We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (420)
Filter reviews
420 results
Traveller rating
274
119
18
4
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
274
119
18
4
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews art school tasting menu training hotel hospitality school catering school hotel run amazing meal quiet area poached pear baked apple beautiful design main restaurant room was large direct line minute walk downhill recommend this hotel spoke excellent english
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 420 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Wow, I never take the time to write reviews to be completely honest, but I had to make an exception this time.
I highly recommend this Hotel for many reasons:
-The restaurant is run by culinary school students, so you get a gourmet selection of meals for a very reasonable price!
-The room was very nice and had everything I needed. It actually looked better than the pictures!
-They give a smart phone to each guest to use while you stay there (yes, really!) You can make phone calls, check Google Maps, take one of the walking tours, call a cab etc
-The staff was extremely friendly and resourceful.
-Good location, very close to the city center without the noise or traffic.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aizenman2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheArtistBistro P, Gestor de Front Office at The Artist Porto Hotel & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear aizenman2018,
Thank you so much for sharing with us your experience on The Artist Porto Hotel & Bistrô. It was a pleasure welcoming you in our hotel!
Thank you for your constructive suggestions, which we have taken good note of, as we strive to continuously improve our service and facilities.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Porto and to have the possibility to improve your opinion about our hotel.
Best regards,
Ricardo Serdoura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel, formerly an Art School, offers large rooms which are very comfortable. The hotel offers smart phones with self guided tour and mapping of the city and landmarks, Wi-Fi and calling capabilities which you can take with you throughout the day as your personal concierge. Our favorite aspect of this hotel is the wonderful breakfast, and Jorge, the manager and his staff. They went out of their way to help us and make our stay in Porto a great one !!!! Can’t say enough good things about Jorge !!!!

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
Thank ccdoestheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheArtistBistro P, Gestor de Front Office at The Artist Porto Hotel & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear ccdoestheworld,
Thank you so much for sharing with us your experience on The Artist Porto Hotel & Bistrô. It was a pleasure welcoming you in our hotel!
We appreciate your feedback, which we have taken good note of, as we strive to continuously improve our facilities and our service. We are particularly happy to know that our staff assisted in making your stay a memorable one and we will ensure to share your feedback with the team.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Porto.
Best regards,
Ricardo Serdoura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Its an excellent hotel- rooms have very good size.
You are greeted with a glass of 10 yr old Tawny .Handed over a mobile for your stay - You can use it during your stay for free accessing google maps and the internet all you want. You also get 30 mins international call free. The hotel has students who work their and they certainly do a good job of helping you make travel arrangement, choose places to eat , where to go to - they also try and understand your preferences and make sure they give you relevant advise.
Last but not the least, Ricardo the reception manager requires a special mention !

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ameckm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheArtistBistro P, Gestor de Front Office at The Artist Porto Hotel & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear anannya m,
Thank you so much for sharing with us your experience on The Artist Porto Hotel & Bistrô. It was a pleasure welcoming you in our hotel!
We appreciate your feedback, which we have taken good note of, as we strive to continuously improve our facilities and our service. We are particularly happy to know that our staff assisted in making your stay a memorable one and we will ensure to share your feedback with the team.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Porto.
Best regards,
Ricardo Serdoura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

If clean bathrooms are your thing, look elsewhere. Our bathroom had dirty rough towels, leaking shower, and moldy grout. On the other hand, the rooms are enormous and good value for money. This is probably because it is a bit further away from the main tourist attractions. The room itself was clean and was well decorated.

Room Tip: Check the bathroom after you enter your room and ask for another room if you're bothered
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EricSeattle1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheArtistBistro P, Gestor de Front Office at The Artist Porto Hotel & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear EricSeattle1313,
Thank you so much for sharing with us your experience on The Artist Porto Hotel & Bistrô. It was a pleasure welcoming you in our hotel!
We apologize if our service didn't achive your expectations. We have taken note of your comments on this matter and we appreciate the opinion you shared with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Porto and to have the possibility to improve your opinion about our hotel.
Best regards,
Ricardo Serdoura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2018 via mobile

The staff at this hotel, particularly Jorge, went above and beyond to help us enjoy Porto. They were friendly, very knowledgeable, and accommodating. Something the hotel does which is very cool is that it lends you a pre-programmed Android phone. It has walking tours, a direct line to the front desk, and Google Maps (Porto has city WiFi).

And of course the hotel was clean and quiet.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Maura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheArtistBistro P, Gestor de Front Office at The Artist Porto Hotel & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Maura M,
Thank you so much for sharing with us your experience on The Artist Porto Hotel & Bistrô. It was a pleasure welcoming you in our hotel!
We are particularly happy to know that our staff assisted in making your stay a memorable one and we will ensure to share your feedback with the team. We are also very pleased to know that our GuestU phone was useful for you.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Porto.
Best regards,
Ricardo Serdoura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews