We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful location and excellent accomodation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel
Ranked #17 of 87 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful location and excellent accomodation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

Our second stay at the Pestana Promenade. Once again we had a very nice room with a good sea view. There is a wide variety of choice for breakfast which should suit the various nationalities that stay at the Prom. The staff in reception and the restaurant have always been helpful and friendly.The hotel is very clean and modern. We have not been approached re timeshare on either visit. The location is excellent for walking into Funchal or to the west along the promenade and there are also good places to eat nearby. Enjoyed it so much we are going again next year

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank COZIETOES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PestanaPromenade, Front Office Manager at Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 9 March 2012
Dear Guest,

We are delighted to read of your review following your 2nd stay at Pestana Promenade hotel. It is always very pleasing to learn that many of our guests choose to return to Madeira and elect to stay in a Pestana property.

We also would like to thank you for acknowledging so many positive elements during your stay. At Pestana Promenade we strive to achieve our commitment to provide our guest with the best of service and products.

Indeed, we pride ourselves with our fabulous team of colleagues, whom we are sure will be equally grateful for your warm acknowledgement of their efforts to exceed your expectations. we have also shared your comments with our colleagues and they were equally delighted to learn that their efforts are appreciated by our guests. We were extremely happy to know that you are already planning your return to Madeira and to Pestana Promenade Hotel .

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experiences and recommending us on TripAdvisor, we look forward to welcoming you back to Pestana Promenade.
Sincerely

Tania Felgueiras
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,696 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,136
    454
    82
    17
    7
See reviews for
327
1,120
31
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (525)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

Quality Hotel great location close to everywhere
Walking distance to town centre,marina, night clubs casino
On airport bus route so easy to get to.
Good rooms with sea view and excellent buffet breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BIGGA_E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PestanaPromenade, Front Office Manager at Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 9 March 2012
Dear Guest,

We are delighted to read how much you enjoyed your recent holiday with us at Pestana Promenade and sincerely appreciate you taking the time to post a review of your experience.

I was delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and was pleased with the service and facilities at our Resort. Your kind comments are highly appreciated..

Once again, thank you for acknowledging the positive elements of your holiday. We certainly look forward to welcoming you and your family back to Pestana Promenade


Sincerely

Tania Felgueiras
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

Spent 2 weeks in a spacious apartment at the Promenade in February, the resort is excellent and well maintained. Any request is dealt with promptly by efficient staff. Very relaxing complex to return to at the end of an enjoyable day walking the levadas.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LGGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PestanaPromenade, Front Office Manager at Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 9 March 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of your recent stay with us at Pestana Promenade.

We are delighted to learn that you have been impressed with the quality of our hotel and services. Your gracious comments will serve as an added inspiration for the team to consistently maintain the high standards which you have experienced during your stay with us.

We do hope we will be able to welcome you back later in the near future. Once again, thank you for your positive ratings and for recommending our Hotel on TripAdvisor.


Sincerely

Tania Felgueiras
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

We visited this resort in February to escape from the cold weather in England The average temperature in Funchal was 16deg so not hot but comfortable for walking. The apartment was beautiful and had 2 balconies which ensured sunshine at all times of the day. It is close enough to the town to walk and there are frequent buses as well. Plenty of nice restaurants and bars within a short walk.

Room Tip: Th higher the better for the views and away from the promenade for quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank haleharris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PestanaPromenade, Front Office Manager at Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 9 March 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for visiting Pestana Promenade Hotel for your holiday and for taking the time to post a review of your experience on TripAdvisor.
We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your recent stay with us.

We at Pestana Promenade endeavor to provide nothing but the best of service and facilities to all our guests. Your kind comments regarding our resort is the reflection of our efforts in ensuring that you are well looked after and that our service standards exceeded your expectation.

Once again, thank you for your review. We certainly look forward to welcoming you, Pestana Promenade hopefully not in to distant future.


Sincerely

Tania Felgueiras
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

We (my wife and I) stayed here for a week from 13th February. We had an apartment rather than a room as we own timeshare elsewhere and swapped. The accommodation was on a par with what you can expect in USA where apartment/condominium accommodation is excellent. The apartment was spacious, spotless and fully equiped. The staff here are friendly and informed. Unfortunately we did not try the restaurant, preferring to support local businesses so we are unable to comment on this. The facilities were also excellent, pools ( both indoor and outdoor) gym with up to date tech, sauna, massage etc. etc...
Our only criticism is that the pillows provided are foam and uncomfortable....surprising when all else is top quality!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Martin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PestanaPromenade, Front Office Manager at Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 9 March 2012
Dear Guest,

We are delighted to read how much you enjoyed your holiday with us at Pestana Promenade Hotel and sincerely appreciate you taking the time to post a review of your experience.

Thank you for acknowledging so many positive elements of your holiday. We are of course disappointed that the pillows were not up to your satisfaction and we already forward your comment to our executive Housekeeper.
Thank you for bringing this to our attention, it is through constructive feedback that we can improve both our service and our product.
Once again, thank you reviewing our hotel through the website and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back Pestana Promenade in the near future.


Sincerely

Tania Felgueiras
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.1 km away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.8 km away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,666 reviews
0.9 km away
Lti Pestana Grand
Lti Pestana Grand
#16 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Porto Mare Hotel
Porto Mare Hotel
#7 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,921 reviews
0.6 km away
Madeira Regency Cliff
Madeira Regency Cliff
#11 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,088 reviews
0.2 km away
The Residence
The Residence
#6 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel

Property: Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel
Address: Rua Simplicio dos Passos Gouveia 31, Funchal, Madeira 9000-001, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Funchal
#7 Family Hotel in Funchal
#8 Business Hotel in Funchal
#12 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#14 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#17 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in front of the spectacular promenade that stretches from Lido to Praia Formosa Beach,this modern and quiet resort offers spectacular views to the ocean. 92% Of the rooms are sea views and offer the commodity you would expect from a luxury hotel in a relaxed manner.112 Family Friendly Rooms and Suites, all equipped with bathtub with shower, and some with separate bathtub and shower, washbasin, WC, hairdryer, air conditioning, telephone, Cable TV, Pay TV, LCD monitor, digital safety box, Business Services is available, cable or wireless Internet access, mini-refrigerator and balcony or terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Promenade Ocean Hotel Funchal
Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing