We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Doesn't look like much from the outside but it's great!!”
Review of O Buraco

O Buraco
Ranked #218 of 2,113 Restaurants in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Portuguese
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 21 January 2018

We went here based on reviews. They went wrong!!

Food was very flavourful. Large quantities.

The staff were characters that really added to the ambiance.

We loved the curried chicken, the fried sardines, rice and beans.

Will definitely go back!!

Oh! And the prices were good.

Date of visit: January 2018
1  Thank Jo-Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (732)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

30 - 34 of 734 reviews

Reviewed 17 December 2017

I had read about this restaurant in the Lonely Planet Porto handbook and was so glad that I had. It was even better than I had expected. Serving traditional Potugese food and frequented by locals, staff friendly and portions generous. Get there early as it fills up quickly and it is not possible to make reservations. The best food I eat in Porto.

Date of visit: December 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Gwyneth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2017

The old man is kind but be careful when he gives you the bill,chek it twice and when he return the rest of your money, the young man is honest!

Date of visit: November 2017
Thank 871MONAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017 via mobile

The food in the restaurant was nothing special. The dissapointed bit was that they charged us for entrances we didn’t ordered so At the end we end up paying more than what we should. The owner was bargain the bill.

Date of visit: October 2017
Thank lidia_tully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017

Last nigh5 we had roast veal with sautéed veggies and roast potatoes. It was really good and cost only 7€. The server was helpful and quick and the owner seemed genuinely hopeful that we liked.it. We went back tonight and were not disappointed. It’s best to get there by 7:30 otherwise you’ll have to line up.

Date of visit: October 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Sidney T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed O Buraco also viewed

Porto, Porto District
Porto, Porto District
 
Porto, Porto District
 
Porto, Porto District
 

Been to O Buraco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing