We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (209)
Filter reviews
209 results
Traveller rating
70
93
26
12
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
70
93
26
12
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews daily cleaning facing the street satellite tv small kitchenette old town friendly hotel minute walk microwave pico noise balcony garden
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 209 reviews
Reviewed 20 March 2018

Our stay at this hotel was ok, the room was basic and included a small kitchenette. We had a massive problem with electricity. Every time we wanted to cook something on the hob or boil the kettle or use the microwave the electricity would go off. We spend ages trying to figure out what the problem was, playing with the fuse box, we ended up reporting the problem. When we came back after a day of sightseeing, electricity worked for a short white before stopping again. We don't actually know if anything was done when we were away. There was no note or communication, also it was rather difficult to come across anyone in the reception. We couldn't cook anything the rest of the trip which was frustrating as we didn't budget for eating out everyday. We did have a great view in a room facing the back garden.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Auranoir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SaoPauloeAlegria, Diretor-Geral at Apartamentos Sao Paulo e Alegria, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2018

Dear Auranoir,

Thank you so much for sharing your opinion regarding your experience at São Paulo e Alegria.
We are really sorry about the issues with the electricity in your room. There were emergency repair works that affected a small but particular area of the building where your room was located which caused some electrical problems. Our maintenance department was immediately informed after you signaled this and took the necessary measures, but as you well mention,those have not been completly effective.
Under these circumstances, and despite all our efforts to minimize the problem, your disappointment is quite understandable and we are trully very sorry that you have left with such negative impression.
Regarding the hard time on finding someone at reception, we can only assume you were trying to reach us in the evening. Our reception closes at night but the team is still reachable 24 hours if pressing the doorbell.
We are sorry that we did not meet your expectations this time and can only hope to show you our best service on a future occasion.
Warm regards from Madeira!
Luísa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017

Maybe it's the timing of the year, that makes the reviews on TripAdvisor vary; thus you ought to read up on a few. (I was a week in 10.2017)

The location is great, easy walk to city center; really easy to drive to and from - even during rush-hours. Since it is quite close to the center, on a some-what-busy-street, there is street-noise until late evening (mostly people talking). Ask for a room facing off-the-street for a bit less noise. But even then, if you have hard time sleeping with some street-noise, you might want to look for other options.

The room quality varies. One bathroom was flawless, the other lacked a door from the shower-cabin, the third had the shower-stand hanging just by one screw, and one had the light gone off (latter was naturally replaced when we pointed it out). My bed was great, just perfect; but some beds in our company were squeaky and had bad springs. You might get lucky with your room arrangements, or quite unfortunate. There is no real standard for rooms or overall equipment.

The breakfast was the worst I have ever received in a hotel. It is worth far less, than what they charge for it. You are way better off if you take the three (3) minute walk to the local supermarket and buy yourself what you want to have.

The towels are changed everyday. I do not find this necessary and would prefer a "do not disturb" and/or "no housekeeping" sign to hang on the door.

The hotel is a budget option, so do not be alarmed if you see a rat or ants around (we did). They are part of the life in this neighborhood. If you want something more sterile, look for higher-end options.

The staff is friendly and smiling.

Free, decent WiFi.

I did enjoy my stay here, but for next time I will look up some alternatives and compare them. If the price here is unbeatable, only then would go again.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank timofr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2017 via mobile

Never been picky where to spend a night as we are always up and about unfortunately this stay was very disappointing. First the room was not cleaned properly (having a family members running a cleaning business- believe me I know), second is shower- on our arrival we found lots of hair ( not one or two)which made me feel sick, shower curtains were YELLOW at the bottom and soap dispenser nearly empty. Third balcony doors was broken and we needed to put a chair to make sure it is holding closed- problem was solved only on forth day, let's not forget the dryer problems- let's say that it has served it's time and stopped working.
Painting is peeling from the walls and actual walls has marks and smudges all over it.
Garage parking is really convenient, but as we have realised we have been charged more, leaflets in the room said €5.
Rooms are noisy specially in early morning as well we could hear every single step in the corridor.

On the budget side this hotel is fine but would not recommend and would not stay again as the pictures we seen does not match even 50% of reality.
Maybe we were so unlucky with the stay and room?

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank BoiKrist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SaoPauloeAlegria, Diretor-Geral at Apartamentos Sao Paulo e Alegria, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2018

Dear BoiKrist,

We would like to express our deepest apologies for the negative impression you had following you stay at São Paulo e Alegria.
We will not try to justify your poor experience as your comments describe something far from our normal standards. Therefore, we thought on letting you know that your comments were heard and the necessary arregements properly carried out.
At the end of high season we made some refurbishments, repairings and paintings in all rooms. We also been blessed with a very professional chambermaid with a long record in hospitallity and a great sense of service. We've been receiving a lot of compliments of her good work and we couldn't be more proud of our team.
We would like to clarify that you were not extra charged for the use of garage. We had suffered an increase of the parking monthly rent and we haden't got the opportunity to update all our brochures.
Althought, none of these arguments can erase your bad experience, we hope they may change your mind about giving us a second chance.
Do not hesitate to contact us personally and we will be more than pleased to prepare you arrival and exceed your expectations.
Warm regards from Madeira,
Luísa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2017

We stayed a week in August 2017 at Apartamentos Alegria in Funchal. We booked this hotel through EasyJet holidays. It is based in the old town and we had a lovely time there. The hotel is very clean and the towels are changed every day. We had a little kitchen in our room which was very handy when we did not want to eat outside. We had a fridge and a ceiling fan (very good for the heat of the summer). The staff was very friendly and hardworking. They would help us in any ways and gave us lots of information. The breakfast was absolutely brilliant (so much choice). The only little thing was that our room was facing the street, so it could be a bit noisy sometimes (but not when the windows were closed). Being in the old town was really good because we had near by several local cafes and restaurants (instead of the usual tourist restaurants much more expensive). The hotel offers a terrasse where you have a nice view of the town and where you can relax in the shade or in the sun (long chairs). We are very thankful for the way we have been looked after. Also the airport shuttle (organised by EasyJet Holidays) was well organised and we did not have to worry about anything. We highly recommend this lovely friendly hotel !

Room Tip: Avoid the street rooms (for the street noise)
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017 via mobile

Where to begin? My better half and I stayed in this hotel for a week and it was not holiday but rather just surviving.
Located in the outskirts of the old town, the room was not only very hot despite the poor air conditioning, but also very noisy due to a busy street downstairs. The noise bothered us from 6am until midnight, and outside our window we could spot "ladies of the night" courting their business. The air conditioning was attached to the main light source of the room and every night the light went on suddenly waking us up. This happened every night.
Furthermore, the shower leaked water that spilled all over the floor of the main room and under the bed. We needed to use all our towels, placing them on the floor to mop the flood in a vain attempt to keep our feet dry. Someone came to look at the problem but nothing was done to the situation and we were told the problem was because the shower curtain was not properly closed??? We did shower with the curtain completely closed, but there must be something wrong with the drain.
To make matters worse, there were ants, cockroaches and lizards teeming in the room which was disgusting.
The hotel also lacked a "do not disturb" -sign to hang on the door knob, which resulted to the maid knocking our door each morning, scaring us awake or even worse disrupted intimate moments.

The maids did a nice job with cleaning.

The description on the hotel didn't in any means match the reality.
Can't recommed the hotel to anyone, we didn't have a romantic or in any way a pleasant stay.

Stayed: August 2017
Thank iitan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SaoPauloeAlegria, Gerente at Apartamentos Sao Paulo e Alegria, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

Dear Iita N,

We are sorry to hear that your stay was not memorable. We pride ourselves on delivering a good quality of services and facilitates and I regret that we did not meet with your satisfaction on this occasion.
Please be assured that your comments have been forwarded to the team and managerial Department for their review and continued improvement.
Regarding the problems you experienced while showering, in more than one circumstance the maintenance team checked the shower and nothing was detected. We then called a plumber who also did not detected anything abnormal... under this circumstances we can only assume that the water was dripping between the curtain and the Wall. Howsoever we can only regret all the discomfort brought to your stay.
On the other hand, I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed our cleaning service and am equally grateful for your comments to help us improve of services and facilities...be assured that every effort will be made to rectify them in the future and we hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Madeira.
Warm regards from Madeira!
Luísa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews