We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (824)
Filter reviews
824 results
Traveller rating
795
26
2
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
795
26
2
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews a small swimming pool perfect location bed and breakfast top floor perfect stay bairro alto every morning restaurants and bars exploring lisbon breakfast is served sara hosts rui porto
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
126 - 131 of 824 reviews
Reviewed 17 February 2019 via mobile

I just finished my stay in Casa do Barao. Probably one of the nicest stays in my life. The house is an old building in the most charming area of Lisbon (Bairro Alto) and it is beautifully decorated to keep that antique charm. Also, extremely clean. Very nice breakfast too. But the most important thing, the hosts. They are fantastic, super friendly, and make you really feel like at home. I will definitely try to stay with them when I come back to Lisbon

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank S9116HYcarlosm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Barao E, Proprietário at Casa do Barao, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2019

Dear S9116HYcarlosm,
we really appreciate the time you took to write this lovely review.
We are deilghted to read that you enjoyed so much your stay in our House and that everything has been perfect.
We have been pleased to share our home with you and we hope to see you again in the future.
Until then, here go our best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2019 via mobile

Absolutely perfect stay.
We contacted the owners to say we would be early. They were there to welcome us and tell us about the area and local sights and restaurants.
A lovely room, overlooking the lemon trees and pool (February so we didn't try the pool, but I did sit outside in the quiet with a coffee).
Tea, coffee, port, sweet wine, home made cake and biscuits are available all day until 11pm when the communal areas of the hotel are closed off.
Breakfast has the above plus fresh juice, flavoured water, fruit, yoghurt, cheeses, meats, cereals, and really good bread. There was also a fresh baked flan each day (I saw them making one on the last day).
I may have missed items off, but it was good.
The bedroom was very pleasant and the bed extremely comfy. The TV station had a couple of English speaking channels.
Toiletries were replenished every day.
On the last day, we had to leave early. Breakfast began at 0830. I mentioned this to the owner. He had breakfast served for us at 7am.
Brilliant service.
It's not the cheapest hotel. But I'd stay there again in a heartbeat.
Recommended.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank swordfish1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Barao E, Proprietário at Casa do Barao, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2019

Dear swordfish1969,
we really appreciate the time you took to write this kind and detailed review here on TripAdvisor.com, thank you!
It's a pleasure reading that you had a very good stay in our House and that you have enjoyed our daily homemade breakfast, the comfort of your bedroom, our common areas and the service of our Team.
We've been really glad of sharing our Casa do Barão with you and we look forward to eet you again in the future.
We send you our kindest Regards and we wish you all the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2019 via mobile

We visited Casa do Barão for a week. We travel quite a lot and stayed in many hotels and guests houses in this price level and we can say with full confidence that we had the best experience ever. This place is exquisite in any aspect. The location, the design, the level of service, the comfort of the rooms. It is very clean, cozy and beautiful. But above all the hospitality of the owners, their kindness and generosity makes you feel that you are visiting a close friend who is really happy to see you. It is the perfect place for a perfect vacation. We will be back for sure.

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Eyal D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Barao E, Proprietário at Casa do Barao, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2019

Dear Eyal D,
we are very pleased to know that you had an enjoyable stay at Casa do Barão and that you appreciated it in all the aspects, especially the central location of the house, its charm and design, our hospitality.
If you are planning a new trip to Lisboa we would be delighted to share again our home with you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2019

This property had just the right balance of historic charm and modern amenities. The breakfast provided daily was ample and quality from the cheeses and freshly baked goods to the espresso and freshly squeezed juices. The nightly port and sweets were a delight. There should be a cookbook as I would love to purchase those outstanding cake recipes! The bed was comfy and my street facing room was quiet. The host was helpful and knowledgeable and the location was perfect for setting off on any adventure. Nice restaurants and shops were also nearby in this upscale area. I traveled alone and felt as safe as at my own home. You really cannot go wrong with this property!

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Traveler50A81
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Barao E, Proprietário at Casa do Barao, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2019

Dear Traveler50A81,
it's with pleasure that we read your review and that we know that you have enjoyed so much your stay in our House.
We have been delighted to have you with us and we are particularly happy to read that you felt as safe and comfortable as in your own home.
All our staff send you their best Regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2019

Casa do Barao is a beautifully renovated townhouse in the classy central neighbourhood of Chiado. Our stay there was a pleasure from start to finish. There's a lovely library with Port and Moscatel to sip and delicious cakes and biscuits in the dining area, which opens onto the garden. Rui, one of the owners, was very welcoming and took his time to explain to us how to get the most out of Lisbon. Being low season, he upgraded us to a fabulous room with a large enclosed balcony looking onto palm trees - heaven in the heart of Lisbon! Would certainly stay there again!

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Adventure298946
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Barao E, Proprietário at Casa do Barao, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2019

Dear Adventure298946,
first, let us thank you for choosing our House during your stay in Lisbon and for sharing these lovely words on Tripadvisor.
We are pleased to know that you had a wonderful stay with us and that you have especially appreciated the atmosphere of our house and of the social areas, our tips to enjoy th city and the room you had.
Thank you once again and see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews