We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$199
US$176
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$194
US$148
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$223
US$176
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$188
US$179
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$197
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Porto Mare Hotel(Funchal)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$234
US$211
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Ocean Gardens(Funchal)
US$99
US$94
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$276
US$213
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 21/07
US$387
US$366
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (612)
Filter reviews
612 results
Traveller rating
395
176
28
6
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
395
176
28
6
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsround buildingvila lidosea viewdirect access to the oceanwell stocked supermarkethappy hourceiling fansmall kitchenettetimeshare apartmentpool areaeighth floorsound of the wavespingo doceself cateringsteep hillrestaurants within walking distancea bit tired
Filter
Updating list...
91 - 96 of 612 reviews
Reviewed 31 August 2017

We are still here now; don't want to wait till we get home to write our review! Sitting on the decent-sized balcony of our spacious well-furnished apartment, overlooking the beautiful hotel gardens, the lovely pool and the magnificent Atlantic Ocean. The perfect location, the generous breakfasts and the gorgeous evening dinners all make for a wonderful stay. But do you know the real highlight? The staff - every receptionist, every waiter, every porter, every housekeeper, and every other staff-member, could not have been more helpful. That is what is really making this such a lovely relaxing holiday. If you want a slick, shiny, corporate contemporary hotel... don't come to The Palms. This is traditional, a classic, and very classy, place. Sure the sun beds are a bit tired, but don't let that put you off. Pestana tell us "we are having the time of our life"... Guess what; it's true!

Room Tip: We are really enjoying a studio apartment near the top of the round tower facing west, but every room seems to have a sea view.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Pete R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PestanaPalms, Manager at Pestana Palms, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2017

Dear Mr. Pete R,

First of all I would like to thank you for your review about the Pestana Palms Hotel.
I am pleased with your comments and it is amazing for me and the whole Team to know that you have enjoyed so much your stay with us. That´s the reason why we are working everyday, to give our guests a really memorable stay. I will pass on the message to our staff because I think they deserve to receive such a pleasant compliment.
Looking forwards to welcome you again at the Pestana Palms Hotel I remain with kind regards,

António Santos,
Unit Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017

Ocean view from our large 2 bedroom apartment, we couldn't be happier here. Everything about the place is lovely, including the pool and the grounds. We love our large balcony the best, spend most of our time out here on the Internet (it doesn't work in the room for some reason) and eating and relaxing. Great restaurants across the street and a big supermarket as well. Couldn't more happier.

Room Tip: Be sure to get an ocean view
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TWAjunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PestanaPalms, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Palms, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2017

Dear Guest TWjunkie,
We would like to thank you for your recent stay with and also for taking your time to post your comments on this well known website.
We would also like to thank you for your great feedback. We could really understand that you have trully enjoyed your stay with us.
Best regards,
Rubina Campos - Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017

We recently stayed at the Pestana Palms during our first visit to Maderia. The rooms give an excellent view out across the sea, the grounds are very well kept and the staff were very helpful. The only down side for us was the temperature of the pool which was very cold!
There is a very cost effective supermarket over the road which sells a wide range of fresh fruit, vegetables and anything you might want.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PestanaPalms, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Palms, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2017

Dear Guest Mel P,
We would like to thank you for your recent stay with and also for taking your time to post your comments on this well known website.
We would also like to thank you for your feedback about us.
We hope to welcome you in a near future.
Best regards,
Rubina Campos - Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2017 via mobile

Excellent hotel.Great view of the sea from our eighth floor large balcony .Would definitely come back .Staff very friendly food good and the place is spotless. One of the best apartments I have stayed in in Europe .Excllent view overlooking the sea and a short bus trip to Funchal or stay in the area of Porto Mare.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
3  Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PestanaPalms, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Palms, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2017

Dear Guest Paul H,
We would like to thank you for your recent stay with and also for taking your time to post your comments on this well known website.
We would also like to thank you for your great feedback. We could really understand that you have trully enjoyed your stay with us.
Best regards,
Rubina Campos - Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017

Very nice hotel with friendly staff, good food and also quiet with plenty of sun beds. Hotel drinks a little expensive but a good happy hour from 5-7. The gym was good too. Ideal for a quiet family holiday

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Jet2holidays
1  Thank michaelsB8168KA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PestanaPalms, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Palms, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2017

Dear Guest MichaelsB8168KA,
We would like to thank you for your recent stay at Pestana Palms.
We would also like to thank you for your good feedback regarding your experience with us that you posted on this website.
Best regards,
Rubina Campos - Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews