We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sweet and quaint B&B in gace”
Review of Le Rocher

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gace
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Le Rocher
Ranked #1 of 1 Gace B&B and Inns
Reviewed 10 June 2017

Yes, the rooms are not huge and the bathrooms are small but it is the charm and friendliness of the place and the owners that draw you in. You must be able to negotiate stairs. The breakfast was nice and did the trick. We only stayed one night as were traveling on but this former hunting lodge has been lovingly restored with blend of both old and new to make for comfortable stay. Thanks Graham.

Room Tip: Looked like all the rooms were pretty much the same. Ask the owner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank dltaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (29)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 29 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2017 via mobile

A surprising and unique spot, decorated (recently refurbished) with so much love and care, delicious breakfast with rhubarb jam from the garden, beautiful music - even in the garden, soft beds. Highly recommended.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Nomen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2016

This B/B chambre d'hôte is run by two middle aged men.
Don't dare mention to the owner the uncomfortable bed or the tiny cubicle shower which overflows or the noisy macerator WC that you will hesitate to flush at night or risk waking up the whole household ! (All rooms have the same type).
Any (constructive) criticism will be abruptly and rudely rebuffed and you will not be welcome in the establishment.
The English owner only wants positive comments !

Room Tip: Room 1 gives onto main road. All 4 rooms have tiny shower cubicle & washbasin and a macerator wc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank ProfTip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2016

We stopped here for one night on our way back from Barcelona, and will stop again when we drive through France. A very friendly welcome, great rooms and exceptional breakfast. Plus Douglas the dog! Add it to your itinerary.

Room Tip: Book to ensure you get a room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B5907JVmichaela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2015

My wife and I stayed overnight in Mid October. Graham and Robert welcomed us as old friends and we thought
we were lucky to find Le Rocher. The room was great and the bed comfortable. They have restored both house
and garden to their high standards. When I went to the car early the next morning, I spied the croissants ready to go into the oven. Breakfast was great and sadly we were on our way.

John and Debra Parkes

Stayed: October 2015
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Le Rocher? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Rocher

Address: Route de Rouen, 61230 Gace, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Orne > Gace
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Gace
Price Range: €65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Effortless hospitality and the balance between heritage and modern living make Le Rocher a unique Bed & Breakfast experience. Le Rocher was built in 1927 by a Parisien family the Maureys as a hunting lodge; it is perfectly nestled in the stunning valley where the family would hunt wild boar and deer. The house has a certain local notoriety and when built caused quite a stir because of its style which is not typical of the region and the type of building materials used. The name Le Rocher "the rock" refers to the rare volcanic material used in its construction and is to this day the subject of study by local schools. Le Rocher continues to evolve and we enjoy sharing our home and its development with our guests. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing