town. A downer is that they still charge you to hook up to WiFi. Get with it, Plaka. WiFi should be free, and also a bit stronger than yours is at present.

Room Tip: Ask for an acropolis view.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rebel1861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2012

Dear Guest,

All our staff are thanking you for your raving review and high score.
We are so happy that we managed to offer you a great stay and an unforgettable souvenir
from our roof top. Your photo is exceptional!
As we take in consideration all reviews, either positive or negative, we are working in increasing our Wi Fi signal.
Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2012

Excellent hotel. Very well located. Has a terrace with sensational views of Acropolis ( parternon) excelente hotel . muito bem localizado. possui um terraço com uma vista sensacional da Acropolis ( parternon )

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JOSE M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2012

Dear Guest,

What a great short review!
So pleased you loved your stay with us and the excellent view from our roof top.
Thank you for your high score.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2012

I have stayed in various hotels in Athens for several years but the best value I have found is the HOTEL PLAKA. The staff, service, location, breakfast, rooms and ambience are excellent, not to mention that many of the rooms have views of the Parthenon. The rooftop terrace at night (bar up there, too) is great. I highly recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Parthenon, although all the rooms are very pleasant.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeRossTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2012

Dera MikeRossTravel,

We are delighted to read a very positive review from an experienced traveler like you.
We thank you very much and we all really hope to see you again the soonest possible.

Best regards and thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews