We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$289
View deal
Hotels.com
US$220
View deal
Expedia.com
US$220
View deal
PricelineUS$289
eDreamsUS$289
CheapTicketsUS$220
View all 19 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (900)
Filter reviews
900 results
Traveller rating
710
117
45
13
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
710
117
45
13
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews flower room coco chanel douro river boutique hotel welcome drink beautiful hotel glass door young staff quiet location across the river a wonderful stay great city breakfast was delicious city centre suite balcony portugal
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 900 reviews
Reviewed 31 January 2020

Excellent hotel. Beautiful new design space with eclectic art works in the lobby; and each room themed according to an artist or writer or creative designer that gives the word avantgarde meaning. Very helpful and friendly staff. Good breakfast and an excellent bar. Great location. Highly recommended.

Room tip: I stayed in the Piet Mondrian room.... very cool 👍🏽
Date of stay: January 2020
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank shahidnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torel A, Diretor-Geral at Torel Avantgarde, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2020

Dear shahidnz,

A big thank you for all of us for taking the time to share your fantastic comment.
We are more than delighted to know that you had an amazing stay. The way you described our hotel shows us how unique and special was your experience with all of us. We are super proud!

Looking forward to welcome again :)

Kind regards,
Filipa Melo
Assistant Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2020 via mobile

I had the pleasure to spend a night in this hotel in January. I was in Porto for work purposes and the staff was super friendly and very welcoming.
The hotel is very nice too and I really enjoyed my stay.
I'll definitely repeat it every time I can.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled on business
2  Thank pedrogustavot
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torel A, Diretor-Geral at Torel Avantgarde, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2020

Dear pedrogustavot,

Thank You very much for joining the Torel family! From now on we hope to continue to have you in Avantgarde for a relaxing and refreshing night after work! But please bring your family too, we will make our utmost for them!

We will share your nice comments with all our team! Thank YOU!

Best Regards
Bruno Miranda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2020

Excellent views, excellent facilities, didn't eat there for lunch or dinner but excellent breakfast.

A little out of the way to the west of town but just a short walk (less than 10 minutes) to the excellent Dona Porto for Portuguese comfort food or 20 minutes downhill to the restaurants on the waterfront.

Finally, what really made for a great stay was the young staff, we always felt welcome and at home.

I rated this as a luxury hotel but the price to stay here compares very favorably with other sites in Porto (albeit on the high end) and definitely you get more relaxation for the Euro here than in other popular tourist destinations. For example, one can pay over $100 USD for a newer Holiday Inn alongside any interstate in the USA but for a little more, relax here...

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank SFCole
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torel A, Diretor-Geral at Torel Avantgarde, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2020

Dear SFCole,

A big thank you from all of us! It is always a pleasure to read such nice comments! They are pure energy for us and help us make better everyday for our guests!

We hope to receive you soon in Porto.

Best Regards

Bruno Miranda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2020

The hotel is modern, the rooms and bathrooms equally so and it is very well located. The service ind to a fault friendly - weirdly perhaps to much so. The notable downsides are the soundproofing between rooms is remarkably lacking and the restaurant, while in no way bad, is just average. The breakfast selection is good.

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank jwdinaspen
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torel A, Diretor-Geral at Torel Avantgarde, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2020

Dear jwdinaspen,

Thank You very much for choosing Torel Avantgarde for your recent stay in Porto.

We appreciate you took your time to leave us feedback about your stay, they will help us to improve and deliver even better service in the future.

We hope to welcome you soon in Porto.

Best Regards

Bruno Miranda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2020

This is an amazing place to stay. Chic modern with sylish artistic touchs. It makes homage to great writers, directors, artists etc by naming the rooms after them. We stayed in Stanley Kubrick room with amazing view of the majestic Douro river.

Service was top-notch. Pedro Figueiredo, Marcio Leon, Beatriz Gnsalves and Helderaven (sp? at breakfast) were all amazingly attentive and friendly. Next time we come to Porto and we will as its a charming city we will stay here without reservations.

Rooms are nicely appointed and public spaces, bar area and tables/breakfast area are artistically designed. Loved the look and feel of place.!

Highly highly recommend!

Location: the hotel is off beaten path but not far away from main downtown area as the city of Porto is walkable. Late at night prob would cab it as residential area and get darker and less activity but during day no problem.

Date of stay: March 2019
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank ledezmacjl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torel A, Diretor-Geral at Torel Avantgarde, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2020

Dear ledezmacjl,

When we read " Amazing Stay " we should answer... "Amazing Guests"!

A big thank you for taking your time to give us such nice comments about your stay.

We hope to welcome you soon in your house in Porto :)

Best Regards

Bruno Miranda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews