We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (99)
Filter reviews
99 results
Traveller rating
23
26
32
13
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
23
26
32
13
5
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 99 reviews
Reviewed 15 November 2017 via mobile

On arriving at the Residencial Funchal, the reception phoned another location, where I spoke with Alberto, who was sending someone to us to direct us to the apartment nearby that we would stay at. My husband stayed with the car, and when the kind lady came to show us to the apartment, she got into the car with us and directed us where to go. Luckily there was a parking garage nearby, which was very convenient. She showed us to the apartment, even helping us with our luggage! We were actually quite thrilled to have a kitchenette, and as soon as we dropped our bags, headed out to the pingo doce for some food and drinks. There is a great little bolo de caco cafe right below the apartment - our first taste of bolo and we were hooked. Also, a few great gelato cafés nearby.

Sadly, we only had 1 night at the apartment as our flight had been cancelled the day before and we missed 1 night staying in funchal. I found the price incredibly reasonable - especially considering we ended up with our own apartment in a great location!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank islandgirlie522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017

Our flight was cancelled due to bad weather; we - along with several hundred other were looking for a place to sleep. Recommended by a fellow traveller - this was great.
Cheap, clean and centralled located, (opposite the market) - the room at the front was a bit noisy but otherwise fitted the requirements.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank BisleyBullet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017

The location of this place is perfect, near the center and bus station. But it is also across the markethall, which makes it really noisy in the night. At 4 a.m. the trucks arrive and the people begin to shout and throw crates around. If you close the doors to the balcony you don't hear much noise, but there is no airconditioning ore ventilator so it gets really hot.

The bed is hard and cracking with every move you make, and one of them was broken.The light in the room does'nt work, so we had to use the bathroom ligth to see something in our room. There is only one wall socket, so you have to choose which devise you want to charge.

Overall the price is worth the disadvantages, but make sure to bring earplugs.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Intens_Rebels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017 via mobile

When we arrived at the hotel we were greeted to a small reception room and we waited for a guy to come who could speak English to guide us to our apartment, I’m happy we done this as apparently this is much better than staying at the hotel, the rooms must have been over booked or something... When arriving in the apartment block we where greeted by steep stairs which made it hard to carry Heavy luggage up to our apartment, the apartment itself is pretty good with free towels toilet paper small glasses and forks spoons and unsharp knives. The apartment comes with 2 beds and a sofa bed which are slightly uncomfortable as the mattresses are hard but it depends if you like a harder mattress, it comes with a fridge freezer tv which has 7 channels only in Portuguese a tiny balcony oven microwave and shower. It is 3 minutes walk away from the nearest main supermarket, 10 minutes walk away from mc Donald’s. The town is quite nice with a load of places to eat and get ice cream. In august the weather is around 25-28°c and sunny. And in the night around 20°c. It is around a 11 minute walk to the sea. Overall you get what you pay for, you aren’t getting a 5 star hotel/apartment and the price does reflect on the room but if you need a hotel just to sleep and kind of relax then this would be a suitable place.

Stayed: August 2017
Thank shay74431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2017

I stayed at the partner hotel, Residencial Monaco, for the fourth year in a row. Why? I wouldn't want anywhere else! Sr. Alberto, the manager, and his staff are unfailingly kind, responsive, cheerful, and ready to help make the entire Madeira experience great for us. It is clean, simple, a super central location, a small kitchen for guest use, and the rate is unbeatable. I will always be there every time in Madeira

Room Tip: Rooms on the back are quieter.
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank umaf2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews