We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Destinia.com
Trip.com
ZenHotels.com
Expedia.com
Booking.com
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (355)
Filter reviews
355 results
Traveller rating
329
18
7
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
329
18
7
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews this wonderful boutique hotel lovely little hotel small hotel stone walls douro valley living room bed and breakfast breakfast was delicious stayed for nights opposite bank french doors thoroughly enjoyed our stay historic building explore porto fantastic location guest house each morning
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 355 reviews
Reviewed 3 June 2021

To qualify, we haven’t yet stayed at the hotel (our visit to Porto delayed by Covid19 lockdown ), however, we had some very frustrating issues regarding the booking platform we used to book this hotel. Without going into the details of our issue, what become a very upsetting and frustrating issue for us was resolved by Carolina who went above and beyond to help solve our issue ( which had absolutely nothing to do with the Hotel or it’s staff!).

It goes without saying that we are looking forward to visting Porto and staying at 1872 River House and meeting Carolina to give her our personal thanks face to face.

Thank you once again Carolina.

Date of stay: May 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PandSTeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 September 2020 via mobile

Extremely pleasant small, 8 room, bed and breakfast that looks directly out over the river.
As mentioned in other reviews the rooms are not ideal for those with lots of luggage, there is very limited hanging or storage space. The rooms can get hot if you do not like air-conditioning, or noisy from the nearby restaurants if you wish to have the windows open.
Having said that great place to stay if you dont want to be in a bland corporate style hotel.
Very attentive and helpful staff are available during the day.
There seems to be a modern trend though now-a-days to sometimes over do the "customer service", no doubt as a result of over americanising, one can get fed up of being constantly asked if everything is to one's satisfaction.

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank krokodil1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 September 2020 via mobile

This Guest House is superb along with the service all the staff provided.
Nothing is too much.
It is in a great location and is ideal for a holiday or City break.
Rooms are very comfortable as is the whole place.
Breakfast was superb with great service along with making sure your every requirement was catered for.
Christina you made our trip even more special.
The sightseeing tips you provided were great and saved a lot of time. Along with the trip you organised for us to the Douro Valley. Highlight of our trip.
Your recommendations for restaurants were also top notch.
Porto goes to the top of our City trips. The friendly people, great Guest House, absolutely great staff and fantastic city and of course Christina.
Thanks for making it all so special.

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank bobj297
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa Aguiar, Proprietário at 1872 River House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2020

Dear Bob and Gina, we don't have any words to describe how happy we are with this review! You are very special and we truly hope to have you with us one day! We wish you all the best! With a lot of love, 1872 River House Team ❤

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2020 via mobile

We had two wonderful nights staying at the River House, staff were delightful, room was exceptional overlooking the river and breakfast was delicious. Couldn’t recommend it more. Will be back it’s a great location close to the vibrant waterfront cafes etc

Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank E8061TJstephenc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa Aguiar, Proprietário at 1872 River House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2020

Dear Stephen, thank you so much for your kind words! ❤ It really means a lot to us! We truly hope to see you again. Kindly, 1872 River House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2020 via mobile

Couldn't fault this place. Quirky rooms in a fantastic location by the river. Breakfast was plentiful and delicious. The staff were friendly and obliging- from facilitating a late check-in to great restaurant recommendations to a little surprise for our wedding anniversary. Bed was comfortable, shower was great, room beautifully decorated. Would stay again in a heartbeat!

Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank sbrpk
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teresa Aguiar, Proprietário at 1872 River House, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2020

Dear Sarah, Thank you SO much for this lovely review! It was a true pleasure to welcome you and explain all the history of our home and give you our best recommendations... We truly hope you come back! Kindly, 1872 River House team ❤

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews