We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel - would thoroughly recommend it!”
Review of Plaka Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Plaka Hotel
Ranked #13 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 July 2011

This was our second stay at Plaka Hotel and it lived up to our previous stay. We arrived at 11am on a sweltering Athens morning and were able to check in straightaway. We again chose a room with an Acroplis view and this time had a room on the 5th floor. The bedroom was immaculately clean and had excellent air-conditioning. We were welcomed with a selection of fruit, a carafe of iced water and a bottle of wine which we greatly appreciated. Free tea, coffee and biscuits available in the Breakfast Room until 5pm is a bonus.The roof-top terrace with breathtaking view of the Acropolis is a real plus for this hotel.The breakfast selection was excellent. The staff very welcoming and helpful

Room Tip: Avoid bedrooms on 6th floor - noise from the moving of furniture on the roof terrace is intrusive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UkYorkshirelass99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DORINAPLAKA, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing our hotel during your recent visit to Athens. Guest satisfaction is our primary concern and we are pleased to know that you noticed all the small details we offer in order our guests to have an enjoyable and memorable stay.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,439)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,197 - 2,201 of 3,439 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2011

Stayed here for a couple of nights before heading to the islands. We were not looking for luxury, just a decent hotel with a great location to explore the city. The rooms are basic, beds could be softer, but you have a small balcony and a mini fridge which are bonuses. We were only in our room to sleep so we didn't mind. The breakfast in the morning was great! Hot and Cold buffet with fresh fruit and pastries and lots of Greek yogurt options!

The location of the hotel you can't beat. There are tons of restaurants and shops steps from the hotel that are all great with very reasonable prices, much cheaper than we expected. Biggest tip, go to the Ice Grill, they have the best Gyros & they are only 2 Euros and huge Greek Beers (500ML) for 2.5 Euros. Dinners there was less than $20! You are also close (2-3 blocks) from the hop on hop off bus tour and the metro.

Best of all the roof top deck! There is a bar that is open from 5:30pm - midnight. We were up here every night and had a lot of fun with the other hotel guests, drinking a little too much. It's a large deck so if you are near a loud crowd you can easily move away.

Great hotel for exploring the city for the price!

Room Tip: Don't stay on the 6th floor, you can hear people moving chairs on the rooftop if you are trying...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Samharts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DORINAPLAKA, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2011

Dear Guest,

Thanks for staying with us and for your review.
I am glad that you were satisfied with the quality and quantity of our breakfast and the marvelous view from the roof top.
We loved your picture from the hotel.
Thank you for your time to share your opinion on T.A

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2011

We have stayed in the Plaka Hotel several times both in the summer and the winter. It is in the Plaka which is the oldest (in recent terms) part of the city of Athens. We like it because it's clean, friendly, central and has a wonderful roof terrace with views of the Acropolis to die for!! The rooms are fairly recently refurbished, they are vere clean and some are spacious. If you don't mind walking in the Athens sun - all the famous museums are within walking distance of the hotel. Breakfast is included in the price - it is ok but not very varied. The staff are helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with Acropolis views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2011

The service was really good - the owner / manager was lovely and very helpful and took a real interest in her guests. Including allowing us to use her office to book flights on line. She also asked for views on the hotel in terms of what they could do differently - and this would be hard to improve on!
The bathroom needed upgrading but this is in hand.
The location was probably the best in Athens - everything was nearby. The rooftop terrace to sit of an evening should not be unterestimated in terms of peacefulness and views.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with upgraded bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yvonne_2305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DORINAPLAKA, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2011

Dear Guest,

We are very happy to know that your stay at the hotel was positive experience.
In our attempt to improve we surely value all the feedback we can get from our guests.
Hope to see you again.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2011

great location, surrounded by lots of shops and restaurants, friendly and helpful staff and the rooftop bar with its view of the acropolis is fantastic. if we ever go back to athens will definitely stay here again

Room Tip: ask for a room with view of the acropolis
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dubrover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#14 of 282 in Athens
3,943 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#10 of 282 in Athens
2,438 reviews
Plaka
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#15 of 282 in Athens
1,594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#30 of 282 in Athens
1,825 reviews
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Omonia
Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaka Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaka Hotel

Address: 7, Kapnikareas street and corner of Mitropoleos | Plaka / Acropolis / Syntagma / Monastiraki, Athens 105 56, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Athens
#7 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#11 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range: €55 - €174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Plaka Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Most central hotel situated in Plaka district. Strategically located for visiting all main archaeological interests especially the Acropolis and new Acropolis museum, as well as Ancient Agora, Parliament, first Olympic stadium, Benaki museum, Cycladic museum, National garden. Two streets only away from metro station Monastiraki, with direct line from the airport and the port of Piraeus. 50m from the main shopping street Ermou and Plaka touristic shopping area with taverns and bars. Splendid view of the Acropolis from roof terrace not to be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Plaka Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Hotel Plaka
Plaka Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing