We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,092)
Filter reviews
2,092 results
Traveller rating
1,338
589
125
26
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,338
589
125
26
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ocean resort sea view pool area deck bar lovely hotel the air conditioning bus stop local restaurants plenty of sunbeds time share superior room happy hour plenty of choice sun loungers forum shopping centre half board pool towels
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 2,092 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Beautiful sea views. Lots of bars and restaurants within walking distance. Hotel facilities very good and the staff are friendly and helpful.Hotel has various promotions available throughout your stay.

  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Jet2holidays
1  Thank ronaburns3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GestorReview, Diretor-Geral at Pestana Promenade, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear ronaburns3,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your valuable feedback and sharing your experience with the Pestana Promenade Hotel.
We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and have shared your feedback and compliments with the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Kind regards,
Ricardo Assis
Unit Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The location of this hotel is fantastic. There were pros and cons for our stay though.
The pros were:
A good welcome from the receptionist and the news that we had been upgraded to a junior suite rather than the superior sea view room we had booked. The swimming pools were beautiful as was the enormous jacuzzi in the spa area. Several excellent restaurants in easy walking distance.
The room was clean and the sheets changed daily.
The staff were pleasant and friendly and worked really hard.

The cons:
The beds were extremely hard. My husband has a long standing back problem and could not sleep on them. We asked that something be done such as a duvet or similar for him to lie on but our request was ignored. Since we had been upgraded to a junior suite we were able to take the large cushions off the settee and he slept on those, not ideal but it solved the problem.
We ate at the barbecue buffet on the first evening and were unimpressed. That was the only evening meal we had in the hotel.
There were no tea/coffee making facilities in the room. This is unacceptable in a 4star hotel. We are very widely travelled and nowhere other than Las Vegas have we not had at least a coffemaker and that is because they are all about getting your money, perhaps that was the reason here.
The breakfast buffet choice was wide but the cooked selection left a lot to be desired and I nited that a couple of days the bread seemed to be stale.

Would we stay at this hotel again? No. We have booked to go back to Madeira next year but we will be staying at a better hotel in the same area.

A shame because it could be a lovely hotel.

The fact that my husband suffered because of the nature of the bed spoiled his holiday and on one day he could not go on one of the trips we had booked. Maybe we should have made more fuss when nothing was done to remedy the situation but our request should have been acted on when it was made to the receptionist.

Room Tip: Dont get the rooms on the promenade level, everyone walking along can see into them and they looked very dark from what ee could see.
  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Angela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GestorReview, General Manager at Pestana Promenade, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Angela R,

Thank you for taking the time and trouble in writing your feedback following your visit to the Pestana Promenade Hotel. It is always most useful to receive guest feedback both positive and negative as it is a useful management tool to measure our level of guest satisfaction.
I was disappointed to read your experience and please accept our sincere apologies that we have fell short your expectations on some aspects of your stay.
I would like to follow up on the situation but I cannot fully identify your reservation.
Please feel free to contact the hotel directly if you wish to share more details.
Best regards,
Ricardo Assis
Unit Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2018

We had a amazing experience at this Hotel. Great staff, great location and amazing value for what we get! Absolutely stunning Hotel , felt like paradise :-) We have traveled to many places and Funchal is absolutely beautiful place to visit ! Great place to celebrate a special day !!

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Pestana Hotel Group
1  Thank Adventurer434793
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GestorReview, Diretor-Geral at Pestana Promenade, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2018

Dear Adventurer434793,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your very kind review following your recent stay with us in the heart of Madeira.
We are naturally very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your time with us and that you encountered a high standard of service from all our team.
On behalf of my team, may we wish you all the very best. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you all back to Pestana Promenade in the near future.
Yours faithfully,
Ricardo Assis
Unit Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2018 via mobile

Love this hotel we have a time share and visit same time every year all perfect well.loked after, only niggle we couldn't use the air conditioning and incredibly noisey. Did complain was told several complaints and to email a lady at head office not wildly helpful as we pay good money for our week at this 4star hotel plus a weather warning of high temps during our stay. On the back of that would still recommend as a place to stay.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Teresa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GestorReview, Diretor-Geral at Pestana Promenade, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2018

Dear Teresa G,

I wish to thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to share your experience online. We welcome guests feedback and I personally pay attention to all comments made.
We are very happy to hear that you and your family had an enjoyable stay with us. Thank you for all these positive comments.

I look forward to welcoming you back in a near future.

Kindests regards,
Ricardo Assis
Unit Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2018

Excellent hotel, lovely staff, the rooms a little dated but very clean. More than enough choice at breakfast. The pool area is great and beautiful flowers abound. Centrally located for either Funchal or the Forum in the opposite direction.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Pestana Hotel Group
2  Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GestorReview, Diretor-Geral at Pestana Promenade, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2018

Dear Linda B,

Thank you for taking the time to place your positive review following your recent stay with us.
We are naturally very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your time with us and that you encountered a high standard of service throughout your visit.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our Pestana Promenade Hotel on many future occasions.

Thank you, once again.
Sincerely,
Ricardo Assis
Unit Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews