We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (947)
Filter reviews
947 results
Traveller rating
365
448
102
24
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
365
448
102
24
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old town pool deck great views of funchal small balcony minute walk air condition busy road sea view plenty of choice steep hill shuttle bus balcony door very nice hotel mobility problems superior room buffet style every evening
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 947 reviews
Reviewed 19 July 2018 via mobile

We arrived in Funchal, it was not easy to navigate into set by the address in Google maps.
Free parking so good start.
Check in was fine a young trainee receptionist with help from her colleague.
They gave us adequate information and were polite enough.
We were in room 1011, there are 3 lifts.
Our room overlooking the back towards the padel court, and some houses.
This was a problem with alot of noise from at least 2 or 3 German shepherd dogs barking, which then sets off other dogs. So having the balcony door open was a big no.
There was tea and coffee facilities available 2 cups each.
A bottle of water however 1.75€ to buy, no complimentary water.
A shower/ bathroom the drain plate in shower loose not good kept catching toes on the screw.
Left this on the towels to alert the house cleaner. They just sat it on the screw everyday.
Room cleaning, I'm not sure but believe staff may have changed on Saturday. The previous day's it appeared little effort had been made. The cups etc not cleaned up properly and left in bathroom.
Saturday was a bit better.
Breakfast was in my opinion okay, there is plenty of choice.
The chef making fresh omelette if you wanted. Not sure if it was really busy how long you would wait.
They could do with another toaster for bread. The queue always long.
No complaints about the food though.
Personally we did not enjoy the entertainment in the bar. Whether we hit a bad week I do not know.
We were in the bar every night after visiting town. Cocktails etc, the staff were okay.
The bar closed early by midnight, the entertainment finished alot earlier.
Reception always quick to get us a taxi to town.
About 7€ to near old town, 4-50€ back if you walked to taxis by municipal gardens.
Regards the pool it was definitely cool even though the weather has been hot.
Did not use the spa because of extra cost5€ .
Especially having paid 100€ per night.
There were plenty of sunbeds available with some cushions etc.
I didn't know about the towel scenario mentioned in other reviews.
A wedding at the hotel took preference over guests on the Saturday.
We checked out , where initially I was charged for extra water. I challenged this which was accepted by the receptionist.

Would I stay at hotel again, not sure.
I liked the location, not too far from town.
I was not happy with room, the dogs. Not brilliant room service.
Television channels not great choice.
WiFi good.
Pool not pleasurable, would be too cold in cooler months.
I have stayed in hotels much better standard at 3 and 4 .
100€ per night expensive.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank GaryTauchoAdeje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lídia A, Guest Relations Manager at Four Views Baia, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2018

Dear Mr. Gary

Thank you very much for your candid review of your recent holidays with us and for choosing the Four Views Baia for your stay in Madeira Island.

Your feedback is extremely valuable to us, our staff is our biggest asset and they are deeply committed to your satisfaction. We are very happy to know that you apreciated our free parking as well as our location and our breakfast with freshly made omelets among other delicacies and varieties of fresh fruits, those are in fact very appreciated points by the majority of our guests..

Not all categories have the same view and the same services included on the rate, perhaps on a next visit you want to consider booking a sea view room or a superior room (those rooms have wonderful views to the city and sea, free drinks on the minibar & water, SPA facilities daily included… and more), we will be more than glad to provide you a fantastic experience and to assist you in a future reservation according to your personal preferences.

We appreciate your comments about our live entertainment and the room, we have made good notes of your very useful recommendations and they will be analyzed in detail by our management. We have no doubt that your opinion we will help us to improve our service for your greatest comfort, this is our commitment - always exceed the expectations of our customers.

We hope to see you soon in Four Views Baia on a future occasion.

With much appreciation,

Lidia Ascensão - Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2018 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed here at this very fine hotel. We bookes an apartment and was really happy with it. The view was amazing, the staff was amazing, the spa downstairs (and oh my god the massage was good, we did a couples massage. A-m-a-z-i-n-g! The pool outside wasn’t heated up, damn cold. The food at the pool bar was nothing really. But they had a pool table, free of charge. That was very fine.

The hotel was super close to the city and it took about 15 minutes to get up the hill from the center.

All in all a perfect hotel, in a perfect location. Would without doubt definitely come and stay at Four View Baia again.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank CecilieThea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lídia A, Guest Relations Manager at Four Views Baia, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2018

Dear Miss Cecilie Thea

Thank you for taking your time to write us a review of your recent stay at the Four Views Baia.

We are very happy to know that you had an amazin stay in our ''very fine hotel''. We were very pleased to read that enjoyed our great location and its amazing views and our service. Going to our SPA and doing a massage it is undoubtedly an excellent option for those who like to relax at a higher level, either by the views of the Jacuzzi or by the indoor heated swimming pool with water jets but especially for the massages provided by our masseuses. They are a great asset of our SPA.

We look forward to welcoming you back again when you decide to return to our beautiful island.

Yours sincerely,

Lídia Ascensão - Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2018 via mobile

We returned from holiday at Four Views Baia today, and we loved it! We stayed in a suite and it was so beautiful. The views from the balcony were amazing; and we even had a Jacuzzi bath overlooking the mountains! Staff were all lovely, especially the girls on reception. The trainee receptionist who checked us in was very polite and helpful, unfortunately I don't recall her name. We only ate breakfast at the hotel, but this was great - loads of choose and omelettes made to order which was lovely! Happy hour is great! Bar tenders make fab cocktails! Pool area very good, and towels provided. The hotel is very clean - both the rooms and communal areas. Thank you!

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank HollyM417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lídia A, Guest Relations Manager at Four Views Baia, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2018

Dear guest

Thank you for taking your time to share with us your experience of your recent stay at the Four Views Baia.

We greatly appreciate your comments about our hotel. Our breakfast and our panoramic views are undoubtedly the most appreciated and awarded points by our guests. We appreciate your comments about ou service, those comments were shared with them, they were very happy to know what you appreciated the service provided. Our staff is our most precious asset. We were very pleased to know that we met your expectations and you had a good holiday at our hotel.

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel for your holliday destination, we are delighted that we had the opportunity to be at your service and we look forward to welcoming you back at the Four Views Baia Hotel.

Yours sincerely,

Lidia Ascensão - Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2018 via mobile

Stayed here for long weekend over Easter, the hotel is about a 15min walk to the seafront which is downhill. The walk back is a bit of a challenge as it’s all uphill and in the summer months can imagine it’s very tiring. It’s not a location for those with any kind of difficulty getting about. The hotel itself was very clean and the room had a balcony with an impressive view across Funchal down to the sea. We only had breakfast included and ate out so can’t comment much on the food, breakfast was adequate but not that hot.
The staff didn’t seem overly friendly and the place didn’t seem to have a lot of atmosphere. One evening they did have a live band playing an acoustic set of modern songs that made the evening more entertaining, previous nights it had been quiet with people mostly just sitting and staring at the view across to the harbour through the restaurant window. There wasn’t enough here to make us return but it wasn’t awful depends on what you want from a hotel.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Dirtyroamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lídia A, Gerente de relações com clientes at Four Views Baia, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2018

Dear guest

Thank you for taking your time to share with us your great experience of your recent stay at the Four Views Baia.

We greatly appreciate your comments about our amazing and impressive views to the city and harbour, for us it is a pleasure to know that you appreciate and that gave special value to our cleaning service and evening entertaining. We are very happy to know that you spend a wonderful holiday with us.

In terms of our location, usually and generally appreciated by most of our guests, can be a challenge for some guestsas you mentioned, in this case, we have a service of courtesy bus that we always recommend to our guests and is totally free.

Thank you for having the time to write about our hotel and for making us your choice hotel when visiting Madeira we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in our hotel on a future occasion.

Kind regards,

Lidia Ascensão - Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2018 via mobile

From the very start we cannot find one fault with the hotel... staff at the desk. And the staff in the restaurant. Look out for Marie and Paula 2 lovely ladies.our room was a sea/mountain view overlooking the marina. A free courtesy bus will take you into Funchal...we had half board. And every meal was excellent.. hotel, clean.Room,clean. Should be 5☆ . Would go back tomorrow

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank dobbo1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lídia A, Guest Relations Manager at Four Views Baia, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2018

Dear guest

Thank you for taking your time to share with us your experience of your recent stay at the Four Views Baia.

We greatly appreciate your comments about our hotel. Our gartronomy and our panoramic views are undoubtedly the most appreciated and awarded points by our guests. Our staff is our biggest asset and they are deeply committed to your satisfaction. We are thrilled to read that you felt supported from the moment you arrived until the moment you departed and will not fail to share your compliments with the entire hotel team as we know it will be a great source of motivation to keep on going the extra mile.

Thank you for making us your choice hotel when visiting Madeira. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Yours sincerely,

Lídia Ascensão - Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews