We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sleeping within 30 metres of the sea”
Review of Pestana Palms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pestana Palms
Ranked #19 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 September 2017

We had a room in the tower which meant we could leave the balcony doors open to hear the sea at night. Really comfortable bed, large room with mini kitchen. Bathroom a bit dated but fine; shower over bath with curtain. Shame the room didn't have air con. There was a large ceiling fan but some nights were really hot and a bit uncomfortable.
The whole place was very clean, gardens beautiful and well tended. The pool was good, I found the temperature fine even first thing in the morning. One major issue was the number of people who reserved sunbeds from about 8 am leaving very few free for those less selfish people. There is a notice saying that it isn't allowed but it clearly was. Gave us entertainment as we ate breakfast on our balcony though watching the stream of people carrying their towels down. There is excellent sea access for swimming and the sea is clear enough to snorkel. 2 euros to hire pool umbrellas unless you are a timeshare or options member.
The supermarket across the road is very good. Taxis wait outside in the evening . The hotel is at the bottom of a very steep hill which could be an issue. Aerobus from the airport is 8 euros return and stops at the top of the hill. Local busses also stop there and are an excellent way of seeing the area.Some excellent restaurants within walking distance too.
Balcony had really comfortable chairs - sadly the people next to us were smokers and the smoke made its way into our room.
On the whole it was a good stay- being able to sleep with the sound of the sea is pretty special.

Room Tip: Tower rooms from floor 7 are good for views and peace!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Catan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PestanaPalms, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Palms, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Dear Guest Catan,
Thank you for your recent stay at Pestana Palms and also for sharing your feedback on this website.
We were very glad to understand that you have mostly enjoyed your stay, in spite some small details. Thank you also for the detailed feedback.
We hope to welcome you back among us.
Best regards,
Rubina Campos - Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (521)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 29 of 521 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2017

We are still here now; don't want to wait till we get home to write our review! Sitting on the decent-sized balcony of our spacious well-furnished apartment, overlooking the beautiful hotel gardens, the lovely pool and the magnificent Atlantic Ocean. The perfect location, the generous breakfasts and the gorgeous evening dinners all make for a wonderful stay. But do you know the real highlight? The staff - every receptionist, every waiter, every porter, every housekeeper, and every other staff-member, could not have been more helpful. That is what is really making this such a lovely relaxing holiday. If you want a slick, shiny, corporate contemporary hotel... don't come to The Palms. This is traditional, a classic, and very classy, place. Sure the sun beds are a bit tired, but don't let that put you off. Pestana tell us "we are having the time of our life"... Guess what; it's true!

Room Tip: We are really enjoying a studio apartment near the top of the round tower facing west, but every roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Pete R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PestanaPalms, Manager at Pestana Palms, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2017

Dear Mr. Pete R,

First of all I would like to thank you for your review about the Pestana Palms Hotel.
I am pleased with your comments and it is amazing for me and the whole Team to know that you have enjoyed so much your stay with us. That´s the reason why we are working everyday, to give our guests a really memorable stay. I will pass on the message to our staff because I think they deserve to receive such a pleasant compliment.
Looking forwards to welcome you again at the Pestana Palms Hotel I remain with kind regards,

António Santos,
Unit Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017

Ocean view from our large 2 bedroom apartment, we couldn't be happier here. Everything about the place is lovely, including the pool and the grounds. We love our large balcony the best, spend most of our time out here on the Internet (it doesn't work in the room for some reason) and eating and relaxing. Great restaurants across the street and a big supermarket as well. Couldn't more happier.

Room Tip: Be sure to get an ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TWAjunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PestanaPalms, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Palms, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2017

Dear Guest TWjunkie,
We would like to thank you for your recent stay with and also for taking your time to post your comments on this well known website.
We would also like to thank you for your great feedback. We could really understand that you have trully enjoyed your stay with us.
Best regards,
Rubina Campos - Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017

We recently stayed at the Pestana Palms during our first visit to Maderia. The rooms give an excellent view out across the sea, the grounds are very well kept and the staff were very helpful. The only down side for us was the temperature of the pool which was very cold!
There is a very cost effective supermarket over the road which sells a wide range of fresh fruit, vegetables and anything you might want.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PestanaPalms, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Palms, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2017

Dear Guest Mel P,
We would like to thank you for your recent stay with and also for taking your time to post your comments on this well known website.
We would also like to thank you for your feedback about us.
We hope to welcome you in a near future.
Best regards,
Rubina Campos - Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2017 via mobile

Excellent hotel.Great view of the sea from our eighth floor large balcony .Would definitely come back .Staff very friendly food good and the place is spotless. One of the best apartments I have stayed in in Europe .Excllent view overlooking the sea and a short bus trip to Funchal or stay in the area of Porto Mare.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
3  Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PestanaPalms, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Palms, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2017

Dear Guest Paul H,
We would like to thank you for your recent stay with and also for taking your time to post your comments on this well known website.
We would also like to thank you for your great feedback. We could really understand that you have trully enjoyed your stay with us.
Best regards,
Rubina Campos - Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
1.4 km away
Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
1.5 km away
Pestana Casino Park
Pestana Casino Park
#34 of 88 in Funchal
2,966 reviews
0.4 km away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 88 in Funchal
3,037 reviews
1.1 km away
Pestana Carlton Madeira
Pestana Carlton Madeira
#32 of 88 in Funchal
2,393 reviews
0.7 km away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#2 of 88 in Funchal
944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Palms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Palms

Address: Rua Gorgulho 15-17, Funchal, Madeira 9000-107, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Funchal
#16 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#19 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#19 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: €77 - €169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Palms 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pestana Palms is a 4-star hotel in Funchal, located along the coast of the Atlantic Ocean, with direct beach access. Built along the seafront, the Pestana Palms is located in Funchal's hotel zone, 20 minutes on foot from the city centre. Its splendid and original architecture combining modern and traditional styles ensure all of the hotel's rooms have incredible views of the sea. In the modern building, you will find the guest rooms and the restaurant. In the traditional building, an old Manor House surrounded by gardens, you will find the common areas. This hotel offers an outdoor swimming pool with views of Funchal's cliffs. Reserve some time for your mind and body at the Health Club equipped with a jacuzzi and a massage room. Take the opportunity to learn to dive at the hotel's Dive School and visit Madeira's Underwater Reserve. Madeira International Airport is located 23 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Alpha Holidays Limited, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TravelUp, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pestana Palms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel Hotel Funchal
Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel Funchal
Pestana Palms Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing