We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shaped our experience in Lisbon”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lisbon Lounge Hostel
Ranked #23 of 514 Speciality Lodging in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 December 2014

STAY HERE. This place is amazing. It is super spacious and clean, and has tons of personality from the staff to the local artwork. Reserve for the daily dinner (will happen if enough people reserve) for €10. It's prepared by a local cook - authentic, Portuguese food - a soup, a main and dessert with a couple glasses of wine. We also booked with the hostel's tour to Sintra for €38 - an all-day tour that includes transport, an amazing lunch and local knowledge (Our tour guide, Sofia, was awesome). Our experience in Lisbon wouldn't have been the same if we didn't stay here.

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rebekah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (241)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

70 - 74 of 241 reviews

Reviewed 26 October 2014

I really enjoyed this hostel for it's comfortable rooms, shared lounge spaces, spacious/clean bathroom (I only used the 3rd floor self-contained bathroom), egg/pancake breakfasts, and the very friendly and helpful staff (always giving great advice when I asked) - including the resident chef, who I also enjoyed chatting to. The interior design is also very pleasing. Perfect location for metro and exploring the city.

A few small negatives: when I stayed, I wasn't able to use wifi in bed - however reading recent reviews perhaps this has changed - however spending time in the common lounges was fine (except when fellow guests were being inconsiderately loud); my bunk bed didn't have a powerpoint close but I had plugs within locker - great for security, but a hassle when I needed to charge phone overnight while still needing it as my alarm. And lastly, the fridge didn't seem to have a system for labelling personal food - I had to ask the reception for pen/paper to label as I was concerned for this (I was storing 'souvenir' food).

Overall though, I wouldn't hesitate recommending it - just a few small improvements I think the hostel could make.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank inpursuitofdelicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2014

I'm in a 8 bed mixed dorm and the mix is so great and really amazing meeting different people walking in and out the hostel! Got so much character and breakfast included! Had a wonderful time here and would recommend it to anyone with or without a budget!

  • Stayed: September 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vanesha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

I absolutely loved this hostel. I stayed here while studying abroad and it was one of the cleanest hostels I have stayed at. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The hostel itself feels very welcoming and homey.

The location was central and we had easy access to public transportation. For perspective, we took a cab to Bairro Alto and it was very short.

We stayed at a 8 bed room and felt very comfortable. All were bunk beds and all were very clean. Underneath the bunk beds, there were lockers where you could keep your belongings. The bathrooms were across the room and were exceptionally clean. The shower was modern and even had a small area where you could change without getting wet.

Overall this was a great hostel and I recommend it to any traveler on a budget. Wish all hostels were like this!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NycMA62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

This hostel was great. The feel you get as soon as you are are shown your room is amazing- the decor is done superbly, the rooms are spacious, the beds are comfortable, there are multiple shared living spaces, the staff were helpful, the hostel is clean, the wifi was fast and worked everywhere in the hostel (not just reception) and the breakfast had some gooood pancakes every morning. However, there were a fair few negatives I feel need to be mentioned:
- the street is very loud which can wake you up quite early if you don't shut the windows
- the windows stream in light, so in order to get any sleep you need to close them, and then the rooms can get very warm
- the whole bed shakes when anyone walks around the rooms, especially the top bunks, which was really annoying when people came home late
- the shower heads were broken, so had to hold the shower up yourself. Easy to fix problem - so hopefully they get onto that
- while most beds had power points nearby, mine didn't, so setting an alarm at nighttime was hard to do when you wanted to charge your phone and not wake everyone else

Also, all our groceries kept getting eaten when left in the communal fridge/kitchen, and I spoke to other guests who had the same experience.. This is obviously not the hostels fault, but was very frustrating!! So we started to keep our food in the room if it didn't need to be refrigerated.
Overall, however, I did enjoy my stay here and the positives do outweigh the negatives. Note- there is much public transport nearby.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
3  Thank Michellehammo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
A Casa das Janelas com Vista
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Lisbon Destination Hostel
Lisbon Destination Hostel
#10 of 514 in Lisbon
785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Yes! Lisbon Hostel
Yes! Lisbon Hostel
#6 of 514 in Lisbon
596 reviews
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Lost Inn Lisbon Hostel
Lost Inn Lisbon Hostel
#4 of 514 in Lisbon
381 reviews
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Hub New Lisbon
Hub New Lisbon
#16 of 514 in Lisbon
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lisbon Lounge Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lisbon Lounge Hostel

Address: Rua de Sao Nicolau 41, Lisbon 1100-547, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 514 Speciality Lodging in Lisbon
Price Range: €18 - €48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With supreme comfort, cleanliness, style and security, the multi-award-winning Lisbon Lounge Hostel is the perfect place to call home during your visit to our fantastic city.The LLH was the first hostel in Lisbon, opened in 2005 as a project by four Portuguese. From the beginning the concept was simple: to give backpackers a first-class Lisbon experience at budget prices. Through the years we have continued to improve our service, and we were recently voted the best Small Hostel in the World 2010 and 2011 by Hostelworld.Our services include free walking tours, free nightlife tours, bicycle rental, mini bar and free coffee and tea all day. For a low cost you can join other guests for our three-course hostel dinner, cooked by our talented Portuguese chef. We also offer cheap van tours (during summertime) to the romantic historical town of Sintra and the local beaches.Were located in the heart of Lisbon's historic Baixa district, the main tourist centre of the city. The hostel is just around the corner from the iconic Rua Augusta, a grand and beautiful mosaic-tiled pedestrian street capped by a colossal arch. A short stroll will also take you to the charming suburb of Alfama, the oldest part of Lisbon and the home of Fado, the music of Portugal. At night you can walk to the famous Bairro Alto, a labyrinth of bars and street parties. All forms of public transport, including the airport shuttle and the Cascais beach train line, are within very short walking distance of our hostel.With so much on offer, you will have everything you need to have a comfortable, memorable and fun stay in Lisbon. We look forward to welcoming you to the city we love. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Lisbon Lounge Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lisbon Lounge Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing