We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pick to stay in a great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rivoli Cinema Hostel
Ranked #10 of 259 Speciality Lodging in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 September 2014

Group of 4 visited this hostel in 9th August 2014. Fantastic, clean hostel in downtown of Porto. Unfortunately we stayed only one night here due to our Road Trip of 2200km of exploring Portugal, but wished we could really stay longer. At reception desk we were welcomed by smiled young girl who gave a tour and showed us our room, showers, kitchen, lounge room. Not that we need It but she made an extra mile. Some will just give you the key and you are on your own with your bags. This hostel for sure have one of the best lounge room I have ever seen. You will feel rested, warmed and even entertainmed as they have Nintendo Wii game. Kitchen has all needed facilities, and morning breakfast will give you the needed fuel to start your day. Praise goes for young portuguese guy who was in morning shift at reception desk, with whom we have a nice chit-chat for more then an hour, where he told us the best local hidden places and what places we should avoid. Hostel is just few steps around the corner from buzzy Porto nigtlife. With room doors you may have to be careful as they can close pretty loud but you'll be warned. :o)))

Room Tip: On higher floors you may have bad quality of Wi-Fi reception, but I recommend you to be in lounge ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hrvojè H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (281)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

55 - 59 of 281 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2014

I loved my stay at the Rivoli so much that I extended it. The hostel is large and clean and comfortable. There is good security as you have your own key card that gets you into the front doors and your personal locker. The staff has something arranged every night so that it's very easy to meet other travelers. We had an impromptu BBQ on the roof one night and another night we cooked homemade pizzas and had wine. It was really nice and a very good way to meet other travelers. The staff were all really excellent and made great budget restaurant suggestions. The beds were comfortable and the bathrooms were always clean. I don't have one negative thing to say about my stay at Rivoli and I've already been recommending it to other people when I hear they're going to Porto.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nlaguilera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We spent 3 nights in this well located hostel. We were very well received, the hostel is very lively but yet you can find your own privacy. The employees are very nice, helpful and just make your stay in porto more complete.
The facility is very clean and the hostel is stylishly designed. You will always find something to do whether it is watching a movie, playing Wii or board games, mingling with the other guests or having drinks on the terrace. They also have daily activities to show you around.
A place in Porto that you will call home!

Room Tip: Reserve in advance to try to get the private rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anastasia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We stayed one night in cinema hostel in a private room. The location right in the city center can't be bitten and it really felt cozy and warm. For sure a great place to go back to after a day of walking around the city of Porto. They have a great kitchen for cooking and a cool rooftop. Clean, safe and lovely staff - best option in town.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank byron33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Im steel At the Hostel and i Wanna give this review

So good location , very very clean . Te breakfast until 11:00 :) :) :)

They organize something every night :) the roof is super cool .. Best facilities ... And so cheap .


Less then 1 minuts From the metro station.. The Room are decorate d very nice ... Good wi if in all the histel and 4 computers available For free :) :) :)

Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
Thank iLoveTravel27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.9 km away
Gallery Hostel
Gallery Hostel
#2 of 259 in Porto
533 reviews
0.4 km away
Tattva Design Hostel
Tattva Design Hostel
#4 of 259 in Porto
596 reviews
0.3 km away
Porto Lounge Hostel & Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Yes! Hostel Porto
Yes! Hostel Porto
#5 of 259 in Porto
396 reviews
0.8 km away
Spot Oporto Hostel
Spot Oporto Hostel
#18 of 259 in Porto
238 reviews
1.4 km away
So Cool Hostel Porto
So Cool Hostel Porto
#32 of 259 in Porto
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rivoli Cinema Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rivoli Cinema Hostel

Address: Rua Doutor Magalhaes Lemos 83, Porto 4000-332, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 259 Speciality Lodging in Porto
Price Range: €25 - €42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rivoli Cinema Hostel is the first Cinema themed Hostel in Portugal, and here you can find 13 rooms each one about a different film.You can choose a room by a Director or by a Film, and the interior of the room is decorated with things about the film. You can find movies from Tim Burton, Tarantino, Ridley Scott, Almodovar, Jean-Pierre Jeunet, Godard, Manoel de Oliveira, David Fincher, Alejandro González Iñárritu, Michael Radford, Mira Nair, Steven Spielberg, Stanley Kubrick, Jonathan Demme, Ang Lee.The Rivoli Cinema Hostel has 13 rooms available (twin or double beds and 4 beds room), 6 shared toilets and 6 shared showers, a fully equipped kitchen, 1 lounge area where you can relax, have a drink, read books and play games, and an outside 180 m2 space where you can listen to music, barbecue, sunbath, party, or just chat with the others guests.In the Hostel you can use free WiFi internet, and you have free maps, tourist info and guides.Rivoli Cinema Hostel is located in the Porto historical center, right at the most important city square: Avenida dos Aliados- where you can find streets full of monuments, restaurants, cafes, esplanades, shops, supermarkets, shoppings, tourism info spots . RCH is right in center of the cultural center of Porto near Coliseu, Cinemas, Theaters, and Art Galleries.At the doorstep you can find metro, bus, sightseeing bus, train, taxis and tram.From here you can easily visit the most important references in the city like the Port Wine Cellars, Clerigos Tower, Serralves Museum and its beautiful gardens, go to a concert in Casa da Musica, take a walk across the bridges, take a look at a local architecture, visit the F. C. Porto stadium, travel by boat in Douro river where you can take great pictures and have a drink in one of the many bars in Ribeira.Nightlife is around the hostel, you just have to choose between cafes, nightclubs, discos or bars where you can meet Erasmus students and locals. Right across the street you have the Rivoli Theater where you can see musicals and at February you can attend one of the best Fantastic Cinema Festival in the world – Fantasporto ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Rivoli Cinema Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rivoli Cinema Hotel Porto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing