We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (67)
Filter reviews
67 results
Traveller rating
53
13
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
53
13
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstoboggan runeuros per nightsteep hillgreat place to staybed and breakfastmontetaxigardenaccommodationbalconywifibuses
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 67 reviews
Reviewed 4 March 2018

Positives:
- Very pleasant atmosphere. This pension is situated in the higher part of Funchal with beautiful views of the city, you eat breakfast in a nice garden, in the evening you can sit in a garden swing and drink some poncha or sweet wine (in the common room you will find various types of wines for very affordable prices), and you also have a pool there.
- welcoming host Stefanie that will help you with everything you might need.
- rooms are rather simple but have this comfy feel like you came to see your grandma in the village.
- prices are really low - for 35-40 Euros per night this might be one of the best values for money in Funchal.

The only downside might be the location. Funchal is really hilly and though you may easily walk to the centre down the hill (it takes 20-30 minutes), getting back is much easier by bus or taxi. Buses don't always run too frequently so sometimes you have to plan when you want to return :) But in general this shouldn't be a big deal since it offers enough to compensate the distance.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank michal h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2018 via mobile

Walking down from the bottom of the Madeira toboggan run, I stopped at Casa de Caseiro. Just what was needed. It was a lovely place to have a bite to eat and get a glass of Madeira wine. Friendly and makes me want to come and stay here. Recommended

Stayed: February 2018, travelled solo
Thank gs7654321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2017

Took a little bit of finding, but when the local taxi driver asked me for directions,I feared the worst! But that probably added to the delight of eventually finding this glorious haven of refuge. Stephania is a brilliant hostess, she gave me lots of useful information ( including printed bus timetables for the local 19 & 27 services - 1 week unlimited local journey pass - €22 ! ). Breakfast on the delightful terrace is basic, as expected, but when on day 2, I produced a beefsteak tomato to augment it, I was told not bother again, & a sliced tomato was supplied each day for the rest of my 10 night stay. Very good local bars / bakery/ restaurant within 5 minutes or so walk ( predominantly level ) plus honesty box bar on site. Came alone in November, just booked to return in January with my 84 year old mother. Spotlessly clean rooms & lots of people of different ages & homelands make for a lovely relaxing & interesting stay. Don't miss it !

Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
3  Thank poxyknoxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2017 via mobile

Enjoyed my week there. Lovely setting . Very comfortable room with balcony. Friendly welcome on arrival just loved the place felt at home. Enjoyed the pool and made good use of the shared kitched. Bus stops are not far from the hotel but u need to be fit. I have booked to stay again next year. Excellent value for money

Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
1  Thank cairowendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2017 via mobile

We, a young couple, stayed at A Casa do Caseiro for one week in June 2017. It is a really beautiful place to stay. Every day we took breakfast on the lovely terrace with a beautiful view over Funchal. Yes it is located on a steep hill but you can take the bus up there. The friendly housekeeper provides you with a plan of the bus times so it's no problem at all. There is a nice pool and you even have the ability to cook your own food in the small and nice kitchen nearby the pool. Our room was charming, clean, had good wifi and we had a nice balcony with garden view. In A Casa do Caseiro you get great value for little money.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Aurora_22x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews