We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (509)
Filter reviews
509 results
Traveller rating
324
126
31
18
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
324
126
31
18
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews roman bath pedestrian street great location dining table and chairs small wardrobe nice bedroom steam room and sauna kitchen area on arrival fourth floor the river great recommendations reception staff breakfast room is full kitchen near the train station central location
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 509 reviews
Reviewed 6 November 2018

Was not a fan of the hotel. loved the location, though! Do not believe I would return. Our room was on the 5th floor. There was no direct elevator access, but, still ok. Our room has something that looked like it was a submarine. No idea what that was. I think the hotel needs to do some revamping.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dosumeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2018

I imagine different people will have a different experience at this hotel depending on which building their room is in. We were in the Studio rooms right at the back of the property which were very quiet - no traffic noise at all. There was a little noise during the day from construction in the area but nothing too intrusive. The room was huge and very clean - slightly plain and lacking in character though and one gripe was that there was no bedside table on my side of the bed.

But the best thing about our stay was David on Reception who, when we arrived, gave us masses of information on where to go and what to see. We followed his advice over the next two days and because of him had a marvellous time and really felt we had seen the best bits of the city.

One word of warning - the wine bar behind reception (which apparently is run separately from the hotel) charges very high prices for drinks. We felt a bit stung after we returned to the hotel and ordered a brandy and Madeira wine.

Room tip: Studio rooms were quiet
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank AliceCristal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2018

This hotel is in a perfect location for walking everywhere in Porto. The street it is on is really nice, is pedestrian only for much of the day and has several very good restaurants. Yes, it is a touristy street, and yes there is some noise at night, but you cannot have it all ways round - if you want to be in the centre of a city you will not get silence! We were in a 4th floor room facing the street. The buskers all stopped promptly at 10pm. One night was very noisy with celebrating students roaming the whole city, but hardly the fault of the hotel. For more peace I would suggest asking for a room/suite overlooking the garden. The garden itself is lovely, very peaceful and unusual for a hotel in the city centre, just right for relaxing after sightseeing. The hotel is very nicely decorated, the staff incredibly helpful and knowledgeable about the city, and we felt it had a lovely atmosphere. Breakfast is good but not outstanding. My only criticism of our room is lack of storage space - one small wardrobe and no drawers at all. However, the room was spotlessly clean, as was the bathroom, the bed large and very comfortable, and the bed linen luxurious. Overall we really liked this hotel and would have absolutely no hesitation in recommending it and would certainly return if we go back to Porto.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelfamily2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2018

This is a complex of several interconnected properties. The one with the breakfast hall is the most impressive. The main entrance is on one of the very busy streets in the intensively tourist frequented center. Friendly receptionist (Patricia) but then a trek to our suite in the back of the complex : elevator/corridors/through the garden/ two stone stairs
in garden and another to climb into building with more stairs to our large suite. All without ramps and my age (75) and heavy suitcase. We appreciated the large suite with separate bedroom.

Room tip: There must be many varieties within these interconnected houses.
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kikaan1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2018 via mobile

the building is nice, and the central location was what attracted me in the first place but theres a very noisy street outside and ALL of the noise comes into the rooms. Impossible to sleep well spoilt the trip. Breakfast pretty average too. There is better value out there in this price bracket.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews