We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
  
Google
Ways to Experience Madeira Botanical Garden
from US$29.48
More Info
from US$87.35
More Info
from US$22.41
More Info
from US$30.80
More Info
Reviews (7,904)
Filter reviews
7,904 results
Traveller rating
2,926
2,830
1,428
470
250
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
2,926
2,830
1,428
470
250
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cable car worth a visit nice garden plants and trees beautiful flowers entrance fee couple of hours monte palace water features stunning views cactus paths madeira species gardeners taxi bloom
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2,770 - 2,775 of 7,904 reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2015

Very pretty, views overlooking Funchal. Beautiful flowers in a very tranquil location but very hilly so not for someone with mobility problems. Had walls of tiles showing historical facts, very interesting

Date of experience: August 2015
1  Thank Miffed-from-West-Mid
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 August 2015

a pleasant garden but the orchids were not flowering as went in the height of summer. however huge established cactus garden and other things to see. a couple of hours and you have seen all there is to see.

Date of experience: August 2015
Thank annabel609
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 August 2015 via mobile

We took a taxi up to the gardens to avoid the queue for the cable car and needing to do all the transitions. Cost us less too!

The gardens are a nice walk, we spend a couple of hours there but there wasn't much in flower to see. But the formal garden, topiary and cactus were the highlights.

The museum was interesting but needed some more explanation near the exhibits to make the most of the exhibition. The exhibits were very dusty!

The cafe was good value, the drinks and cakes were nice. They forgot about our drinks and we had to go in and remind them, despite it being quiet at the time. Still, they arrived eventually and were served with an apology and a smile.

The aviary was a sad sight with small cages and a dismal feel to the place.

As a part of our day out to Monte it was fine diversion but if I was making a special trip just for the garden I would have been disappointed. 6/10.

Date of experience: August 2015
Thank GeekyMacK
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 August 2015

The gardens and buildings generally look as though they would benefit from a bit of TLC - there are parts that are very attractive but other bits are sadly in need of some attention. It requires two cable car trips to reach - the first to Monte then a walk down hill to travel part way back down the hill to the garden - I tried getting there by car initially but parking was impossible so cable car, taxi or walk are the only real valid options and I wouldn't recommend walking unless you are very fit. We visited the gardens at Monte on a previous trip and I would personally choose them in preference but this is purely a personal choice. It is still good to see if you have a morning to while away - plus the views from the cable cars are pretty good. This is not a disabled friendly location - there are a lot of steep paths and steps to negotiate.

Date of experience: July 2015
Thank SussexChap1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 August 2015

I preferred the monte palace gardens, which was cheaper and looked better. This garden felt it needed some money spent on it. I think this place would have been great in its hey day, great cacti plants tho. The parrots are in cages, which looked like it was from the 80's. The gardeners were working hard but maybe they need paid more and a garden revamp needed to bring this place to life again. It has the potential to be great.

Date of experience: August 2015
Thank vanilla95
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews