We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,602)
Filter reviews
1,602 results
Traveller rating
1,445
138
16
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,445
138
16
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews galapagos tortoise premier suite resident tortoise beautiful botanical gardens courtesy bus beautiful hotel pool area course menu five courses half board sub tropical gardens a la carte menu small hotel country house extensive gardens steep walk lovely pool
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 1,602 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have very good experience with this very high quality hotel and advise all our partners and friends to come and have the same nice experience. The people are very friendly and smiling. The food is perfect. We have been happy here.

Room Tip: all rooms are comfortable and sunny
  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Alexej L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We had a wonderful holiday in this beautiful hotel. The staff could not have been more polite and helpful and the garden setting is beautiful. The walk down to the centre and back every day helped us to stay fit and allowed us to enjoy the scrumptious breakfast! We couldn’t have enjoyed ourselves more!

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
3  Thank lpvernon56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Never have we slept so well on holiday. The cool, spacious room, the comfortable bed, the crisp white sheets, the whole ambience of the hotel. The leisurely breakfast in the garden, being served by smiling, helpful staff, the relaxation by the pool, the drinks brought to your sunbed, the large pool and warm bubbling jacuzzi. The fabulous food at dinner, the delicious cocktails served in the bar, the courtesy of the reception staff who telephoned taxis for us and arranged a driver for the day who took us all round the north side of the island, who printed off our boarding passes and hugged us goodbye. Must mention the maids who left our room spotlessly clean...and I could go on and on. Don't stay anywhere else in Madeira. This hotel is first class, first rate, a first choice. They deserve every 5 star they get.

  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LYNNE B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2018

All of the positive reviews you read from previous guests about all aspects of this hotel are 100 percent correct
A BIG thank you to everyone for making our stay so wonderful leaving us with memories we will always treasure

  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Barry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2018

When one reads the Guest Book, and the recurring comments about having had a wonderful stay, it is worth pondering on why this theme is so consistent. When one reads the Menu, and notes that guests have a choice of 9 starters, 11 main courses, and 9 desserts on the A La Carte pages, or 5 courses on the Table d'hôte, and then look at how the nine staff look after the 52 guests who are dining that evening and the seamless flow of choreographed silver service, then it starts to make sense. They key here is the staff. Be they behind the front desk, by the poolside, in the bedroom corridors, attending to myriad breakfast orders, they are all a delight, and there is no deviation from the norm, no special request, that is not warmly agreed to and executed. To return here is to be greeted as the absent child in their extended family, and this explains why many people come back year after year.

There is little need to venture outside this hotel to dine; there is talent in the kitchens to rival if not surpass any top-flight restaurants elsewhere. The wonderful gardens and the superb pool are assets that surprise and amaze, and the spacious bedrooms overlook the former but not the latter.

As developers seek to accommodate projected tourism growth in vast concrete barracks that are set to disfigure the Funchal perspective, QJDL is the guardian of a singular style that is increasingly rare. Here lies magic: pure magic.

Room Tip: if you prefer to sleep with the balcony doors open, ask for a room with a number that does not end in 11, 10, 9, or 8.
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Henwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews