We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced”

A Nova Casa de Ramiro
Ranked #1 of 87 Restaurants in Obidos
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: A Nova Casa de Ramiro is defined as a restaurant of charm and glamour where good service and a warm welcome are always present. Located in the beautiful Village of Óbidos just outside the walls, A Nova Casa de Ramiro provides to its customers a fantastic variety of fresh fish and delicious dishes of codfish. Always with ambient music present, the decoration, the style, and architecture ​ make this place one of the most beautiful in the region. A Nova Casa de Ramiro has as its mission to give total satisfaction to everyone who visits, making each experience a unique and unforgettable moment.​
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The sirloin was very well cooked and seasoned but the cream sauce was far too heavy. The risotto was good but not exceptional. Overall not worth the price considering better offerings from other local restaurants.

1  Thank Jose T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (902)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5 - 9 of 904 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My wife and I ate here tonight for dinner. The food was superb.Our hostess was Maria. She did an excellent job in selecting our wine. I Had requested a red wine from the alentejano region and she did well. Our preference are complex nApa valley reds. We drank a 2013 Cortes de coma blend. For appetizers, we had eight oysters from the alagarve region. These were quite tasty. For main entrées, I had the seared tuna with honey and seaseme serf. My wife had the pumpkin purée soup and a mixed green salad. All I can say is the food was superb. The service was quite good . We enjoyed our special night together . We finished the night with coffee and port. Definitely A special night

2  Thank Gregory H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carla V, Gerente de relações com clientes at A Nova Casa de Ramiro, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello there!!!

Thanks so much for your honest review here on Trip Advisor. We definitely want to thank you for sharing your experience here in this forum because it is very important for other people to know what kind of menu is ours.

We serve seafood, fish, codfish, meat, vegetarian and salads and usually our clients that ask to see the menu are informed of the variety we have to offer, but this information in this forum is always a plus.

Thanks so much for coming and for ranking us at Trip Advisor.

All the best from all the staff of

A Nova Casa de Ramiro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Great food and awesome place! But you need to make a reservation before going because the place is crowded!

Thank Rodrigo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carla V, Gerente de relações com clientes at A Nova Casa de Ramiro, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello there

Thanks so much for your honest review here on Trip Advisor.
It is correct. It is always a plus to do a reservation before coming because we are having a huge demand and if you want to experience Nova Casa usually we recommend to do a reservation.

All the best from all the staff of

A Nova Casa de Ramiro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Love this place:) oh my God pork and deserts and perfect service. Spend the really good time in this ancient atmosphere. Love!

Thank Maria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carla V, Gerente de relações com clientes at A Nova Casa de Ramiro, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello good afternoon

Thanks so much for your honest review here in Trip Advisor.

We would like to wish you all the best and with a special wish of happiness, the same you've shared with us while you were at Nova Casa de Ramiro.

It was a special night the one we had the opportunity to meet you.

We wish you all the best from all the staff of

A Nova Casa de Ramiro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This was our second visit in 6 weeks having been reintroduced by friends following a change of ownership. This is a very special restaurant with the scene set on arrival by the decor and ambiance. The warmth from a smiling and cheerful Pedro makes one feel immediately welcome. The menu offers an extensive range of choice with flair and creativity in the cooking combined with interesting flavours and outstanding presentation. Pedro and his team have transformed this restaurant and it is right up there with the best in Portugal.

Thank Brian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carla V, Gerente de relações com clientes at A Nova Casa de Ramiro, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello there!!!

Thanks so much for your honest review here on Trip Advisor. Our team expressed the biggest smile when they knew about your review. It is really something to be able to make such an impression on our clients. Pedro the Public Relations sends you the best wishes and also all the staff was proud of being able to be part of this experience. You wrote a very interesting review for us because you had a previous experience from this house but with a different management, so we can compare opinions, however, despite our totally different concepts and service, we are happy to know your feedback.

All our best wishes from all the staff of

A Nova Casa de Ramiro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed A Nova Casa de Ramiro also viewed

Obidos, Leiria District
 
Obidos, Leiria District
Obidos, Leiria District
 

Been to A Nova Casa de Ramiro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing