We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt very authentic to us.”
Review of Taberna Do Doutor

Taberna Do Doutor
Ranked #182 of 2,114 Restaurants in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Portuguese
Restaurant details
Reviewed 9 September 2018

We stumbled upon Taverna Do Doutor because it was a short walk from our hotel. The menu was simple with various fish and meat plates. We were the only non-Portuguese people in the place. The waiter was polite and tolerate of us (english speaking tourist). For starters we had the spicy assorted meats and chicken gizzards. Both were very tasty. We also had the grilled Sea Bass (served whole) and the sliced steak. The sea bass was very good. The steak was served rare. It was tough but tasty. The value was excellent! We will remember this place as the most authentic Portuguese restuarant of our 6 day stay in Portugal.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DSolar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (332)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6 - 10 of 332 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2018 via mobile

Good value restaurant, friendly staff and nice food.

Wasn’t busy when we went so it was easy to find a table.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Gav H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2018

In a time where every days open new foreign restaurants, it feels nice to find a typical Porto restaurante. Good and simple food, with various fish and meat plates, all cooked as portugueses want. And the employees are also very friendly, like if they already know you...once again, typical for portugueses.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank micahen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2018 via mobile

Only 150 meters from the tourist tracks, and a great finding! Simple but excellent food in big enough variety, local dishes and a big wine sortiment for reasonable price. Perfect service.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank ZsigmondR1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2018

This was a very nice find. We were looking for something near the hotel without needing being too much on the tourist trail. This place was friendly, efficient (not rushed) and most important the food was great. Go visit!

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Neil_from_Walton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Taberna Do Doutor also viewed

Porto, Porto District
 
Porto, Porto District
Porto, Porto District
 

Been to Taberna Do Doutor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing