We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (951)
Filter reviews
951 results
Traveller rating
603
214
66
40
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
603
214
66
40
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beach bar the cottages outdoor shower fish sunset cottage beach vendors jet ski sand flies amazing views every meal kerry ann rustic charm steep hill the cliff main beach jolly beach resort turquoise sea
Filter
Updating list...
271 - 276 of 951 reviews
Reviewed 25 December 2015

My husband and I decided on an anniversary getaway this year and chose this spot. We stayed 4 nights in mid-Dec 2015. This was the perfect hotel for us. We prefer small, boutique hotels/resorts and this fit the bill. If you like the large luxury resorts with all of the extras this is not for you. There is no spa or gym and no TVs in the rooms or common areas. This is a peaceful, rustic and romantic place designed for couples. We took a cab from the airport ($24 US dollars one-way). It was an interesting 30 min drive. We were greeted upon arrival at CoCos and the check in process was rapid, we were on the beach in no time! We stayed in cottage 12, which was quite hike up the hill, but we didn't mind at all. The views were spectacular. Despite being rustic, the rooms do have air conditioning. We loved the outdoor shower. The bed was comfortable. We also used the insect deterants that were provided (spray your legs with off each evening before dusk, when mosquitos come out). There is a small refrigerator stocked with water, soft drinks and beer. If you like to have a robe, bring your own, none are provided. The beach is absolutely gorgeous and perfect for a morning run. In order to get a primo spot, get your towels and place them on your lounge chairs early! We didn't do any excursions since we were there for only a short time, instead, we stayed at the beach all day, lingering until sunset. which was gorgeous and different each night. The food was good, and like with any restaurant, some choices are better than others. For breakfast, we enjoyed the omelets, and the Friday special which featured local ingredients like plantain. The fruit was always ripe and tasty. Lunch was my favorite meal there. My husband enjoyed the soups, jerk chicken, and a special stew. I had the fresh fish almost daily-the snapper and butter fish were excellent. Dinner was hit and miss for us, everything was good, but nothing really stood out. The hotel staff were wonderful and did everything they could to accommodate our requests. I did try the Old fashioned rum drink the first day and that became my favorite. Be careful though, it is quite strong! Liquor selections were okay - good gin -Beefeater and Tanqueray-but vodka and tequila selections were not Top shelf.The wine selections were good though I doubt they will make Wine Spectator's Top 100. I enjoyed the Chardonnay from Chile, although I am not a big Chardonnay fan. My husband like the local Carib beer over the Wadidli. This destination brings a diversity of travelers, with couples from Germany, the UK, Italy, Sweden, Canada and the US, with a range of ages. Overall I highly recommend this hotel and destination to open-minded travelers seeking a quaint, serene, romantic getaway.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LRnative515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cocos_CARIBBEAN, Manager at COCOS Hotel Antigua, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2015

Dear Guests,

Many thanks for choosing to stay at COCOS Antigua - perfect, rustic, romantic escape, serene are the best descriptive words for our product.

We are very happy that you had a great romantic get-away and that you enjoyed the food, the beach, outdoor showers and all the other facilities.

It was a pleasure having you as our guests and look forward to hosting you soon.

Best wishes from the management and team members of COCOS Antigua.

Regards,

Shawn Doctor
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2015

We stayed here on our Honeymoon in September 2000 which I know is a long time back but the memories still remain!!
We had a cliff edge cottage overlooking the most gorgeous turquoise sea ever imaginable!
I can't comment on more up to date facts such as food/service etc but when we went it was all 100%.
What can't change is the beautiful position and surroundings all enhanced by mother nature herself.
Great position on Jolly Harbour Beach and within walking distance of Jolly Harbour amenities.
We are in Antigua for the day on New Years Day and will return to the beach area to bring back some of our memories of such a beautiful resort.

Room Tip: upgrade to sea view
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank KatomeriKaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cocos_CARIBBEAN, Manager at COCOS Hotel Antigua, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2015

Dear Guests,

Thank you for your review.

The gorgeous turquoise sea and beautiful views one could ever imagined are still here. So much has changed since your last visit but we can assure you that the product only got better.

We would love to have you as our guests again. Hoping to see you when you visit Antigua on your one day trip on New Years Day.

Best wishes for 2016.

Regards,

Shawn Doctor
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2015

The resort setting, beach and views are amazing, absolutely beautiful and this is what made our week so enjoyable. We have traveled to many of the Caribbean Islands and many different types of resorts over the years, but not yet to Antigua and had never tried a Boutique Resort. We were pleasantly surprised at how much we loved the Boutique style of Coco's Hotel and the beauty of Antigua.

The things that we loved about this resort were the resort's settting, beach setting, cottages and the service/staff. The Resort's setting is that of cottages on a hillside overlooking the most beautiful sea, lush vegetation surrounding and the most incredible views from every direction, it was just so stunning! The Cottages were rustic in style but spacious with a wonderful balcony to enjoy, a hammock, always very clean and with an outdoor shower that was surrounded by pretty potted plants, dark stained wood and a view to die for. The Beach was such a beautiful beach setting, the Palm trees, butterflies, flowers and vegetation, the gorgeous colors of the sea and the sailboats and mountains dotted along the horizon was the prettiest beach setting we have ever experienced. The small yellow butterflies that would come from the treetops and flutter accross beach.....so amazing to watch. The service was usually very good, the staff were all excellent, warm and friendly and did their jobs well. We really felt the staff's hospitality and wanting to make sure we were enjoying our stay.

There were a few things areas needing improvement. We had a negative first impression upon arrival due to our experience with the bellman which is too bad because this is the guests' first impression. The water and electricity went out a couple of times, which didn't bother us, but it did for others. Hot water was unavailable for some cottages for days (our cottage was not affected, if it was, I wouldn't have been so happy with our stay). Food was usually very good, however it did get tiresome as more choices are needed. At first the cocktails were not very good, but the bartenders were willing to learn how we liked them and then by the end of the week they knew how to make a couple of new cocktails and they were delicious! More of a selection and a better supply would be great in this area (as there were many times they would run out of things we asked for). Beach service is needed (out of the week only 2 or 3 times we had beach service, which would be a valuable amenity at a resort such as this with such amazing service, except this one area where there is no service). Lastly, this was a 20th anniversary trip for us and there was no small gesture from the hotel acknowledging our celebration until we were checking out, when it was mentioned I look too young to be married 20 years. We have gone on several trips over the years to celebrate our wedding anniversaries and every resort has always acknowledged by way of a small gesture (bottle of wine, fruit basket, special dinner seating, or something in like).

Would we go back? Absolutely. I only rated this resort experience a 4 not a 5 due to some issues that I think the resort needs to work out. There were many other guests however that didn't have as good experience as we did, if we had the same problems as they did, we probably wouldn't have had such an enjoyable vacation and I would be writing a different review. But, we had a wonderful time and loved our stay and Antigua is now one of our favorite islands in the Caribbean.

Stayed: December 2015
Thank ShabbieChicBaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cocos_CARIBBEAN, Manager at COCOS Hotel Antigua, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2015

Dear Guests,

Thank you for such a detailed and valuable review of your stay at COCOS Antigua. We are very pleased with your description of our hotel - beach absolutely beautiful, amazing view to die for, great hospitality from the staff.

Thank you for your recommendations on areas for improvement. Your feedback is appreciated and valued as it can only make our product better. Please accept our apologies for the inconveniences experienced during our stay.

We are sorry to learn that the beach service that we offer daily did not meet your expectations as it would appear that the service was inconsistent. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.

Thank you for choosing to stay at COCOS Antigua. It was a pleasure serving you as our guests and we look forward to an early return.

Best wishes from the management and team members of COCOS Antigua.

Regards,

Shawn Doctor
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2015

Beautiful Hotel, Beautiful People, Beautiful Honeymoon
They always (except at tea time) catered for my vegetarian diet, allowed me to make pre orders and they would try their best to meet my needs. Lovely breakfast with daily menus. We went for all inclusive and by day 10 we were a little fed up as they did have just one restaurant, but you could always eat out if you wanted to with jolly harbour resort hotel just a short walk away. I would not recommend the boat ride to barbuda as it was extremely rocky and by the time you got there you felt too nauseas to notice the pink sand, but maybe some would disagree. The Beach is heavenly , the pool is poor, hardly saw anyone in it but with the beautiful beach right there who needs the pool!? Our room was a pool view one but we decided not to upgrade as this room type was the only one with indoor showers.

The staff could not be more friendly and polite, always ensuring they met your needs, nothing was too much trouble!
Yoga on the beach was amazing! If only it was more often.
Plenty of water sports available, but we spent most of our time relaxing in the serenity of the beach, with the bartenders coming to take our orders at convenient times.
I would recommend this hotel to honeymooners, and couples who just want a relaxing break without distractions.

Just one downside as feedback to the staff, at tea time there was never a meat/fish free sandwich available for me even though I requested it a few times. So please make sure you cater for vegetarians! Nonetheless I survived since I was always full with the all inclusive.

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Saadia123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cocos_CARIBBEAN, Manager at COCOS Hotel Antigua, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2015

Dear Guests,

Thank you for your review of your honeymoon experience at COCOS Antigua Hotel. Your description of your stay - beautiful hotel, beautiful people and beautiful honeymoon is very good and fitting.

We are happy to know that your needs were met and that you enjoyed your stay. We appreciate your feedback and note your recommendations for a vegetarian option at tea time and will correct this matter.

Best wishes from the management and team members of COCOS Antigua. We thank you for choosing to our Hotel for your honeymoon. Hoping to see you soon.

Regards,
Shawn Doctor
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2015

The one-line review: this is the most wonderful, beautiful, welcoming and relaxing place I've ever been.

The detail: Every aspect of Cocos is perfect, if what you're looking for is a friendly, rustic, natural, calming and comfortable holiday in paradise.

Location-wise, the place is incredible. A collection of bungalows mounted on a cliff / bluff, completed by a bar / reception / restaurant and gorgeous private beach, it's the antidote to the self-catering apartments & resorts that seem to pepper the Caribbean. The views are perfect, and while there is some uphill walking required if you're in a room at the top, the views are worth it. Watching the sun sink into the sea behind Montserrat is one of the most sublime experiences I've ever had, and just writing that out made me wish I was back.

It's the perfect place for couples - secluded, romantic and luxurious. One of the best things about Cocos is the fact it oozes character, from the brilliantly helpful and warm staff to the homely wooden decor and local food. There's a gorgeous atmosphere of indulgence draped over the place (probably because the food seems endless and the quality bar never seems to close), and within minutes of arriving we found ourselves slowing down, breathing deeper and smiling broadly.

The rooms are simple - huge, comfortable bed, balcony with a jaw-dropper of a view and... that's it. Wifi is average at best. But the minibar is always stocked with frosty beers, and that's much more important. You'll wake up with the morning sun and see the most incredible view without even pulling the mosquito nets back.

The beach is great, too - there's a bar open until the evening serving soft and hard drinks, and you'll be served whatever you want whenever you want. The staff are always happy to help, and that became a recurring theme - it wasn't like we had a load of servants scurrying around to cater to our whims, more like a happy team of proud people who wanted to ensure their guests had as good a time as possible. It's an important distinction to make, and the quality of service here is second to none.

There's too much to really put in one review. We spent one of the best weeks of our lives here and can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
12  Thank Ben P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cocos_CARIBBEAN, Manager at COCOS Hotel Antigua, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2015

Dear Guests,

Greetings from COCOS Antigua.

Many thanks for such a positive and vibrant review of your vacation. We are delighted that COCOS Antigua is the most wonderful place you have ever been and that your vacation experience was one of the best weeks of your lives.

Your review has made the team at COCOS Antigua happier and we are confident that you will return to our beautiful, welcoming and relaxing place.

It was indeed a pleasure to have you as our guests.

Best wishes from the management and team members. Take care and see you soon.

Shawn Doctor
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews