We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Makeover”
Review of El Gusto

El Gusto
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 27 February 2017 via mobile

We have been using this restaurant for a number of years and by and large the food has always been very good. Fish and Chips, Gambas pil pil, steaks and Sunday lunches are all good. The terrace is a great meeting place during the day and an ideal spot for people watching. The restaurant itself was always a little dark and perhaps univiting, but after the recent makeover this has all changed. Bright, airy and lively , there is now a real warmth to the place that makes you feel part of something a bit different . Even the staff in their turquoise Hawaiian style shirts are a friendly lot. Look out for Danny the Robbie Williams lookalike. He's quite a hoot. It's advisable to book Thursday through Sunday but well worth a visit. La Cala now boasts a host of fine eating houses. This I feel is amongst the best.

Date of visit: February 2017
Thank 211kith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (944)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

330 - 334 of 944 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2017

We always end any trip to La Cala with dinner in El Gusto. The waiters are all very professional and the food is always top class. Go for a walk on the beach beforehand to build up your appetite.

Date of visit: February 2017
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2017 via mobile

Fantastic food,lovely staff would certainly recommend that you book in advance as it's so popular ( even on a February night).

Date of visit: February 2017
Thank taraken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2017

Was old Spanish now very modern, staff seem much nicer. Food was always and still is good. Thai curr, salmon, French onion soup all very good.

Date of visit: February 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Pedrohome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2017

This was my second visit to this lovely restaurant, but this time we were inside, the best place to be on a wet February Sunday. The refurb works really well, with modern new décor. The house wine is excellent and is served in stylish big glasses. We shared houmous and pitta and garlic prawns to start. The menu is extensive and a carvery main course was also on offer, but I much preferred the à la carte options. My sister liked the tagliatelle and I loved the sea bass main with champ on the side. Every mouthful was wonderful. We couldn't manage a dessert, such a shame when we saw some fantastic offerings passing our table. A fantastic dinner on a busy day with great, friendly service, many thanks.

Date of visit: February 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank lottie03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Gusto also viewed

La Cala de Mijas, Mijas
La Cala de Mijas, Mijas
 
La Cala de Mijas, Mijas
La Cala de Mijas, Mijas
 
La Cala de Mijas, Mijas
La Cala de Mijas, Mijas
 

Been to El Gusto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing