We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent place to stay”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
4 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Funchal, Madeira, Madeira Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 4 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Anna B
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay”
Reviewed 23 December 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Apartment was as described. Everything you need is there. Good location. The Host was very kind to pick us up from the airport and to check us out just before heading to the airport. Would definitely recommend this place.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lpestano
Lafayette, Colorado
2 reviews
“Nice place close to Funchal center”
Reviewed 29 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We enjoyed our stay in Madeira very much. The apartment is spacious and has everything you would need for an extended stay for a family of four (kids 10 and 12 years old). Jorge was great about picking us up at the airport and driving us around Funchal to help us get our bearings. He generously took us back to the airport at 5 AM for an early flight out when we were checking out as well. There is a small grocery store with great fresh fruit and vegetables and the basics right out side the apartment as well as cafe's and an ATM. The 15 bus drops you off right in front of the apartment if you do not want to hike up the very steep streets to get back home (getting to the center of the old town area takes about 10 minutes on foot going downhill).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: great space for relaxing after a long day of site seeing
Liked least: warm without fans or AC but cools down OK at night with the windows open
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie Q
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very nice appartment, great holiday”
Reviewed 23 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed in the appartment with our 14 year old daughter for 2 weeks. The flat is well laid out, immaculately clean and very spacious; plenty of room for a fortnight. The kitchen is will equipped and the flat is nicely done and comfortable. The view of the sea from the balcony is beautiful and you get a magical view of the town and the mountains from the kitchen. The 14 year old realy appreciated the wifi! There is spiral staircase to take you to the huge master bedroom, dressing room and bathroom in the attic. This takes a little getting used to but we're pros by day 3.
The area is very handy for the town centre and there are loads really nice restraunts, shops and shady spots to watch the world go by. It takes about 10 minutes to reach the sea front by walking down some pretty steep streets. Luckily you don't need to walk back as the bus stops outside the apartment! Buy a reusable 'giro' ticket from one of the kiosks on the seafront, it's great value for money and you can use the local bus service to see much more of Funchal.

There is a grocery shop and cafe downstairs from the apppartment - both are excellent and very friendly. Jorge picked us up from the airport (and took us back) and gave us a mini tour of town. This was a really nice touch and made us feel very welcome. Overall this appartment is lovely and very good value for money.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie K
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A lovely apartment in a great loaction!”
Reviewed 15 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My partner and I just stayed in this Funchal apartment for a week and can highly recommend it! It's very comfortable and tastefully decorated, with a views of the town and sea from the little balcony. We didn't have a car and managed just fine on foot - 10-15 minutes' walk takes you down into the town centre, with plenty of great restaurants serving very generous portions!

There's a little cafe/bar just underneath the apartment complex serving lovely lunches, great coffee and delicious portuguese custard tarts - we made this a regular starting point before heading out for the day. Next to the cafe is a great little shop stacked to the rafters with fresh produce and excellent wine.

The kitchen is well equipped and we cooked in a couple of days, relaxing on the comfy sofa in the living room.

Jorge gave us a very warm welcome, coming to collect us from the airport and giving us a mini tour of Funchal centre in his car to help us get our bearings. On arrival at the apartment he presented is with a traditional cake and liquors made by his mother-in-law! He also dropped us at the airport at the end of our stay - so kind.

One of the things we liked best about this apartment was being away from the tourist/hotel district closer to the harbour. The area has a lovely calm and relaxed feeling whilst being in easy reach of things - perfect!

We would certainly stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Comfortable and spacious
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing