We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best lamb shank ever - wonderful service”
Review of Lithos

Lithos
Ranked #19 of 2,836 Restaurants in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$35
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Psirri / Gazi
Description: Lithos is a Greek Tavern operating since 1996 Taste excellent greek food Located in the heart of Athens, area Psiri- (Historical Center of Athens) A convenient locatiion in the heart of Athens, next to Monastiraki , Ancient Agora and bordering with Plaka. It is a neighborhood of contrasts harmoniously blending the old with the new and rapidly turning into the Soho district of Athens near Monasteraki section of Athens Lithos Tavern is : Only few Blocks away from the Metro station Monastiraki and Only few blocks from Train station Thisio. Lithos serves from 5:30 PM at night until 12:00 AM in the evening every day Sunday serves noon from 13:00 open throughout the year. In the warmer months, you have the choice to either enjoy your dinner outside on the boardwalk Live music every Thursday, Friday, Saturday, Sunday and noon ---------------------------------------------------------------- For private functions and business meeting of any occasion and time of day, further to the main restaurant we have one unique separate dining area (Mesogeios). This neoclassical building (Mesogeios)was built in 1896 Our private dining room Mesogeios Is situated next to Lithos door . The room has its own bar and seats up to 65 guests for, lunch or dinner. ----------------------------------------------------------------
Reviewed 6 January 2016

Cosy and nice restaurant with excellent service. We tried the lamb shank with some red wine and it was awesome. Never had a better lamb shank before.
The service is patient and friendly and really takes care.
Clear recommendation!

Date of visit: January 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Torren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lithos P, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Lithos, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2016

What a great review. ;)
We thank you very much for visiting us und for giving your positive feedback.
We are happy to read that you enjoyed the quality of the service and the quality of the food
Our principal standards are the fresh quality of food and the quantity
Our staff take their roles in our industry very seriously and try, every day, to provide that quality customer service, that our guests expect.

we will be very glad to welcome you back in the future.
We wish you all the best.

Stavros Giannakis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,001)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,191 - 1,195 of 4,002 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2016

We had dinner twice in this restaurant during our 7 day visit of Athens. Both times the service was perfect. Very friendly waiters. The food is reasonably priced and very well prepared. I would definitely recommend you to visit this restaurant if you're in Athens.

Date of visit: December 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ThibautT_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lithos P, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Lithos, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2016

What a great review. ;)
Thanks for visiting us twice !!!
We thank you very much for visiting us und for giving your positive feedback.
We are happy to read that you enjoyed the quality of the service and the quality of the food
Our principal standards are the fresh quality of food and the quantity
Our staff take their roles in our industry very seriously and try, every day, to provide that quality customer service, that our guests expect.

we will be very glad to welcome you back in the future.
We wish you all the best.

Stavros Giannakis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2016 via mobile

Decent food- main dishes were nicely presented and tasted decent. Not particularly amazing but good. The desserts however were amazing! according to my friends who ate it, the honey feta is crispy on outside and warm and delicious inside. The chef's self made dessert with Greek yogurt and mascarpone cheese was given to my friends and I as a surprise after our meal. After a rough day, it definitely brightened our day! Also very delicious. Not sure it's on the menu but definitely ask for some if the chef is there!

Date of visit: December 2015
1  Thank eatxplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lithos P, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Lithos, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our local greek tavern your comments are very much valued.

Thank you so much for sharing your experience here

We hope to see you again in the future and wish you the very best.”

Best Regards,
Stavros Giannakis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2016

great Location great food great service
by far the best dinner in Athens
simple menu but tasty fresh .the waiters are very friendly
Recommended

Date of visit: January 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank levlexand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lithos P, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Lithos, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2016


Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor
We are happy to read that you enjoyed the quality of the service and the quality of the food
Our principal standards are the fresh quality of food and the quantity
We really appreciate your comments.
Our staff take their roles in our Restaurant very seriously and try, every day, to provide that quality customer service, that our guests expect.

Best Regards
Stavros Giannakis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2016 via mobile

We came early and the place was empty so my wife obviously goes "why is it empty?" But I insisted and it was worth it !!!!
Good ambiance , loved the food, and the music was also very appropriate.
The Zucchini croquettes were awesome.
Our waiter was very helpful ,and fun .
English chap.

Place is nice, cozy and reasonably priced.
Very Recommend.

Date of visit: January 2016
Thank michaeltO4734HX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lithos P, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Lithos, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Your comments are very much valued.
We really appreciate your comments.
Our staff take their roles in our industry very seriously and try, every day, to provide that quality customer service, that our guests expect.


Best Regards
Stavros Giannakis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Lithos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing