We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely holiday”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Funchal
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Albergaria Dias
Ranked #2 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 November 2011

We recently stayed for a week. Mr Dias, his family and staff were always very helpful and friendly which helped to make it a lovely week. We stayed on the fourth floor of the hotel, there are two rooms on this floor and ours was the smaller room (402). We felt the extra we paid for this room was worth it for the privacy and the lovely terrace where we watched the liners coming into Funchal. There are plenty of restaurants in the old town, whatever your taste. A visit to the restaurant in the fort is enjoyable but you need to book. Mozart restaurant has the same owner and menu. The hotel is very clean, breakfast is enjoyable, especially the fruit salad! While we were there the weather was good and so the pool area was relaxing with towels provided. There are snacks available from late morning. Funchal is a working city and there are no beaches unless you visit Porto Santo but there is lots to do - visit the different gardens, toboggan ride, cable car, levada walks, explore the island, We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Albergaria Dias - Thank you!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mikey1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (523)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

254 - 258 of 523 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2011

We spent a lovely week staying here from October 24th. We had a twin room overlooking the swimming pool on the first floor which was immaculate at all times, a small fridge was included, handy for keeping a cool drink in. Towels were changed daily and bathrobes provided. Storage was very good and a safe provided at 2 euros per day.
We were warmly welcomed by the owner and staff and given a tour of the hotel before being settled on the terrace with a complimentary drink of our choice. Throughout our stay any questions we had were answered fully and helpfully.
The pool was a good size and plenty of sun loungers were provided. Snacks of delicious salads, sandwiches and cakes can be bought all day and the drinks selection is very good.
The hotel is in an ideal location for the old town and the rear gated exit and entrance is ideal.
Yes people approached you to enter the restaurants if you chose to walk down that street where they were all next door to one another but if you simply said not today they were not rude. Funchal has plenty to offer from promenade walks to vigorous or leisurely levada walks and has some beautiful parks. The cable car ride up and down Monte was fabulous but you can go by local bus or come back down half way in the basket ride. The tropical gardens are a delight and a combined ticket was on offer for the cable car and gardens.
On returning to the hotel there is a warm welcome, there are staff on 24 hours a day. There is an extensive library of book and magazines to borrow and a sauna to ease the muscles if levada walks have proved strenuous. There is free internet access on one computer if you need to check emails or travel arrangements or the staff will do it for you.
The breakfast provided for all tastes and two mornings special sweet treats were served.
We ate in a different restaurant every night, all good, some superb.
I could not fault the level of service and comfort in this hotel and have recommended it to friends who regularly travel to Madeira.
Thank you for a wonderful holiday Mr Dias and staff!

Room Tip: Top floor will give better views to sea on one side of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dancingassassin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2011

We really liked the hotel. We think we got a good deal on our package holiday - making it very good value for money.
Staff were extremely friendly and helpful - they answered all of our questions about public transport. Breakfast was pleasant with a good choice - very nice fruit salad. The room was spacious and clean. We think it was worth paying a little bit extra for the sea view - giving a good view over the harbour and the cruise ships coming and going. Very handy location for the old town - a few minutes walk to the cable car.
Overall we had a very pleasant week there - even with the rain.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Veloce298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2011

The hotel itself was ok as was the staff , breakfast was very poor compared to some hotels we've stayed in - they have a fitness centre LOL - which if you consider 3 clapped out pieces of equipment a gym then thats ok , all the streets are full of guys trying to get you in their restaurants and i was asked if i wanted a taxi by every cab driver i passed which got on my t*ts,
The Island itself (we hired a car) is absolutely stunning up in the mountain the views are staggering - little winding lanes which reminded me of Devon & lots of Tunnels and i mean lots lol ,the cable car up to the Jardim Monte Palace is highly recommend i couldn't fault the Island its certainly beautiful but if you want a bit of night life -and i don't mean disco's then Funchal's not for you , after 10 pm its a cemetery with lights .

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank alan_daviesSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2011

Just back from a fabulous week at this superb hotel. If you're looking for loud music and lots of action, this isn't the place for you - but if, like us, you're after great customer service, peace and quiet and a great location then this is the perfect hotel. Located in the Old Town area of Funchal, just a couple of minutes walk away are any number of restaurants and bars - more than enough for a week's stay and probably also enough to dine somewhere different every night for 2 weeks! Breakfasts at the hotel are great, buffet style, help yourself to as much as you want - both hot and cold food. Snacks are available for lunch if you're having a lazy day. The staff are all very friendly and happy to help with any query, everyone is made to feel as if they matter and not just yet another tourist occupying a room. Don't pack a pile of books as there is a very well stocked library. Cleanliness was outstanding, no complaints at all. Our favourite restaurant was the Cidade Velha, just before the entrance to the Fort, only about 50 yards away from the rear entrance of the hotel. Great food, great prices and no hassle! Also handy are the cable car, local buses and tourist buses. We're planning a return trip next year.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank dizzy33Derby_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
2 km away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
2.7 km away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#3 of 88 in Funchal
942 reviews
2.8 km away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#4 of 88 in Funchal
3,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Porto Santa Maria Hotel
Porto Santa Maria Hotel
#11 of 88 in Funchal
1,935 reviews
3.5 km away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
3.4 km away
Porto Mare Hotel
Porto Mare Hotel
#7 of 88 in Funchal
2,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Albergaria Dias? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Albergaria Dias

Address: Rua Bela S Tiago 44-B, Funchal, Madeira 9060-400, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#2 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#9 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: €88 - €115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Albergaria Dias 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Also Known As:
Albergaria Dias Funchal
Albergaria Dias Hotel Funchal
Hotel Albergaria Dias Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing