We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Delightfull home away from home”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Villa Firdaus

Villa Firdaus view of garden and deck
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Villa Firdaus view of garden and deck
Main double bedroom Second family bathroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
54 reviews
Villa Firdaus view of garden and deck
Main double bedroom
Second family bathroom
Lounge
Open-plan Kitchen
Dinning room
Main ensuite bathroom
Second double bedroom
Third twin bedroom
Driveway with secure parking
Garden
Outside wooden deck and front door
Deck and garden
View from Balcony
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Funchal, Madeira, Madeira Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 54 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Roland P
1 review
“Delightfull home away from home”
Reviewed 24 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018

We enjoyed our 12 day stay at this very comfortable & beautiful villa.

Very well positioned if you would explore the island or go to downtown Funchal (bus stop is at the end of the street, or 10 min by car). Also within walking distance, there is a large supermarket (hypermarche, you can find everything in there) and a great shop for (local) fruit and vegetables. One being a vegetarian and the other one a vegan is sometimes challenging, but not at this villa with a wonderful and very large kitchen.
The surrounding area is really quiet (residential), with once in a while some dogs barking, guarding their property. Although crime rate is close to zero on Madeira

At our arrival Joao gave us a very warm welcome, led us through the villa and shared some inside tips on the area and his experiences on this amazing island. Also we met his sister, Sylvia, at the end of our stay with whom we had a lovely conversation about living in Funchal and especially about the pets. There was Bella, the property cat that came by, asking for some cuddles every day (and indeed she was a beauty), and the two dogs at Joao's place on the property.

The place is really nice, with the veranda where you can enjoy the morning sun for breakfast, and this is also the place to be once the sun becomes too warm and you just would like to relax in the shade. The beautiful garden, with all different (blooming) plants, trees and flowers, was a pleasure to look at every day. But also the great kitchen with all utilities you need, a washing machine (so you can travel light ...), two bathrooms and three bedrooms. We used the master bedroom, with great bedding and we could leave the window open as there was a mosquito screen for one of them. Also you can easily park your rental car in front of the villa, which is sometimes a challenge and/or costly in downtown Funchal. So really convenient to stay here, but be able to reach everything easily.

We highly recommend this villa if you would feel like home on this beautiful island. Thanks Jill for sharing this great place with us.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rogierbou...
Haren, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fully equiped villa on good location”
Reviewed 21 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

We stayed here for one week with 5 persons. João gave us a warm welcome and showde us the inside of the villa. It has a big kitchen with all the equipment and space you need to cook with eachother. The bedrooms have good size bed’s which slept very comfortabel. The bathrooms where clean and there’s 1 bath and 2 (Rain-)showers
It has also 2 nice terraces so you can sit outside all day long.
Good location nearby supermarket and busstop to take you to the center of Funchal.
Good to know: Joao lives also on the premises and takes care of the garden. It wasn’t disturbing but nice to know.
A very nice place to stay when you go to Madeira.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jul 2018
Thank you very much Rogier for your very kind and detailed review of the villa. This is of great assistance to ourselves and to other guests. We hope that you will stay with us again in the future. Kind regards, Jill
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Islandtra...
Shanklin, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Tranquil, peaceful haven”
Reviewed 20 May 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Peaceful, quiet, beautiful home, lovely views, yet very convenient for local shops, bakery and brilliant takeaway/restaurant. The accomodation is excellent, (the kitchen is better equipped than my own at home)! Useful utility area, lovely covered verandah and comfortable sitting area. I can only agree with everything already said. This is an exceptional home and a privilege to stay. Joao kindly met us at the airport as we arrived late and explained the facilities and where to go for the shops. He is so very helpful and a great asset for the owner. Jill is a pleasure to communicate with. The villa is far enough out of town to be quiet, but very convenient for the local buses. Do buy a giro card, it's so easy to hop on and off buses in Funchal with one of these.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jul 2018
Thank you so very much Paula for your very kind and generous review. We loved having you to stay and we hope that you will visit us again soon. It was a pleasure communicating with you too. Kind regards, Jill
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
exchanges
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect stay in a unique villa”
Reviewed 30 April 2018 for a stay in March 2018

We stayed for five weeks having done so three years ago. The experience was as uplifting and pleasing as last time - in other words perfect. I can confirm that the description is accurate although I would have added a few more superlatives. It was great to be able to host our parents at different times during the stay but only pay for the rooms when used. So great value for money. For comings and goings to the airport and a couple of day trips in the island we used Madeira Airport Transfers (Funchal Low Cost Transfers) and can recommend them highly. They charge 19 euros per minibus for an airport transfer irrespective of the number of people and you
can book online.

Philip Prowse

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 May 2018
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. It was great to welcome you back again Philip and we are glad that you had an excellent holiday. We hope that you will visit us again soon. Thank you. Kind regards, Jill
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
6 Apr 2018
Thank you Erin for your lovely review which is both complimentary and informative. We greatly appreciate that you have taken the time to review the villa and we will attend to the main fire in the living area. Thank you again and we hope that you will stay with us again. Kind regards, Jill
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing