We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and average room”
Review of Plaka Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Plaka Hotel
Ranked #13 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 November 2012

Location
The hotel is located about 5 minutes walk from Monastiraki metro station. Along the way from metro station to hotel, you'll pass by a few restaurants and Starbucks. There's a restaurant called Thanasis (you'll see it along the way from metro station to hotel), we had one of our dinner there and the food is great, I would recommend to try it. Flea market is just right next to Monastiraki metro station and Hadrian's Library (ancient archaeological site) is a minute or two away as well. On the left side of the hotel, there're some restaurants as well and another left turn, it was the street for night time shopping, a very long street with lots of shops and some restaurant, it feels like a night market. With 10 - 20 minutes walk, you'll reach a lot more other tourist attractions. You might find yourself having hard time choosing where to eat as there're too many restaurant around this area, we feel like going in and try each of them.

*Greek salad or tomato salad is a must try. The tomato is so crunchy that I almost wanted to order a second plate.

Room
The room is average, but spacious. It is clean and tidy, but nothing special. Toilet is clean (this helps give better rating to the room although the room itself is just average, check the photos I uploaded). WiFi is not free. I was expecting a double room means a double bed, but in fact it is two single beds put together. The aircond is just like the one you have at home, you'll need to switch it on and wait for a period of time to cool down. We're there on summer, coming back from hot and sunny day, it will be good if the room is cold when we enter, but unfortunately we have to wait for the aircond to cool the room down. Roof Terrace is a must visit, it has a great night view of Acropolis.

Service
Check-in and check-out is quick. Breakfast is OK. There're some brochure next to the hotel restaurant, they comes with Athens map, we used that to travel around.

Overall: Great location, average room.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2012

Dear Guest,

Thanks for staying with us and for your review. I am glad that you were satisfied with the location of our breakfast and the service you received from our staff. Guest comments are really important to us and help us to improve our services.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,442)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,887 - 1,891 of 3,442 reviews

Reviewed 2 November 2012

Location is Perfect - turn left you are in the lovely shopping areas & touristic restaurants. Turn right & you are on route for Syntagma & Archaeological Museum and some really nice restaurants.

The Staff are super extra helpful. Eva their PR lady is really helpful, knowledgable and advised us of areas of Athens to avoid. Buffet breakfast is excellent with a wide range of hot and cold food. The hotel offers free tea, coffee and hot chocolate until 5.30 every day which is a lovely thing to do. The only gripe we had was that they charged 5 Euros for a glass of wine on their rooftop terrace (the view is great) but considering you can get a half litre of wine for between 3.50 - 6 euros elsewhere this wasn't very good so they lost out on our custom there.
When we had a problem in the room - the air conditioning broke down and resulted in water running down the walls at 5am and all over the bed and my husband they were very helpful and changed our room without any issues at all. They do have a problem in that their lift is very very small - it only accommodates 4 people at a time which caused them a problem during the busy breakfast period.
However, given that the hotel is really centrally placed, the rooms are airy and bright and clean, and their staff really go the extra mile to help their guests. If we return to Athens we would book the hotel again.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HongKong77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and high score.
All our staff is grateful for your kind comments. As for the price of wine, as you may understand there are many different rates according to qualities . We are pleased though that you enjoyed the free coffee.

We thank you again and hope to see you soon.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2012

Nice hotel with great views from the roof terrace of the Acropolis and across the city . Good friendly staff make this an ideal hotel that is well located close to old part of city. Breakfast was good and tea coffee available throughout the day along with biscuits!
Would recommend as a good, reasonably priced hotel in great location with easy access by metro.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bootbecks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2012

Dear Guest,

How nice to read that you returned home with a positive memory from your stay in Plaka Hotel.
We thank you for your comments on our staff, location and reasonable prices.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2012

A sister hotel to the Hermes just up the hill, The Hotel Plaka offers six floors of comfortable rooms, a very welcoming restaurant/breakfast bar that offers all-day coffee, tea, chocolate and cookies, and knowledgable, helpful front of house staff, chief among them the multi-lingual Michael who is as apt to speak fluent Spanish or German as he is English, Greek, or French, and soon -- Russian. The rooms are on the small side, but the beds are comfortable, and the bathrooms offer incredibly powerful showers! The catering staff lay on an enormous breakfast. My favourite item is their thick creamy yoghurt, topped with honey, but they also offer home-made rolls that are very much like Southern USA breakfast biscuits (a real treat!), salads, eggs and bacon and sausage, and an array of cheeses. They will also make you a cup of real Greek coffee if the choices on offer don't satisfy. The roof terrace is one of the hidden gems of the city. The wonderful Elsa serves cocktails up here from from 5 pm until 11. Her margaritas have to be the best in Athens. There are comfortable sofas and chairs and tables, and the view of the acropolis is stunning. This is THE place to come for sunset, the sky turning purple/orange/yellow/green/mauve, the moon rising in the east, the lights slowly coming on the Parthenon and Erechtheon as night creeps in. Oh, Elsa! Oh, Athena! Oh, Pericles! What a location. The hotel has a small lift to assist with luggage, but it can be a bit slow. Patience becomes a virtue. Convenient location, comfortable beds, a great and powerful shower, fabulous breakfast . . . this hotel lies almost in Monastiraki with its array of tavernas and quirky shops, but also gives easy access to Adrianou Street, the Agora, and all the other things you want to see and do in the heart of the old town. A downer is that they still charge you to hook up to WiFi. Get with it, Plaka. WiFi should be free, and also a bit stronger than yours is at present.

Room Tip: Ask for an acropolis view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rebel1861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2012

Dear Guest,

All our staff are thanking you for your raving review and high score.
We are so happy that we managed to offer you a great stay and an unforgettable souvenir
from our roof top. Your photo is exceptional!
As we take in consideration all reviews, either positive or negative, we are working in increasing our Wi Fi signal.
Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2012

Excellent hotel. Very well located. Has a terrace with sensational views of Acropolis ( parternon) excelente hotel . muito bem localizado. possui um terraço com uma vista sensacional da Acropolis ( parternon )

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JOSE M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2012

Dear Guest,

What a great short review!
So pleased you loved your stay with us and the excellent view from our roof top.
Thank you for your high score.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#14 of 282 in Athens
3,944 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#10 of 282 in Athens
2,438 reviews
Plaka
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#15 of 282 in Athens
1,595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#30 of 282 in Athens
1,825 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Omonia
Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaka Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaka Hotel

Address: 7, Kapnikareas street and corner of Mitropoleos | Plaka / Acropolis / Syntagma / Monastiraki, Athens 105 56, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Athens
#7 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#11 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range: €56 - €175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Plaka Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Most central hotel situated in Plaka district. Strategically located for visiting all main archaeological interests especially the Acropolis and new Acropolis museum, as well as Ancient Agora, Parliament, first Olympic stadium, Benaki museum, Cycladic museum, National garden. Two streets only away from metro station Monastiraki, with direct line from the airport and the port of Piraeus. 50m from the main shopping street Ermou and Plaka touristic shopping area with taverns and bars. Splendid view of the Acropolis from roof terrace not to be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Plaka Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Hotel Plaka
Plaka Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing