We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic New Year in a Great Hotel with Truly Brilliant Staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Ranked #6 of 87 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 January 2012

From the moment we arrived at this hotel we were made to feel both welcome and important.
The reception staff were able to help sort out our problems of lost tickets without any fuss, and for the whole of our weeks stay every member of staff we came into contact with were not only helpful and professional but were all warm and friendly too.
The hotel itself is spotlessly clean and comfortable in the public areas as well as the rooms, has beautiful gardens and combined with the Porto Mare has more than enough facilities including indoor and outdoor pools, table tennis, gym, crazy golf, putting green and more.
The location is great, around a twenty min walk into the harbour area, but there are free shuttle buses running regularly throughout the day and evening. There are some really good restaurants and bars right outside the hotel, a supermarket, bus tours and car hire all on the doorstep.
We were lucky enough to be here for New Year and the Gala Dinner was a fantastic night that started with a wonderful meal folowed by the most brilliant firework display that we were taken by coach to see from one of the best viewing points Funchal has to offer.
We spoke to many people that were returning guests to this hotel and can fully understand why.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank seafront100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2012

Dear guest,

Many thanks for your review about your stay at Eden Mar hotel.
I am very pleased to know that you had some good time and enjoyment within our facilities and really hope that you will became part of the “repeated guest” club.

THANK you

With warm regards,

Muito Obrigado,

AP

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,395)
There are newer reviews for Suite Hotel Eden Mar
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

850 - 854 of 1,395 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2012

We decided to return to the Eden Mar in january and were greeted with all the help and friendship you could wish for.
The room was clean and comfortable and the food was excellent with a different themed buffet menu each night.
The evening entertainment has been improved with some very impressive local groups who struggled to finish their sets with all the encores.
The Management and Staff have worked hard together, to make the guests stay a very memorable one, and the level of returning guests prove that what they are doing is working.
We cannot stress enough what a pleasant experience our holiday was and have booked again for another 2 week stay.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank leicsduo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2012

Dear Guest,

It is rewarding to know that you have enjoyed another stay in Eden Mar hotel.
Also pleased to learn that you have enjoyed the entertainment program as it’s not easy to create a program that suits everybody.

Thank you and hope to have you in one of our hotels in a near future,

Muito Obrigado
Antonio Pais

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

We first visited the Eden Mar two years ago and had no hesitation in booking again when we returned this year. The junior suites are spacious and the beds comfortable. The dark wood is a bit old-style, but generally the furnishing are fairly contemporary in appearance. As the previous reviewer said, the free buses to see the fireworks on NYE were a really nice touch. The service was very good throughout. It might not be the case at other times of the year, but we always found there to be plenty of room to park our hire car. After the first morning, when we had breakfast at the Alfama (which was closed on our last visit), we ate at the Atlantida in the morning, which has a wider range of items, and even someone to cook you omlette to order. The kitchenette is useful - rather than going out every night, we sometimes got bread and cheese, or soup from the supermarket below the hotel - very convenient.

We will certainly return to the Eden Mar (to use our Prestige Card again - which gives a discount one rooms and in bars and restaurants - to returning customers - a good marketing tool) if we go back to Madeira!

Room Tip: Higher up rooms will have a better view. A room with a low number at the end will face west and hen...
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cranford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the review about Eden Mar hotel. We are happy that you had a good time with us and hopefully we will meet again in one of Porto Bay hotels, where you can continue to use you valuable prestige card ( by the way after the 5th visit you will be entitled to a better discount and more beneficts!!!)

It will be a pleasure to welcome you in a near future.

With warm regards,

Muito Obrigado
Antonio Pais

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2012

I have reviewed the Eden Mar before.Have just returned from our 4th visit and just wanted to say that all is has we have found on our previous visits.I'd basically just be repeating what numerous guests have found i.e. that it is a consistently highly rated hotel and worthy of its fine reviews.

Just one other item of mention.We have dined in the Med restaurant which is inside the Porto Mare many times and are surprised its not been reviewed?I have highlighted this and will review it once TA have accepted its existence.
We dined there New years eve and the meal was of a very high standard,difficult to pick fault in anyway.But we do feel its worthy of a stand alone review.

Room Tip: Centre of hotel are the best rooms as you can get the sun all day e.g.. suite 1523
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shroppiefly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2012

Dear Guest,

First of all my apologies for the late feedback to your post on tripadvisor,
Secondly I really thank you for your support and sincerely hope to see you around soon

Warm regards

Muito obrigado

Antonio Pais

. ..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

We stayed in the Eden Mar for a week from 31 December 2011. We chose it because we have a young child and wanted somewhere a bit more down-to-earth than the more elegant but less family-friendly 5-star hotels (as a couple, we previously stayed in the wonderful Regency Hotel - excellent service and food but very quiet and sophisticated at dinner, we couldn't imagine having a chatty/crying baby at dinner there!).

New Year's eve: we were half board and a fantastic gala dinner was included on 31 Dec. The atmosphere was just wonderful. The guests were relaxed and in lively spirits (thanks to silly hat and hooters/rattles) and there was a wonderful singing guitarist. Our 15 month-old really enjoyed himself. The service was excellent (as it was during the whole holiday).
Following the multicourse gala dinner, we were shipped away in buses to watch the incredible (I mean really incredible) fireworks display. I don't know how the hotel managed it, but we were up high in a military-restricted zone! The hotel even arranged for sparkling wine! The hotel really made such a wonderful effort for New Year's eve, and this is what made it so special.

Room - A bit stuffy but good size. We took a junior suite. Ants in the kitchenette - the hotel could have warned about this.

Facilities
Instructions on how to get to different parts of the hotel complex would have been good (the photo provided was useless)
Free wifi in lobby - weak connection but fine for checking emails, weather, news etc.
Heated pools indoor and out but they were not very warm and too cold for our baby who loves water. Children under 12 not allowed in the jacuzzi!

Food
Breakfast was fairly good, although some decent jams would have been good! Also, there wasn't proper juice but a horrible sugary drink

For dinner, buffet restaurant was ok but nothing special. Drinks very expensive!
If you're on half board, you can forego the buffet and instead have 17 euros pp credit in one of 3 restaurants, and we would definitely recommend this as the food is far superior and drinks cheaper than in the buffet restaurant! The food in the Med and Alfama restaurants was excellent and reasonably priced, and service was excellent in both. On request, the Alfama made up an excellent veggie 3-course menu (in addition to the daily meat/fish menu which replaces half board). Il basilico was like a high-street Italian.
Often the restaurant food was very salty.

With a baby:
Good things: plenty of good quality/condition high chairs available in the various restaurants; friendly staff.

Not so good: Sides of the cot were too low and the hotel had no other sorts available. An active baby could climb out. We arranged the cot between our bed and the sliding doors, with pillows at each end!
Pools as above.

Room Tip: Email in advance with any special requests
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank N E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2012

Dear Sirs,,

Just a short note to thank you for the “fantastic” review shared with thousands of holiday makers.

I am glad that in general you had a good time. I took good note of the little things we need to improve, so you can check it on a future visit!

With warm regards,

Muito Obrigado
Antonio Pais

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.0 km away
Porto Mare Hotel
Porto Mare Hotel
#7 of 87 in Funchal
2,099 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#4 of 87 in Funchal
2,930 reviews
0.0 km away
The Residence
The Residence
#8 of 87 in Funchal
836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.7 km away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#3 of 87 in Funchal
905 reviews
1.2 km away
Pestana Carlton Madeira
Pestana Carlton Madeira
#31 of 87 in Funchal
2,314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suite Hotel Eden Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suite Hotel Eden Mar

Address: Rua Gorgulho 2 | Porto Bay, Funchal, Madeira 9004-537, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#6 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#8 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#10 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: €92 - €1,082 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Suite Hotel Eden Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Divided into studios, superior studios, junior suites and suites, this four star hotel's 146 spacious rooms have been redecorated with textiles in warm pastel colours, completely new furniture and LCD televisions. The kitchenettes have been completely renovated and are equipped with a stove, fridge and microwave oven. The Suite Hotel Eden Mar belongs to the Vila Porto Mare resort, and shares facilities which are also common to other outlets – Hotel Porto Mare and The Residence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, TravelUp, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Suite Hotel Eden Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suite Hotel Funchal
Eden Mar Madeira
Suite Hotel Eden Mar Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing