We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfectly decent little hotel for the price”
Review of Seculo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Seculo Hotel
Ranked #39 of 108 Hotels in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 October 2010

We stayed here just one night and it was fine. The room was spacious and clean and had all we needed. The staff were lovely, friendly and helpful. Its a bit of a walk to the tourist area but only 4 stops by nearby metro, so easy enough. I doubt Id want to spend a week here, but for an overnight stay we were quite happy. Big bonus is free off-road parking. For what we paid we thought it was fine.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank guysmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (334)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

52 - 56 of 334 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2009

Stayed in this hotel come bed& breakfast,situated at the top of Oporto with a 20 minute walk to the river and 30 minutes back,superb location,staff extremely helpful and if it was not for them would have missed a lot.They organised the cruise up the douro for me which is a "must".www.douroazul.pt. nothing but praise for this place very clean.

  • Stayed: May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank milesawayAlgarve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2008

Have been in Porto for a thousand times, but never found the best stay for the price.

When I arrived at the Seculo, I was instantly captured by the kindness and attention offered by the Manager. He asked apologies for having to put me in the smallest room for that night. I was installed in fact in a small room, but with a great bed, acclimatization, private terrace (yes, very big and on the top floor, with a great view) and WC. Some noise at the morning due to the elevator, but nothing important.

A colleague of mine joined two days after, informing the hotel the night before and they were full, but nevertheless had an apartment in the next building. Also great! The night after they put us in two large rooms with couple's bed and even bigger WCs, all in perfect conditions and cleanness. My girlfriend joined me and didn't pay a thing, as they said it was an "attention for the troubles of room changing" (what troubles?!). They took care of everything, put an extra heater (air conditioning failed after a thunder) on the room and extra blankets at my request. We had great, very quiet rooms with good view.

Breakfast is modest but doesn't lack anything, including great service from the employee.

As it's placed in Santa Catarina, shops are just down the street, Metro's right up or down, bus' right there. Private and secure free parking for the car. Free internet on the courtesy computer and wifi on the lowest floors.

My selection for Porto from now on!

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank DinoAraujo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed yesterday
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Riccardo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank Alexandfre O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
2.7 km away
Quality Inn Portus Cale
Quality Inn Portus Cale
#42 of 108 in Porto
423 reviews
0.7 km away
The Artist Porto Hotel & Bistro
2.6 km away
Ibis Porto Sao Joao
Ibis Porto Sao Joao
#37 of 108 in Porto
814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Residencia LIS B&B and Parking
0.9 km away
Hotel Sao Jose
Hotel Sao Jose
#61 of 108 in Porto
367 reviews
1.3 km away
Quality Inn Porto
Quality Inn Porto
#46 of 108 in Porto
1,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seculo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seculo Hotel

Address: Rua de Santa Catarina 1256, Porto 4000-447, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Porto
#21 Family Hotel in Porto
Price Range: €53 - €95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Seculo Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Booking.com so you can book your Seculo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seculo Residencial Porto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing