We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy and delicious!”

Restaurante Campo Alegre/Compadre
Reserve with
Restaurante Campo Alegre/Compadre is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #369 of 2,113 Restaurants in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$23
Cuisines: African, European, Portuguese, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Description: We cherish the Portuguese cuisine in its true essence. We also make a special focus on Africa dishes prepared by our Cheff, born in Cape Verde Deborah Fernandes.
Reviewed 6 April 2018

Right next to Campanha station, so very convenient for travelers. Only a few tables. Wonderfully decorated and warm welcome. But best of all? The food! I had their version of the Angolan dish Muamba de Galinha, an incredibly tasty stew of chicken pieces, okra, pumpkin, and various spices and served with a large portion of manioc (cassava). With bread, olives, wine, and aguardente, the bill only came to 12 euros and I took half of it home for lunch the next day. Ótimo!!!

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Karen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlosMCFortunato, Proprietário at Restaurante Campo Alegre/Compadre, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2018

Thank you very much for your opinion
Come old the time

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (123)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

8 - 12 of 123 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2018 via mobile

A small restaurant with great people and great cuisine inside! They have some delicious angolan specialties: we had spicy fried prawns and a chicken stew with piri piri and a manioc flour mixture as side dish. we had their house red wine. delicious. Owner and son are generous and friendly.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Adam J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlosMCFortunato, Proprietário at Restaurante Campo Alegre/Compadre, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2018

Thank you very much for your opinion
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2018 via mobile

I was recommended this restaurant by a local friend in Porto, who was extolling the virtues of cuisine from Alentejo (south of Lisbon). We went to Compadre, and I was not disappointed. The two dishes we ordered - roasted cod with potatoes and the "black" pork in breadcrumbs - were truly delicious and filling. The menu also boasts several traditional dishes from Angola, which we'll have to try next time. The desserts were similarly excellent (e.g. plum flan) and the ambience quiet and relaxing. This restaurant is situated slightly outside the standard tourist areas of Porto, but it is well worth the walk (or metro trip to Campanhã). Highly recommended.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlosMCFortunato, Proprietário at Restaurante Campo Alegre/Compadre, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2018

Thank you very much.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2018 via mobile

We came for a weekend city trip in Porto, found this place because it has very good reviews.
I highly recommend it, the experience is special , family restaurant, very nice food don't be put off by the affordable price the quality of the food is very nice.
Place to visit again.

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank arseneoaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlosMCFortunato, Proprietário at Restaurante Campo Alegre/Compadre, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2018

Thank you very much for your opinion
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017 via mobile

The food was a bit salty but my wife and I really liked their food. The black pig was tender and tasted super delicious, though a little oily. The curry shrimp my wife ordered was super too.

Date of visit: October 2017
Thank Doudou T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlosMCFortunato, Proprietário at Restaurante Campo Alegre/Compadre, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Thank you for your opinion. Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurante Campo Alegre/Compadre also viewed

 
Porto, Porto District
Porto, Porto District
 

Been to Restaurante Campo Alegre/Compadre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing