We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (930)
Filter reviews
930 results
Traveller rating
249
521
119
23
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
249
521
119
23
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nice hotel free wifi good size city centre casa de musica bus stop family room taxis are cheap bunk beds business hotel tea and coffee making facilities buffet breakfast rooms were very clean minute walk hotel room old city hop on hop
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 930 reviews
Reviewed 2 November 2018

We stayed here for five nights and could not really fault this hotel. The staff were pleasant and thorough and they appeared to be forever cleaning or tidying up.
The help yourself breakfast bar is fantastic even sparkling wine available for a bucks fizz.
This was replenished repeatedly.
The room was large and very comfortable and the kettle and coffee etc. was very welcome,the only surprise here was that the milk was not replenished after the first morning Spar shop within walking distance.
There are plenty of restaurants, cafes and bars within walking distance and the Metro a good ten minutes away . A quiet and safe area .

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nigel57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2018

The hotel was lovely. Everyone was very friendly, the room was big enough and clean. Would have been nice to have towel racks in the bathroom, but it was not a big problem for us. The hotel is a bit out of the city centre, but we liked it as it was much more quiet there and the walk was not long at all.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tauri V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2018

I and my pal arrived at the Oporto train station during a National taxi strike. We had no idea where the hotel was from the station. We have 2 large bags and we are both mid-70's. We phoned the hotel to see if they could arrange for a car to collect us. First try the phone was answered with a grunt. I had to ask twice if it was the Ipanema Porto hotel. Yes, it was. I asked about the car and the response was NO. I tried once more, similar response despite saying that we expected to pay for this service. Eventually we made it to the hotel including a lift in a car and a ride on a very busy bus. That journey took almost as long as the train ride from Lisbon. When we checked in I reported my displeasure concerning the 2 phone conversations with the hotel. I even checked that the phone number I had called was the correct one. I was informed that we would have been told to use the bus to get there. They couldn't have arranged for a car to pick us up.

Apart from that terrible start, the rooms were quite spacious and clean. There was a good size bar that had a snack menu and a large restaurant where a buffet breakfast and buffet dinner were available. Choice of dishes was quite good.

There was a bus stop just opposite the hotel where most buses take you into the city centre. It was probably just as well that the City of Oporto was so beautiful that it almost erased the horror of our arrival.

It transpired that we could book a tour with reception and, I suspect, we could have booked a limo with reception. So, the question remains as to why they couldn't arrange for us to be picked up at the railway station. They had our booking details and were expecting us so, apart from a really bad attitude to customer service, there was no excuse.

Room tip: The Reception was poor. The staff in the restaurant & bar were very good.
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarbaraPMoreira, Guest Relations Manager at HF Ipanema Porto, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2018

Dear Tim,
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your comments. We are very disappointed to realize that we have not been able to meet your expectations as far as our staff is concerned, even because most of the clients make very positive criticisms of them. There has actually been a taxi strike and the Hotel can not be held liable for it. We were advising all the clients at check in and giving due help to all who checked out. Since I do not know what happened when you called with us, I can only see that my colleagues had no way and no means to help you because there were almost no taxis at work. So, it was suggested for you to come by bus since the stop is right outside the door of the Hotel.
We hope to do better on your next visit and any questions please feel free to contact us.
Kind regards,
Bárbara Moreira
HF Quality & Customer Relationship Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2018

Spent a couple of nights at Ipanema Porto. Front desk were not friendly and didn't give a welcome service. Bar staff however were very good. Rooms were clean and comfortable and gave free wifi. Breakfast was busy but selection OK. Didn't eat in the restaurant, however there is a good selection of restaurants just behind the hotel in an area called Boavista, around Praca Mousinho Albuqerque, about 5 mins walk. Walking into Porto itself takes about 35 mins to get to the centre. A lot longer coming back as its all up hill.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank lynneandkeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarbaraPMoreira, Guest Relations Manager at HF Ipanema Porto, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2018

Dear Guest,
Many thanks for your preference and time for leaving your feedback. We were extremely pleased to hear that, general, we met your expectations!
I really regret that your satisfaction has not been full in terms of the care of our reception employees. We will take steps to find out what has happened since most of our customers greatly appreciate the hospitality of all the staff.
Best regards,
Bárbara Moreira
HF Quality & Customer Relationship Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2018 via mobile

Spent 3 nights on a short city break. Hotel was nice and clean, room ok with most of facilities you need including free WiFi. Breakfast was nice however it was very busy at times. Bar staff friendly.
Major downside was it's location. It's a long way to walk into the centre of Porto and even worse walking back up, especially at night. Not pleasant when dark, best to take taxis.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank lynnenick52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarbaraPMoreira, Guest Relations Manager at HF Ipanema Porto, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2018

Dear Guest,
Thanks in advance for your preference and the time you spent sharing your comments, which we will pass on to the entire team. :)
We regret that the location has not been to your liking. We would like to reinforce that the HF Ipanema Porto, despite not being in the historical center, is located in a central area of Porto and close to other tourist attractions such as the Casa da Música, the Botanical Garden and the Serralves Museum with the wonderful gardens and great exhibitions. We are well connected by a good transport network, including the Oporto metro, from where you can go to the historic center of the city in a short time. It has a fantastic road where you can walk, run, ride a bike (the hotel has bicycles available for rent) and in 10 minutes you will be in the Ribeira do Porto or simply enjoy the fantastic view along the Douro River.
We hope to make it better on your next stay.
Best regards,
Bárbara Moreira
HF Quality & Customer Relationship Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews