We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,172)
Filter reviews
2,172 results
Traveller rating
1,606
461
75
18
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,606
461
75
18
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews captains bar old town cable car gourmet night sea view sea front public park happy hour excellent hotel sea defences roof terrace small kitchenette local restaurants numerous restaurants cobbled streets cruise liners your doorstep
Filter
Updating list...
510 - 515 of 2,172 reviews
Reviewed 1 November 2016

This was our sixth visit and we will probably return again next year. We had a garden room this time but I would recommend a sea view. Well worth the extra money. The service is excellent. The quality of the food remains high and the staff as attentive as ever. As a regular visitor there are three things I must highlight. Firstly, they remember us and we are greated as friends. Secondly, the standard of this hotel has not dropped and shows no sign of dropping in the 9 years we have been staying. Thirdly, many of the staff have been there for years. That to me says something about the hotel and the managemnt team. The location is brilliant, down in the Old Town, so there is a huge choice of places to eat and drink. Visit and enjoy.

Room Tip: Get a sea view room, preferably in the central part of the hotel.
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Simon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carla_Bacanhim, General Manager at Porto Santa Maria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2016

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your most generous feedback. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.
It is especially gratifying your review regarding the service from our staff. The team at Porto Santa Maria do their very best to deliver favourable holiday experiences for all our guests.
I hope to be able to welcome you back in a near future.
Yours Truly
Carla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2016 via mobile

We enjoyed a fabulous holiday at the Porto Santa Maria Hotel and it was well worth the extra paying for a sea view room. Unfortunately, although we had a fabulous view our balcony was one of a few that didn't have overhead cover. Being as we did experience some rain during our stay we were unable to use the balcony at those times which was a shame because it was still very warm. I could hardly fault the hotel staff and facilities but if I was forced the only things that I could mention would be the 'hot' breakfast food was a little cool at times and the bathroom towels were rather worn so nothing to put us off going back which we certainly intend to do! The staff were all very helpful but I think the restaurant hostess at breakfast is the biggest asset to this hotel.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Lyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carla_Bacanhim, General Manager at Porto Santa Maria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2016

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your very kind feedback. I am delighted to see that you enjoyed your recent stay with us.
I will take good care of your comments, regarding breakfast and room towels for future improvements.
I hope to be able to welcome you back in a near future.
Yours Truly
Carla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2016

We booked a sea view junior suite to celebrate our golden wedding anniversary. Sadly the room we were shown, although spacious and attractive, overlooked the car park. After discussion and tears we reached an impasse - until they found another suite booked to a "late arrival".
It was smaller but perfect. Beautiful view, balcony, kitchenette, lovely bathroom and toiletries - (except an inferior bathrobe). But there was no tea, coffee etc provided, the fridge contained a bottle of water priced at 3 euros 80, and we had to pay over 10 euros for the safe. It was also a very long walk to the lift -as were most rooms.
After our initial problems, all the the staff were lovely. The maid service was exceptional and thorough.
Breakfast included English, continental, fruits, pastries, sparkling wine - we were spoilt for choice. But later in the week the omelettes and smoked salmon carried an extra charge. The pools were a good temperature and very underused, as was the gym. We had one evening meal, the Madeira special, but got very confused by the special promotion price - it was per meal booked, not as I thought, per head. The quality and variety of food was okay and not very typical.
Our family joined us on day 3 and had 2 garden rooms which they loved- they could walk out to the pools and restaurant and were full of praise for the amenities.
I went to the free Pilates session in the gym which was professionally led. The location of this hotel was terrific. Right in Old Town, by the Cable Car and restaurants.
To sum up - a very pleasant stay in a lovely, well-positioned hotel, but the little extra charges and our initial check in experience took the edge off.

Room Tip: Avoid room 128 overlooking the car park
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JaneMay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carla_Bacanhim, General Manager at Porto Santa Maria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2016

Dear Guest,
First of all, thank you for your comments.
Your opinion is very important to us.
We shall carefully analyse the less positive points you mention regarding your stay.
We would be happy to see you again at our hotel in order to meet your expectations.
Yours Truly
Carla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2016

This is not our first visit here &most certainly will not be the last
Their is not much more to add as my title says it all,BUT i will add a few Things.

From the moment you arrive until the day you have to sadly leave is PERFECT.

Thank you to all the efficiency from staff &well organised arrangments,our stay could not have been better.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John William P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carla_Bacanhim, General Manager at Porto Santa Maria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2016

Dear Guest,
It was with great pleasure that we read your words of appreciation. Thank you for sharing your experience. We were very happy to hear that you made the most of your holiday.
See you soon!
Yours Truly
Carla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2016

We have returned home after another great holiday at this wonderful hotel. It was our third visit and we will be there again next year.
Going back year after year is like 'going home'. The staff remember you and make you feel so welcome. It is also good to meet other guests you have met in previous years. The rooms are spacious and very clean and comfortable. The food is superb. We particularly enjoy Gourmet Night.. The indoor pool is fantastic and we always seem to have it to ourselves! The location of the hotel is perfect. What more can I say!
Can't wait for our next visit to this amazing hotel again next year.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jean P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews