We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (13)
Filter reviews
13 results
Traveller rating
10
2
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
10
2
1
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 13 reviews
Reviewed 20 April 2018

Room (called Laugh), and bed especially, were spacious with all equipment you need for comfortable stay. House is clean. Tasty breakfast to start a day with. Staff is nice and helpful, makes you feel comfortable. We stayed only 1 night and didn't cook so hard to say a word about kitchen equipment.

On the other hand, we had a serious trouble to find hostel itself and park a car. Parking is possible in alley around the corner, but space is limited. Secondly - not the fault of hostel - but somebody thought that shared bathroom means "mine" and spent serious time in there. Which in the morning is not pleasant...Maybe putting some mirror in the rooms where all the hair drying, make-up etc. can be done, could save residents from potential waiting list to get to the bathroom.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vothailTha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FX H, Gerente geral at FX Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2018

Thank you, but there is a large mirror in the room, it was just open the closet door

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2018 via mobile

The hostel has free double rooms and bathroom. The location is very good 10 minutes walking from Funchal city centre. The hostel is very clean and the host is very friendly. Very good value for the money!!!

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Marcin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FX H, Gerente geral at FX Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2018

thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017

First of all I have to say I really wobbled between 3 and 4 rating points. I would have liked to give 3.5 if possible.

The building was modern, nice and spacious with a beautiful terrace. The apartment features two rooms, so you have to share the apartment (kitchen, living room and terrace) with maximum two other persons. We really had a great time and enjoyed our stay. All of the rooms were very clean, Pedro and especially his father put a lot of effort into cleaning. They also were very friendly and hospitable.

The price was also very reasonable and a bargain.

Despite the hype and high ratings on other platforms we found some negative points.

The kitchen has just basic equipment. We were quite curious about the reviews on booking.com saying that the kitchen is well equipped. There isn't even a chopping board or chopping knife, so we were wondering what other people cooked here. In our opinion real cooking is not possible.

The room was nice and spacious but the mattress was very very hard. We got the smaller of the two rooms with the smaller bed even if we stayed a whole week and the guests of the other room changed three times in this period. We found this allocation quite strange. Our sleep was sometimes bothered by noise of the other guests or by the host.

The location was not so great for us. For sure to just visit Funchal it's a good location, center is pretty close but the neighbourhood very quiet. But for exploring the island, the location is rather painful because you have to walk 15min to reach the bus stations. And after the excursion you have to walk 15min back, uphill.

The breakfast had some nice things like fruit juice and cheese. But other than that basic cornflakes and just white toast. Because that doesn't even saturate for a short time we had to buy some real bread.

Room Tip: one room and it's bed is bigger than the other
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Travelphil89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FX H, Gerente geral at FX Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2018

Thank you, but our kitchen is complete with cutlery and knife, we have all cooking appliances, breakfast, we give, juice, coffee, chocolate, cheese, butter, jelly, cereal, biscuit and 2 types of paes , is a basic cafe for those who stay in a hostel, in relation to the bed, our mattress is orthopedic, so that clients feel comfortable and our location is 10 minutes by foot from the center, unless they take the wrong streets and take longer.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2018
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FX H, Proprietário at FX Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2018
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FX H, Gerente geral at FX Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2018
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews