We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Eden Mar, everything we expected” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Suite Hotel Eden Mar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Ranked #10 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Eden Mar, everything we expected”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

I came across trip Advisor while listening to Radio 2 one day. It sounded very interesting, so I checked it out and found it very useful. We wanted to visit Madeira so asked trip advisor for recommendations. Eden Mar came up just about the best recommended hotel, not only in Madeira but compared to other locations we were considering.
We found the Eden Mar web site a little confusing (it did not really paint the whole – resort – picture) but we did find we could stay there with Thomas Cook or Thomson, from Manchester, on our chosen dates. Once again, we found doing a comparison between the two offers difficult; however we choose Thomas Cook and a Studio Apartment. In case you are getting bored, and to cut to the chase, we were very impressed with both Thomas Cook and Eden Mar, full marks for everything, thanks.
Things which could have been better? The room descriptions between Thompson and Thomas Cook don’t really tally. We ended up being booked into a normal smaller room however Eden Mar moved us immediately to the room we imagined we would get (We had paid for a better room when we booked).
Just to jump back a stage, we did ‘on Line Check in’, many people did not and they had to queue for an extra age, so whet ever you do, do on line check in.
Thomas cook were strict about baggage, size and weight so note well that your carry on can only be small and 5kg. having said that, we got everything in we needed and had no troubles.
We picked a busy day to depart and Manchester Airport queue to go through security was very long. It was however almost a pleasure to have the experience. The staff were superb, bumping people with imminent flights to the front of the queue. The repetitive message about liquids did get a bit much but the whole experience was not bad, maybe a drinks service???? (Only joking).
The Eden Mar is part of a 3 hotel resort, which was again not clear. Eden Mar being suite rooms (with kitchen and lounge area), Porto Mar is a normal hotel, a little newer but not so large rooms and finally the residence, new Time Share (very nice and no pressure, we did not visit). All three parts of the resort can use any of the others facilities. The hotel grounds and facilities were superb, well managed and an absolute pleasure to use. We did have to pay 20e for a spa pass to use the sauna and steam room, maybe this could be included or offered as an extra when booking?
We were only there for a week and did not manage to eat in the hotel but breakfasts in both restaurants were fabulous.
We loved Madeira, if you want quiet, walking (if required) great local buses (both cheap and exciting, sit at the front!) or coach trips and more good food and eateries than you can shake a stick at, go to Madeira. We will certainly revisit both the island and hotel.

Room Tip: Well...the hotel is in a U shape. If you stay at the end of the U you get the sun all day but you ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank AroundMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar, responded to this review, 9 March 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for the A to Z review about your holiday trip to Madeira.

I am happy to know that in spite of all the “adventures” you had, you have ended with a positive impression of the “parties” involved in your holiday experience.

Hope to see you in another future visit.

With best regards,

Muito obrigado

Antonio Pais
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,261 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    964
    259
    28
    7
    3
See reviews for
215
862
20
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (412)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ayr
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

We've been twice recently and are booked to return. That, surely, says it all ! There's everything you could want on a holiday - pools, gentle activities, restaurants galore and a proper supermarket if you want to cater for yourself. The food on offer in the hotel itself, though, is so good lots of guests don't even leave the complex . Evening entertainment is actually quite good, too. There are extensive gardens if you just fancy a stroll. The staff are happy and nothing is too much trouble. Even the (very quiet) gardeners are happy and relaxed.

Room Tip: All the rooms have a sea view and get the sun for some part of the day, though we found even in Dece...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank goodvintij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar, responded to this review, 9 March 2012
Just a short note to say how pleased we are to know that we were able to once again meet your holiday expectations.

Thank you for your review and let us know that you have enjoyed it.

Hope to meet you on the third stay in Eden Mar or any other hotel of the Porto Bay group.

With best regards,

Muito obrigado

Antonio Pais
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
penzance
Level Contributor
146 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

We had read great things about the quality of the staff and service at Porto Mare. The reality was even better than we had expected. Everything was perfect - the helpful and friendly staff especially Cecilia, the comfortable rooms with stunning views, well equipped small kitchen area - fridge/freezer,electric hob, microwave and even good quality bottle opener, the spotless gym and pool areas. A wonderful relaxing week. We shall be back -soon!
Thank you

Lizzie & Tony Sheridan

Room Tip: Corner suites are sunny and have best views. Ask for higher floor 3rd or above to see over trees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar, responded to this review, 9 March 2012
Dear Mrs and Mr Sheridan,

Thank you so much for the nice thoughts shared with so many other holiday makers about your recent stay in Vila Porto Mare resort .

Also take the opportunity to thank you for another future booking in October.

We for sure meet each other in a near future...

With best regards,

Muito obrigado

Antonio Pais
. ..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

It's all been said before. This was as near perfect a place to stay as you can get. From the delightful Manuela on Reception to our sad leaving, every aspect of our holiday here was superb. Nothing was too much trouble for the excellent staff. I could go on, but instead, here are some tips for an enjoyable stay in Madeira:

Bus travel on the yellow city buses is easy with a Giro card, obtainable from the wine shop next to Eden Mar entrance. You load up as many rides as you think you might need, and can re-charge the card if you need to. The hotel operates a coutesy coach to the centre, but the 10:00 gets filled quickly so book early. The cable car ride to Monte is fabulous, as are the gardens when you get to the top, and a combined ticket costing €23.75 saves €1.25. Take the courtesy coach to the centre and bus 29 across the road then takes you to the Botanical gardens and entry is only €3. Avoid anyone who says they are conducting a survey. It's just a con to get you to buy timeshare. Have an ice-cream sundae in Doce Lina - fabulous.

Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: All rooms face the sea. Junior suites include free entry to the sauna and steam spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Ian4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar, responded to this review, 9 March 2012
Dear Sir,

I did read your review with a smile and for sure Manuela will read it, even with a bigger one.

Thank you for let us know that you were pleased with our service and facilities.

Really hope to meet you in the future,

With best regards,

Muito obrigado

Antonio Pais
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleet, Hampshire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

We stayed here last May in an ensuite room with kitchenette. The room was a great size with a well equipped kitchen. Our room was upgraded to see views.

From the moment we checked in to the moment we left nothing was a too much for any of the staff. Travelling at the time with a 9 month old (reasonably unusal for Madeira) was made very easy. At one point we needed to use the childrens A&E, directions were provide and a taxi arranged.

We enjoyed walking the pram around the gardens which included pool and pool after pool. There are pools indoors (heated) and outside with plenty of other things to do on site and in the surrounding area. This includes a very well equiped childrens room with first rate toys and full batteries, out door play area, slide etc.

The breakfast was first class and the two evening meals were simply first class. Even the attempt at selling an appartment at the complex was handled very well with no pressure sales.

We are returning in June before the little one in 2 which is in the middle of the June firework festival. We got a very good price booking directly utilising the loyalty scheme they operate, not that they need one.

When looking for an appartment with a kitchen where we could allow our baby to sleep in the same room but seperated by sliding, we almost gave up before we found this place.

Below the hotel is a great little super market and pizza place (also worth visiting).

If you hadn't guessed we loved this place.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ADL-ATR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review posted on Tripadvisor
It is good to know that you had a good time in Madeira and already booked a second visit.

It will be a great pleasure to welcome you once again,

With warm regards,
Muito Obrigado

Antonio Pais
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.2 km away
Porto Mare Hotel
Porto Mare Hotel
#8 of 86 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,805 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 86 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,519 reviews
0.2 km away
The Residence
The Residence
#6 of 86 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#4 of 86 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 757 reviews
1.6 km away
Quintinha Sao Joao
Quintinha Sao Joao
#7 of 86 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,011 reviews
0.9 km away
Madeira Regency Cliff
Madeira Regency Cliff
#11 of 86 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suite Hotel Eden Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suite Hotel Eden Mar

Property: Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Address: Rua Gorgulho 2 | Porto Bay, Funchal, Madeira 9004-537, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#8 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#10 Family Hotel in Funchal
#10 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4 star — Suite Hotel Eden Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Divided into studios, superior studios, junior suites and suites, this four star hotel's 146 spacious rooms have been redecorated with textiles in warm pastel colours, completely new furniture and LCD televisions. The kitchenettes have been completely renovated and are equipped with a stove, fridge and microwave oven. The Suite Hotel Eden Mar belongs to the Vila Porto Mare resort, and shares facilities which are also common to other outlets – Hotel Porto Mare and The Residence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Suite Hotel Eden Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suite Hotel Funchal
Eden Mar Madeira
Suite Hotel Eden Mar Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing