We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great local restaurant”

Restaurante Augusto
Ranked #80 of 2,115 Restaurants in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Reviewed 28 May 2018

We had dinner at Augusto on a recommendation from our BnB for Portuguese food and it was fantastic. We showed up on a Monday evening without reservations and had to wait 15 to 20 minutes but we are glad we did. The place was packed and it appeared that a lot of them were locals, which is always a good sign. They serve a number of fixed menu items, fish or meat and the price includes soup, bread and your choice of water or wine. Our group of 4 tried items from the fish and meat side of the menu and the food was excellent. Service by the 2 very busy and hardworking waiters was also excellent. Even though there was a lineup at the door, we were never rushed thru our meal.

The restaurant is away from the main tourist areas but worth the effort getting to. We found the prices amazingly low, which goes to show you how over priced "tourist" restaurants can be.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TwitchyEdmonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (466)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

18 - 22 of 466 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2018 via mobile

Be sure to make a stop by this place. The food and service were perfect. The clams were delicious and the fish was good too.
Thank you!

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank IrishAurel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018 via mobile

The food was amazing and super cheap, soup + main (a lot of food) + wine for 8,50€ at lunch time, really recommend it amd the place looks very very nice inside, quite artsy

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank George B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2018

My partner and I have just had a meal at this lovely restaurant. You can choose your main meal from the fish menu or meat menu. Soup is served first with lovely crusty bread and a choice of red or white wine or mineral water. I had the Hake fillet and my partner was undecided between the traditional sausage or rissols. The waiter gave him one of each. The wine was really nice and all for €9.50 My partner had a dessert and another wine and we both had a small coffee with milk all this for €24 absolute bargain and delicious. The waiter was so helpful too. Will be back before the end of our trip

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank xAnn2002x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2018 via mobile

Our waiter Paul made this a great experience. Perfect service. Soup was average but the veal was amazing. The deserts great too. All washed down with a tasty local red and local brandy to boot. Would go back in a heart beat.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank Ashley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurante Augusto also viewed

 
Porto, Porto District
 

Been to Restaurante Augusto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing