We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (313)
Filter reviews
313 results
Traveller rating
208
69
33
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
208
69
33
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews common room amazing rooftop electronic key bed dorm min walking bento train station common areas breakfast was included walking tour fantastic location lockers city facilities powerpoint jams portuguese cathedral
Filter
Updating list...
72 - 77 of 313 reviews
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Looking for a good hostel in Porto we found the Rivoli Cinema hostel right in the middle of the old town of Porto.
It is situated on a noisy street on the way to one of the most noisy streets in Porto, the Avenida aviados.
In the hostel you don't hear the noises from the street so much but you know the street is there.
You have to climb up to the first floor with the reception.
We came without Reservation but it was no Problem to get a bed in the dormatoryroom.
The Price per night was ok and the breakfast was included but not a big one.
Also in the first floor there is a big commenroom with internetcomputers, flatscreen, Couch and DVD Corner.
Also on this Level there is the guestckitchen with everything you Need to prepare a good meal including microwave and cookingplate.
The rooms are one Level higher.
We had dormbeds with old matrazes but the cleanness of the room was ok.
The bathroom was in good conditions but not always clean and the showercabin was not enought space if you don't have modelsize.
What's not so good in this hostel is there is nearly no place in this hostel who is not camaracontroled, they really whatch you everywhere and I felt a Little bit like in a prisson with sooo much control.
Ok security is needed in a hostel but this is really to much "big Brother" guys!
The Highlight of the hostel is the terrace on the rooftop, nice Feeling even if there are all the housses arround what makes the look not so good.
The staff was very helpfull and Kind most of the time, especially the Girls were fantastic and funny.

Room Tip: There is no Elevator so better don't go to the Rivoli Cinema Hostel if you are handicaped by your feet. The street in front of the hostel is very noisy but it is ok, only at Weekends when the People are making Party it is hard to find sleep in the rooms.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

very nice and clean , best location! also the living room and kitchen were very tight and clean , we especially liked the nintendo wii for playing mario, you can watch movies also from the collection. They provide meals and walking tours every day, also hanging out in the pubs. very nice crew. definitely the best stay in porto!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Serhat Ü
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Amazing hostel, had a brilliant week! Would definitely recommend it! Lovely staff - very helpful in recommending places to visit and eat. fab room and fantastic location! :) The room we stayed in had a lovely view over the city and was very clean, as were the toilets and the showers. Previous to the trip I was worried about noise levels, but this didn't seem to be an issue whilst we were there!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caterina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We have been there just for the weekend but we had such a great time.
The hostel is well located, walking distance from/to most places.
Staff was very friendly and helpful. Rooms were clean and the living space cosy.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AleGalindo81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Stayed here with a couple of friends back in January. The location is certainly very good, close to the centre and metro. On one of the big streets so its pretty safe. When we arrived we were attended very well. The first thing we noticed is how cozy and relaxed the common room is. There are a couple of computers with Internet, games, guitar, all free to be used. The kitchen, too, is very nice and well equipped.

The whole place, the toilet, the bedroom/dorm was good and clean. No complaints whatsoever in that area. (Although it would be great if there were more powerpoints in the room?) Not sure how it is now but when we were there the wifi was only available in the common room/lobby but our room was directly on top so we still did get a connection. Oh, free breakfast! For the price, we were surprised that it also includes free breakfast and its no lame breakfast, the spread was actually pretty satisfying.

Safe area. Great location. Friendly helpful staff, also helped us with suggestion and way around town. Loved the common room. Good kitchen, bedroom, toilet. One of the best you can find!

Room Tip: If wifi matters to you, the room directly above the common room.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim_CZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews